We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 57000 Dominican Republic
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$227
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
US$182
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$262
TravelocityUS$227
TraveluroUS$286
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7012)
360
Panoramas (18)
Pool & Beach (2136)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 59 in Puerto Plata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Playa Dorada, a gated oceanfront community on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is home to Gran Ventana Beach Resort, one of the country’s friendliest, most welcoming hotels. Located directly on the beach, our Puerto Plata beach resort boasts three pools, a kids club and an airy, cool and fresh lobby. We also offer a superb, all-inclusive value for families, couples and group vacations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
French, Spanish
7008Reviews1439Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,307
  • 2,351
  • 881
  • 286
  • 187
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chiara Joyce S wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
It’s a very nice hotel,the food is nice and the beach is not overflowing with people. The animation brings a lot of life into the hotel and makes the stay even more fun,very nice employees. AMAURY (chihuahua)Roberto(Bubalu)Yovany(minimi) Luis(coco loco) yarilda and Juan Carlos.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Marissa L wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
Fun for family, good food. Entertainment shuts down at 11:30, and then very quiet. Locals come on the weekends and resort is very busy. Games at pool are fun and beach is nice, VERY WINDY. Overall, decent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
CC wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Let me start off by saying that the resort itself is beautiful, grounds are impeccable and the ocean and mountain views are just breathtaking. Food is tasty. Drinks are beyond awful they are literally watered down and the beer is hot at the beach bar ALL the time. Sadly, check in was terrible, Waldin especially. It was a hot and lengthy process and my prior emailed requests were not honored and staff in the lobby were borderline condescending and rude. We sat in the lobby after arrival (which has NO AC) for an extra 3 hours due to their incompetence. We weren't offered so much as a glass of water and we were drenched in sweat. DO NOT BOOK YOUR TRIP INCLUDING ANY FRIDAYS OR SATURDAYS DURING YOUR STAY. Local residents take over the resort because of the new low rates being offered to the people there and it's a nightmare attempting to eat, get a drink or enjoy the pool. Masks are mandated in the buffet for all meals (which has no AC) and we were even told by one of the lobby workers at one point that we have to buy masks in the gift shop because they were running low... (HA!) and of course they were running out, 700 people just checked in at once! Not enough food choices or restaurants, we could only get a reservation for the Italian, it was good. There is no entertainment. Period. Rooms are rather hot and humid. Beach is on an incline, makes walking difficult and laying out super uncomfortable as the chair is never level and always on a slant. A lot of Coral Reef. People selling souvenirs on the beach are at an all time annoyance level. HUGE SHOUTOUT TO HIPOLITO in the buffet, What a professional!! He is the ONLY worker there that deserves my heartfelt gratitude for his service and kindness, the others need to model his behavior. Thank you Hipolito!! Finally, Management really needs to get it together. I would not go back. We have visited Punta Cana multiple times and wanted to try something new, unfortunately, this wasn't what we expected. My advice...Take your hard earned money elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
mpk112 wrote a review 26 Jun
1 contribution
We booked a stay as a gift and pre paid for the stay. This hotel gave the guest a very hard time at check in and even a harder time at check out. They claimed not to be able to get the money from who we booked the stay with. I contacted who we made the reservation and they confirmed it had been paid for. We tried to contact the hotel and they do not have a working number you can call from the US. They then charged the guest again for the stay. The hotel then requested that I send a copy of my license via email which is not secure. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from OSCAR LORA, General Manager at Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr. mpk112, thank you for your review. You did make and pay your OTA for this booking, but you did not inform your OTA nor the hotel that this booking was going to be used by someone else with a different name. As you may appreciate there are a lot of online frauds that are taking place and so we wanted to protect you. We kindly asked you to validate in writing to authorize us that your guest could use your booking. Once we received your written approval everything was sorted and the credit card hold (which was never charged) that we had from your guest was never processed. If you require additional information, please contact at your convenience.
Read more
rsulli wrote a review 24 Jun
Hr. Grace, NL36 contributions21 helpful votes
Compact resort with very good food and friendly staff. Visited May/June for 3rd visit. Still a great resort. Nice golf course across the street. Lovely long beach for walking. Would very much like to return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Léa R wrote a review 22 Jun
1 contribution
Everything of this trip with my friend was very nice, the animation, the resort,etc. The entertainers, especially Juan Carlos, were really nice and fun. The pool and the room were very clean. The food really good! I wouls recommand this to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Lara C wrote a review 21 Jun
1 contribution
Very nice beach not too crowded. At night, the show are really entertaining and funny. The personal is exceptional all day, every day. During the day, the activities are fun. The food is very good and changes every day, multiple choices. Thank you to Amaury(chihuahua) and Juan Carlos.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Luc wrote a review 21 Jun
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Very good service, staff really open and nice, Juan carlos and Amaury are the best entertainers, room very clean everyday, food always good and variate, nice pool, drinks were good and strong!! Thank you Juan Carlos and Roberto, you were my favorite !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
cc wrote a review 21 Jun
1 contribution
nice resort, very clean and staff is very nice and entertaining. The pool is nice and Juan Carlos is a great entertainer. The food was also good. Rooms were very clean and cleaning ladies cleaned the room very well every day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Judy M wrote a review 21 Jun
Summerside, Canada18 contributions20 helpful votes
Been here before , most wonderful people in the world , so kind and friendly. The resort is small but excellent for getting around. Nothing is far away. Planning a return trip in November if all goes well It’s a place you get addicted to, can’t wait to go back. Even the beach vendors get to know you and when you let them know you’re not interested in buying they move on or just stop to say hello. Just be kind to all , they are only trying to make a living. Everyone has bad days but don’t take it out on the beach vendors. Cheers and enjoy this wonderful little gem in the sunny south. 💕
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran ventana beach hotel, gran ventana dominican republic, gran ventana puerto plata, gran ventana beach resort puerto plata, hotel gran ventana beach, grand ventana beach resort, gran ventana hotel dominican republic
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicPuerto Plata ProvincePuerto Plata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
506
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gran Ventana Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rigo /Leonel and Marleny taxi tour and excursión (5.3 km), Joyeria Las Americas (6.4 km), and Rancho Lorilar (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Big Lee's Beach Bar, Ristorante Passatore, and Le Petit Francois.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Gran Ventana Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Gran Ventana Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Gran Ventana Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Gran Ventana Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gran Ventana Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gran Ventana Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.