We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,181: English reviews
Start your review of The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
 Click to rate
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We started off staying at the Tropical and as Lifestyle members we were very disappointed, the room we had was small and out dated , plus some of the furniture was broken, after a talk with our rep, we got moved, to a third floor, same complex, it was nicer but still not what we were looking for, when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret l
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Margaret, We would like to thank you for choosing Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and liked the buffet, the food, the room and our amazing staff and...

Bay City
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were suppose to have a 7 room villa and when we got there it was not the case. The villa was old and needed updates. No water half the time we were there. Beaches not pretty white sand like in Punta Cana. Place was unorganized and very big. The only thing that was decent was the food. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanD5939WI
Rothesay, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just got back from this resort last week. And it was defiantly a trip to remember! Right from checking in everyone was so helpful. Yes the rooms are a bit outdated but really we're only there to sleep! We had a couple problems with our room and they switched our room with no questions asked! The food was always delicious,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hobrien1993
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We are going to share the nice comments with the mentioned employees and the rest of the team! Thank you...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have nothing but rave reviews when it comes to Lifestyle resort. While some complain about the sales pitch, their resorts and services are like no other. I have stayed at many 5star resorts and it could not compare. As a member I look forward to visiting every year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teri-Ann P
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Teri-Ann, The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor webpage are very appreciated by us. We are glad to know that you are a Vacation Club member! Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. It was delightful for...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ive been to Lifestyle, Puerto Plata quite a few times over the last five years and it never disappoints. I always feel at home. The employees make your vacation. From check in to check out everybody is there to make sure you have a great time. The cleaning staff is always smiling and accommodating. Nelson the bartender is the best....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TAYLOR B
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Taylor, Thank you for having chosen again The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host and for sharing your experience with us through this website. We are glad that you are a repeater client! It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us. It’s...

Buffalo, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I rated this very good because when you consider what you pay to get all-inclusive in the Caribbean vs the issues, it's not a bad deal... but please read on!! I am a little tainted because my first Caribbean experience was Sandal's and so was my second because it was so awesome, but there is no comparison price wise. Yes...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank M4168ECbenjaminc
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and liked our services and facilities. We really appreciated your...

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed from March 10-17th. Arrived with no issues late evening and were accommodated to our room right away with help from the luggage guys in the front. First night was pleasant and despite the fact that we had a ceiling leak by the fan, they sent someone quickly to assess the problem and the next morning we were moved to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LadyChanelColombia
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Lady La Colombiana, It was certainly our pleasure hosting you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that your vacation experience was a memorable one. We passed your nice comments to all the staff mentioned here and to the rest of the...

Lafayette, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm really upset I'm even giving this place a star but there's no option to leave it blank. If you want a miserable vacation with dirty broken rooms this is your spot. If u think you have access to 28 bars think again if your staying at this part of the resort your only limited to three bars who will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kyleostertag
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced; we sincerely regret that on this occasion we were not able to fully...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I were accommodated to a new room as our room had a leak the night of check in, that to me was a sign of great service yet to come. And we were not disappointed at all! From the food, drinks, cleanliness and appearance of the resort we were more than pleased!! And now to our favorite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Oscar Q
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Oscar, We would like to thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and liked the food, the drinks, the property and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me, my girlfriend , my syster , my girlfriend bestfriend and her husband visit the tropical from friday 10 to tuesday 14 and Julio Nice and Hassiel Rivera treat us so nice that we are coming back as soon as possible they were really nice and they show us a great time they made our vacation the best. Me and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adonis J
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Adonis, The nice notes like the one you kindly posted about our entertainment employees, are very appreciated by us. All of our staff are very motivated by comments like this. We will passed your nice comments to Julio, Hassiel and the resto of the team. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay...

4,014 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3342)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (892)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (589)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (318)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (24)
Viewed
Dining (212)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (655)
Viewed
Adult Pool (21)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Beach (69)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Children's Pool 2 (4)
Viewed
Children's Pool 3 (3)
Viewed
Pool (61)
Viewed
Pool 2 (17)
Viewed
Dining (133)
Viewed
Standard Room with King Bed (79)
Viewed
Suite with King Bed (146)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
VIP Beach Pools (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
10.8 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
520 reviews
10.6 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
0.6 km away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,307 reviews
10.6 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#3 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,234 reviews
10.7 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: €58 - €224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort staff and other travellers.
441 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (441)

Questions? Get answers from The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1220 was nice. Never heard a complaint from anyone in Bldg 1.”
 of 5 bubbles M4168ECbenjaminc, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cofresi Penthouse, Presidential Suites and VIP Villas”
 of 5 bubbles mstoves85, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in Buildings 4 and 6 offer the best location and the best views.”
  • Hole in the shower wall, about eye level
  • Top of dresser - looks bad, is actually worse because of instability
  • Yuck - filthy sample bottle left behind
  • Each room offers a small patio
  • Room view from Building Six
  • Most rooms offer a King bed, all are furnished the same way
  • Towel bar missing
 of 5 bubbles JyllFoy, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sugeily our chambermaid was excellent every day.”
 of 5 bubbles donnasW5216ME, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good luck...I had many issues with my room including a waterfalls from above in my shower. No hot water for several days”
 of 5 bubbles DinoAM, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5