We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark

Sunset Drive, Montego Bay Jamaica
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 15/08/21
View Deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (7215)
Panoramas (7)
Pool & Beach (1874)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#28 of 71 hotels in Montego Bay
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hot bath
Lazy river
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Massage chair
Neck massage
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Family Resort
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
7,937Reviews934Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,602
  • 2,844
  • 1,324
  • 627
  • 540
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melissawheels wrote a review 18 Feb
12 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband went to this resort when it was the sunset grill in 2011, I went when it was the sunscape splash in 2018 and now it is sunset again?? Seems Shady?? I see they are telling someone to contact the sunscape for a refund, however this was the Sunscape a year ago? Seriously. Weird.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Carol Slee, Marketing at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark
Responded 5 days ago
Good morning, Thank you for your observation. In 2011, the name of this hotel was Sunset Beach Resort. In 2014, the owners chose to have the hotel managed by AMResorts and it operated under the Sunscape brand until the management contract ended in June of 2020. If guests stayed at this resort while it was a Sunscape, they should be contacted for a refund. The hotel is currently scheduled to re-open on July 1, 2021.
Read more
Charina wrote a review Jan 2021
7 contributions
We had a great visit specially that this man, Alberto Rodriguez from the VIP SERVICES, of SUNSET ROYAL, attend our needs and treated us well. Promptly answered our questions and guide us whenever we are confused, that made our visit more fun! For sure we will visit this place again in June!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Carol Slee, Marketing at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Good morning Chamarin, Thank you for this lovely review, however, you may have posted this to the incorrect hotel as Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark will not be open until July 1, 2021. I'm sure the hotel in which you stayed would love to have this review on their page! All the best,
Read more
ElaineRodriguez wrote a review Oct 2020
Bronx, New York1 contribution6 helpful votes
My (now)husband and I were scheduled to host our wedding along with forty family and friends at Sunscape Cove in Montego Bay on April 17, 2020. We paid out over $21,000 for accommodations and our wedding only to have it canceled when this resort closed and still has not re-opened. Between April and July, we got nothing but radio silence from the resort and I only learned in online posts that Sunscape Cove would not open again under the Sunscape Brand. Beyond upset at the lack of transparency or even a semblance of decency I took to tracking down a contact through Social media posts. Finally we spoke with Sunset Resort and while we promised that Sunset Resort would process a full refund both on the phone and through email communication mid-July Sunset stopped responding to our emails and phone calls mid-September when we reached out yet again to follow up on the refunds. We contracted Sunscape (Sunset Beach Resort) with the full understanding that we would be doing business with this resort brand. We have traveled to numerous Jamaica resorts without issue. The lack of response and resolution is negligent and fraud at this point. We are at our wits' end. We are less concerned with who manages this resort now than with the 21K dollars’ worth of money that we and our friends/family paid for a wedding that never took place, for hotel rooms we never stayed at... This resort took our money and has basically just pretended as if we don't exist. All responses to date and attempt to rectify this wrong have been unacceptable. This resort has been nothing less of a nightmare for us during this difficult season. During this time, I have lost my grandmother to COVID (who I could not even mourn/honor properly), and the pressure of trying to resolve this matter has strained many of our relationships with friends and family including our new marriage. This company and its representatives have not valued their reputation enough to handle this situation or prioritize our needs as their customer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
6 Helpful votes
Response from Carol Slee, Marketing at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Good afternoon, Please post this review on the Sunscape Cove, Montego Bay page which is the hotel at which your wedding was booked. Thank you.
Read more
Jacob R wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Got the all inclusive...best thing ever. Food is home made, alcohol is great. Beer not much variety but reasonable. The resort has plenty of included activities, even for kids if you come as a family. They also have 3 hot tubs at different temperatures.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Carol Slee, Marketing at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark
Responded 5 Nov 2020
We're glad you like our variety of hot tubs! We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021 to enjoy another all-inclusive vacation!
Read more
Pam R wrote a review Jul 2020
Fort Collins, Colorado19 contributions12 helpful votes
Coming here to write this review I see this place has changed its name again. It appears that happens frequently here. Our first impression of Sunscape Cove was not very positive. When we arrived we struggled to find someone to help us check-in, even though we were one of maybe 2-3 families checking in. Ladies were sitting at desks playing on their phones or chatting. When we did get started with someone, she sent us to sit on the couches and we were brought drinks (which was awesome). Then a very outgoing gentleman came and sat with us. He was wearing a resort nametag and was extremely welcoming. The woman checking us in shooed him away, saying "I'm not finished, yet...wait your turn!" It turns out he is a representative of UVC (Unlimited Vacation Club) which is their version of timeshare scams. We ended up not getting the full introduction to Sunscape Cove with the actual staff because of the UVC people. When the gentleman brought our bags to our room we asked him questions about WiFi, restaurants, pools, etc. He answered everything but said we should have been given that information at check-in. Nope. Probably because of the high-pressure UVC salesman. The UVC presentation the next morning was tedious and even higher pressure than any timeshare presentation. We did get a decent excursion for our time, but I'm honestly not sure it was worth it. The reviews about towels are all accurate...not enough, worn out, etc. Other resorts we've been to give you a towel card when you check in which you then exchange for a fresh towel and then get your card back when you return said towel. That might help with piles of discarded towels on chairs, running out of towels, etc. The property itself is definitely a 3-star resort at best. Many features are closed or in disrepair or seemingly just abandoned (mini-golf, for example). They count all of the restaurants and bars on their website, but several were closed and had been closed for months, if not years. There are very few tubes for the lazy river. The slides were definitely the highlight, though, when they were open. The "cafe" ran out of items daily. The ice cream machine was broken or out of ice cream more than it was running. And when it was running, the staff seemed annoyed when a child wanted an ice cream cone or an adult wanted a coffee. The beach is rough, no powdered sugar sand here. Make sure you always have water shoes or something similar. The swim-up bar on the family side was ignored. More than once I walked around to get something for our children and was met with a heavy sigh. There are tip jars everywhere, which was unexpected at an all-inclusive, and tips are definitely expected to be given at each one. We were very disappointed in the stunning lack of customer service we experienced throughout the resort (not just us but what we saw in interactions with other families and travelers, as well.) The night entertainment was fabulous, especially the Silver Birds. Extremely talented and so much fun! The cleanliness and disease mitigation throughout was excellent. We traveled just before all of the COVID problems and we were pleased with all the cleaning and hand-sanitizer everywhere. The food was standard resort fare. The chef-stations were the best, but very slow. The view from our room was stunning and definitely worth the upgrade...not sure I would have stayed if the view wasn't so nice. I've never felt "scammed" or taken advantage of on any of my other vacations until now. The excursions were good, but I would not come back to this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The ocean view upgrade is absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Response from Carol Slee, Marketing at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you very much for your constructive review. The management of Sunscape Cove has been taken back by the owners of the hotel and we intend to correct your concerns when we re-open in January 2021, particularly in the area of customer service which was always one of our strong points when we operated as Sunset Beach in the past. We will be using your review as part of our staff training as we prepare for our re-opening. Thank you again.
Read more
US$185 - US$344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sunset beach resort jamaica, sunset beach jamaica, sunset beach montego bay, sunset beach resort spa montego bay, beach resort sunset, sunset beach resort and spa jamaica, sunset beach resort montego bay jamaica, sunset beach resort spa jamaica, montego bay sunset beach resort
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint James ParishMontego Bay
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Nearby attractions include Rocklands Bird Sanctuary (4.1 km), Montego Bay Yacht Club (0.2 km), and Rastafari Indigenous Village (6.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tokyo Jo's, Juici Patties, and Mystic Thai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lethe Estate (7.5 km), Barnett Estate Plantation (2.7 km), and The Cage (4.4 km).