We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot tell you how much I fell in love with this place. My boyfriend Miguel and I went on a road trip from Bávaro to Samaná. My boyfriend is dominican from Santiago and I'm from Toronto, Canada. Beautiful ambiance, Tranquility, and customer service is what we look for. We last minute was in search of a hotel and came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachbabey85
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. But we especially wanted to thank you for your kind words to the hotel satff, especially towards our colleague of the Reception department. These comments motivate all the staff to keep...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bannister ended up being a great stay for my girlfriend and I. We stayed for five nights and were impressed by The Bannister from the moment we checked in. Upon arrival from our two hour drive from Santo Domingo Airport, we were greeted by a very nice young man, who introduced me by name and was quick to assist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenKeane
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent meeting in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We work hard to create positive experiences for our customers with optimum services and facilities in order to make...

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Samana is beautiful enough in itself, but this hotel is a prime jewel. Excellent conditions, big rooms, decent price, wonderful food (in 3 separate restaurants), great service, and a gorgeous Marina. It's my place to stay during my future business and family trips to Samana.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo230170
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent meeting in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, your opinion is very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our facilities and our service, it helps a lot to keep improving and striving day by day to continue offering the best of us. We look...

España
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel views aré amazing. The rooms are very nice with a living área and a kichenette. There is not hot water in the bathroom, just warm water The staff is also very nice and attentive. The things that didn't work were the wifi, and the evening restaurant. The pool área is beautiful and has a nice restaurant. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasilda
Administration T, La administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent meeting in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. On the other hand, we would like to apologize due to your comment about the hot water and the wifi. We...

Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed three nights on a long weekend. This is a beautiful hotel, on the edge of the water, with a marina right in front. The scenery of the place is pretty on its own, with the green tropical hills on the back and the blue bay on the front. The hotel has ample, open spaces, high ceilings and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M G
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay, and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the wifi and the laundry service. We will look into the issues that you have mentioned in an attempt to correct...

Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful location outstanding views and great accommodation. This is a lovely tranquil location away from the chaos of Samana. What stops the hotel getting the higher award is the food offering in the Evening. The resort pool bar does a lunch menus all day. The Italian Separately run from the hotel has a good menu but is really only competent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DominicanBillyBob
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the views and the accomodation. On the other hand, we regreat to read that the restaurant service did not live up to your expectations , please accept my most sincere apologies. Your comments are very much valued and we take note of...

Valhalla, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First, allow me to state how beautiful this property is. It's quite small but the ocean view room is perfect with a living area, kitchenette, comfortable bedroom, and bathroom. There is also a decent size balcony overseeing the harbor. There is one defect which is the ventilation in the bathroom -- there isn't any so there is an overbearing smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slhandzup
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. I am very concerned that the problems were directly with our staff service, as we try to apply exacting standars and we strive to offer exceptional service and experiences and we are disappointed this was not the case...

Dominican Republic
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While we were very pleased with the quality of the rooms and the service in the front desk and the hospitality around the hotel, the service in the restaurant requires improvement. It seemed to have been understaffed. Although the food was good, service at the Restaurant was slow and the waiters didn't seem to have the proper training.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmreyes25
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our property. We regret to hear that our service in the restaurant did not live up to your expectations, please accept my most sincere apologies. We have taken note of your comments and we will certainly address this internally. We strive to offer exceptional service and experiences and we are disappointed this...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Loved my stay at the Bannister Hotel&Yacht Club. Great services, amazing infinity pool and a beautiful location. The resort has 2 great restaurants. Cafe Del Mar had amazing sea food. The room was very spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmdufaux
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club. We are delighted with your comments on our services and with the fact that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Samaná in the near future! Yours sincerely,

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Beautiful room and excellent service during our one-day stay. The reception personnel is efficient and personable. The only drawback was the shower in the bathroom, the handheld one leaked and did not stay on its support.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loupin2601
Administration T, La Administración at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club. First of all we wanted to apologize for the inconvenience with the shower. We have taken note of your comment to fix it right now. We would also like to thank you for your kind words towards our reception...

551 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Cafe del Mar Pool (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (113)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
26.6 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
431 reviews
9.3 km away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
149 reviews
24.6 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 4 in Santa Barbara de Samana
105 reviews
23.5 km away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
456 reviews
8.8 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Price Range: €107 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with Bay views are beautiful to wake up to and watch sunset from”
 of 5 bubbles KenKeane, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“any room of the upper floor with a Marian view”
  • the Bannister from my room in the morning.
 of 5 bubbles marcopolo230170, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles DominicanBillyBob, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make requests at time of booking”
 of 5 bubbles 313orquideas, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles edd68, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5