We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
22 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$275
Booking.comUS$329
TravelocityUS$275
PricelineUS$329
TripadvisorUS$275
Trip.comUS$352
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1762)
Pool & Beach (467)
Dining (178)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Updated 21/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 60 hotels in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The All Inclusive Hotel is open all year round, is located in the right on the natural Bahía Maimón beach and next to the PlayaBachata Resort. The resort features a Caribbean Street with several shops, Wellness Centre and gym. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Puerto Plata (9 km) and Gregorio Luperón International Airport (POP) is approx. 25 km away. The hotel has 610 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax with a massage at our Renova Spa or get in shape at our gym. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children’s pool. For the youngest guests there is the Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old) and for adults, day and evening entertainment as well as Club and the El Millón Casino. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Italian and Steakhouse or Caribbean cuisine, 4 bars situated in various areas of the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Aerobics
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
1603Reviews549Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,101
  • 236
  • 139
  • 58
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alan Fernandes wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Senator Resort was amazing. We especially appreciated the great service from the cleaning staff at our rooms to the entertainment and bar staff. Pollo from the Entertainment staff along with Ariel and Domingo from the bar staff especially made our trip one to remember with their larger than life attitude and amazing spirits. We will definitely be coming back in the near future!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you loved your stay here! We also share your positive comments with the hardworking and professional housekeeping team as well with Domingo, Ariel, and the entire entertainment and bar staff! We trust to welcome you back in the near future and once again express our thanks for your warm comment, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie F wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We traveled September 20-27. It was very quiet on the guest front. The guest services were very accommodating, rooms and the resort in general was clean. Food was good, the al cartes were decent, our guest services rep, booked ours in advance, so no lineups. The Entertainment Team especially Pollo and Skinny made the trip very enjoyable and memorable, those 2 guys are amazing, super friendly and so much fun to be around. Would go back to see them any day. The only downfall would be, or buyer beware would be the presentation for the Ultimate club, unless you are for sure going to purchase this stay away. They don't seem to take no for an answer, we went for information purposes and once we told them we had to think about it and discuss further the presenters got rude.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Appreciate your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation. Trusting to welcome you back very soon, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian O wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Property is nice. Food is good and staff are pleasant but not ideal for those who do not enjoy blairing music from the pool area most of the day. Not relaxing. All inclusive package features undrinkable wines and tonic water disappeared from bar menus after day I. Booked and paid for a "Junior suite" but room offered was dark and not enticing. Had to pay extra even to get a decent room with shower - certainly not a junior suite. Best rooms reserved for "members" with hard sell to buy long term. They make it difficult also for external taxi or Uber to pick up from the property. Will not be returning
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We value for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. To inform you that most of our establishments have junior suites, superior, family and themed rooms. In addition, this particular resort categories such as swim up rooms and presidential suite are clearly and accurately described on our website and all official channels. We take this comment to revise what could have happened and take your feedback as an opportunity to improve where possible. Again, thank you for your review, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CravingSun wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada9 contributions3 helpful votes
Just got back from spending five days at this resort. Nice time at this hotel Part of my experience was being there while the hotel was preparing for and dealing with hurricane Fiona. Luckily it did not hit hard where we were located but we still experienced torrential rains and gusting winds. Location - Nicely located on the Bahia Maimon, , a beach located right beside Amber Cove , the cruise terminal for Carnival cruises in Puerto Plata. Here you will have a nice beach with beautiful views of the mountains behind the hotel. Waters were nice and warm for swimming. Also good views of the cruises when they come in to port If you care to venture into Puerto Plata, it’s only about a 10 to 15 minute drive. We went and enjoyed the cable car experience which was quite nice. You can arrange a tour which includes the cable car via the hotel or get a taxi ride there . The front desk helped with Taxis. Ubers are not allowed to come in to pick up at the hotel but they are allowed to bring you back. Facilities This is probably the smallest resort I’ve been to. That said it offered many of the things that I was looking for. As to dining, it has a buffet restaurant as well as three a la carte restaurants. During my stay the hotel was probably 50% full, so only one à la carte restaurant was open per night. You can only make the reservation the same day so make sure to be there early ( by 9am ). The staff at the reservation desk was friendly and helpful. There is also an area of the hotel referred to as Tropical Avenue. It has a great café ( Mokka Cafe ) to enjoy some coffee and pastries with a beautiful view of the beach. The staff here was amazing. There’s also a pizza place, ice cream spot, a Rum and Cigar store and a few other souvenir stores. We stayed in building # 2 close to the beach. Very nice , modern and with all the amenities we needed. Buildings 1, 2 and 3 were the newer buildings with the nicest rooms. The one thing which I will say is in need of attention is the pool. Clearly needs to be repaired as the floor is constantly coming apart and one is picking up the pieces of cement / plaster from the floor of the pool. Staff. Always happy to help and with a big smile. I know many of the comments focus on the entertainment staff, which was always energetic and trying make sure everyone was enjoying themselves. I would like to complement the rest of the staff at the resort, all who were welcoming and had a big smile. A big “ Job well done “ goes to Isaura. She was the customer service supervisor there and she really came through in an unusual situation (one which i will explain further). The front desk staff was also very helpful, including Anaeudy, Yesy and Michel. Marcelino in the a la carte restaurant was also very good. Towards the end of our stay , hurricane Fiona was hitting other parts of the country. Luckily it didn’t hit the area of Puerto Plata as hard as other regions For a day they prepped the hotel to get ready. During the hurricane they closed the pool , the beach and the pool bar in order to keep everyone safe. They also stopped serving alcohol which I believe is normal during hurricanes. The only restaurant and bar that remained open was the buffet and the sports bar This is where the unusual situation took place on my last evening. Upon arriving we noticed there was a very limited buffett with fruits and cold cuts Since everyone was grabbing what was there , not much was left by the time we got there Considering everything else was closed, guests were very frustrated as you can imagine. That said , this is where that supervisor , Isaura , stepped up. This was not her fault but she was there to be the face of the issue and deal with the situation. Seems that there was a simple miscommunication between management and the restaurant staff. Isaura quickly got the Director on call involved. They both spoke to the chef and within 30 minutes they had a good portion of the Buffett going including meats , fish , salads and desserts. Seems most of the food was prepped anyways earlier in the day but due to the miscommunication was not set up All turned out well though. Thank you to the Director on call ( Mr Puertas ) for getting involved and helping to address the situation. He was informative, helpful and made sure not to leave the restaurant before all was addressed. Yes - it was strange to arrive to the restaurant with not much food there but the management and staff were there to resolve and made it all better. All in all , a good stay at the Senator Puerto Plata. It was actually quite nice not to be in one of these large hotels A big reason is the staff who always are there to help with a smile , especially Isaura in the Client Service area. We’ll done to all the Senator Puerto Plata Staff !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your detailed comment regarding different aspects of your stay as well the service of the resort, the location and your overall perception and experience at the resort; this valuable feedback gives us a great insight on how to continue catering for our guests satisfaction and also, which aspects can be improved and/or maintained. You are correct in terms of hurricane protocols, as we strive to serve our guests however, in weather conditions like the one experienced recently due to hurricane Fiona, the procedures establish a different restructuring for services, location and even the alcohol intake. Also, the fact that you can remember many of our staff members names and their smiles, its a great satisfaction not only for Isaura, our Guest Services, and for Anaeudy, Yesy and Michel. Marcelino in the a la carte restaurant but also, to General Manager, Mr. Puertas. Again, thank you very much for your kind words and excellent and detailled review and trust to welcome you back in the near future, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JEAN M wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
If you are a remote traveler DO NOT ABSOLUTELY stay in this hotel. They misrepresented their amenities! I checked in ion August 5 to find out after I went to the room they absolutely no WIFI in any of their rooms You have to go to the lobby to use the WIFI Therefore I immediately checked out within 1 hour of checking in, they hijacked $1378 of my money to date and has not releases it to my credit card! The credit card wrote to them they never replied so if you work remote do not go there
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that your stay at the resort was not as pleasant as it could have been. In addition, to clarify that this resort has WiFi for rooms, lobby and common areas. and as we read your comments we revise with the IT department to verify if there was any issue or problem related to WiFi services during the dates you refer. In addition, as we read your comments, we revise all aspects from your review, as we will verify what happened during your stay, Again, we are sorry to learn that your stay was not to your liking and thank you for sharing your opinion, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
A great environment, everyone is so welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed every part of the stay! A great entertainment team, especially Pollo, without a doubt you’ll make at least one new friend. definitely i’ll come back here love u Pollo thanks for everything 🥰🥰
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We stay at your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us on other occasions, meanwhile, we will continue working on achieving our goal which is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arya wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
My trip to Senator Puerto Plata was amazing. The food at the buffet was great. The bar service was wonderful. The entertainment team provided fun games, shows and music every single day. Pollo as well as the rest of the team brought so much energy to the resort and made our stay very memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide. Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Resort beautiful, clean, nice staff, front desk terrible customer 😞.. my flight was delayed 2 days due to American Airlines delays and exhausted pilot! No problem tried to call the resort front desk receptionist was new keep asking senior reps for help. I get to the resort they say they can’t accept the reservation because it’s 2 days late!! Travel agency Snaptravel said they can’t modify my stay because it’s their policy. I was exhausted I told the front desk I will deal with matter after my vacation because these ppl don’t have any common sense! I rebook for 4 days instead of 6 days.. I have put a request for my credit card company to deal with the resort and the Snaptravel! Buffet was ok! Special dinner was much better! Drinks were not top shelve! Sorry but drinks were cheap except for presidente beer and mamaJuana 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Pay for insurance unfortunately
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn about the downfall of your arrival and flight delays. Arrival change dates, cancellation policies, penalties and other procedures can vary according to your reservation and tour operator, however we are sad that these events were not foreseen for your vacation and cause you to start your holidays at this resort in an unpleasant manner. Nevertheless, we are glad that you liked the cleanliness of the resort, the friendly staff and the beautiful location of this hotel. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future, and again, we are sad to learn your inconveniences and thank you for sharing that with us as we take these comments to improve were possible. Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irving D wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Am very happy to choose this resort because all service are great. The room is very confortable with à good air condition. Food are so good. Beach and pool are great. The most fun of this shout out to Pollo that made the entertainment of this resort super fun...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your comments given towards our establishment, and our staff, I will take this comment to them personally, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their vacation. We trust to welcome you back very soon and hope you recommend this resort, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Troy G wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful scenery and awesome staff! The food was okay, presentation was excellent. The property looked great! I definitely recommend this hotel. Everyone is very caring willing to make your stay is the best it can be.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Castillo, Director General at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you have taken a moment of your time to recommend this resort! The fact that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery and the friendly and professional service from the work team is a great satisfaction for us. We trust to welcome you back very soon to Senator Puerto Plata, in the meantime we will continue to work for our guests to leave this resort with beautiful memories from their vacations, Receive a cordial greeting, Alejandro Castillo General Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Riu Bachata
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
571
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rancho Lorilar (0.9 km), Beach Alicia (0.5 km), and Long Beach (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Tarappa Italian Restaurant Pizzeria, Las Palmas Italian Restaurant, and Tio Pan Panaderia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fortaleza San Felipe (3.0 km), Casa Museo General Gregorio Luperón (2.9 km), and Logia Masónica Restauracion No. 11 (3.0 km).
Does Senator Puerto Plata Spa Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.