We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Expert photos
Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 983: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

First off; this is NOT a 4.5 or 5 * resort so keep your expectations realistic. MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE REVIEW: DO NOT STAY IN BUILDING 15. it was disgusting. didn't have a working shower for any of the 7 days we were down there, room was not cleaned when we arrived, honestly just so many problems. Building 15...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela B
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Dear Angela, we appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas and working...

Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was friendly and quick. A/C wasn't on, went to front desk and was turned on right away. Our room was in Block 12, renovated and spacious, cleaned daily. We enjoyed the buffet, got repetitive but better than other places we've been to. Loved the bar buffet; fries, chicken, pizza, hot dogs, salad......The a la carte beach restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie M
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

wow !!! Thank you Natalie . This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. a good description so well what is quality - price of a product. Thank you for mendioned our Staff, they work very hard to do their best to...

Blockhouse
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading all the negative reviews I was worried , we had stayed at this resort 8 years ago when it was the Celuisma and everything was fine so we thought we would try it again. We were not disappointed, there were 8 of us who stayed from March17-24 and we had a great time, except the rain!! We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Miss Tammy. Channe for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. Yesterday we had good weather in the morning until noon, hoping today get...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the first time ever traveling away and I had very little expectations arriving because of all of the horrible reviews. Most people on here are expecting a 5 star resort when paying for a 3 star. IF YOU WANT A 5 STAR BOOK A 5 STAR. I was expecting the food to be horrible but I was actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brookegushue
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Wow, wow, wow !!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Miss Brooke for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. Thank you to mentioned our Staff, they realy working hard to pleased our guests....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You aren't booking the Hilton so get used to the fact that you actually booked a 3* resort. We were in building 18 in a suite with a partial ocean view, Room wasn't perfect but not bad, who goes on vacation to spend time in their room anyway, was cleaned very well daily and were given 2 bottles of water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia V
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs. Sonia for a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Describing so well what is quality - price of a product. We are at your service on your next visit because we have a high rate of regular customers in this...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The resort itself was so outdated.There were just 2 Restaurants. One is buffet and the other one was a little restaurant located in the 2nd floor where you can have reservations every night for dinner if you are early enough to book which by 9:00 am every day. The buffet is located on the main floor of another building adjacent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Dear EVELYN , we appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas and...

Thorold, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spending our last night at playa dorada beach house. The resort is currently very quiet. We have enjoyed our time here at this resort. We have never stayed at a 3 star resort but have travelled to Puerto Plata often. The beach is nice and the staff here is very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious especially the a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giginette66
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Thank you Giginette, we really appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I want to start off and say that this is a 3 star resort not 5 star! So please do temper your expectations and be fair because most of the negative reviews here dont do it justice! My wife and I traveled here from March 6th to the March 13th through Air Canada vacations. I was reading the reviews like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Affan U
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

A HOME RUN !!!!! wao!!! This was a perfect way of saying, simply the truth, compared to those who believe that compare a 3 star package, with a 5 star rating. Thank you Mr. AFFAN for describing so well what is quality - price of a product. We are at your service on your next visit because we have a...

Oshawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just terrible. I am now here on my third day. I have been at the pool for 2 hours and can't get any service. There are literally 6 people at the pool and only the men are getting served. There are probably a total of 40 people in the entire resort. There is NOTHING to do. we are so bored....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jijifreak
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Mr. JiFREAK : Please contact the Guest service manager in the main lobby, Carola is a Canadian lady and good actitud of help. We speak your language correctly and others more. Please give us the chance to please you and change the expectation of your vacations.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week at this he'll hole from March 02-09 2017. I have travelled extensively and never seen such a place. We experienced power outages all week. The food was such low grade and overcooked you couldn't eat very much of it. Thank god for salad stuff. The beach bar and grill had much better food. The whole place...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gary S
dirventas2016, Director of Sales at Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sinclair, we appreciate your comments in an analytical and conscious way of the service received. It is totally true that the quality is related to the payment of the service.( Value for Money). We are a 3 star resort in the Caribbean, clean, with entertainment and food according to our budgets. However we are open to ideas and...

1,324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1171)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (292)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (435)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Pools (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (12)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.7 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 41 in Puerto Plata
521 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,126 reviews
0.6 km away
Puerto Plata Village Resort
Puerto Plata Village Resort
#36 of 41 in Puerto Plata
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Blue JackTar
Blue JackTar
#7 of 41 in Puerto Plata
216 reviews
1.6 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,317 reviews
0.6 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA BEACH HOUSE PLAYA DORADA The Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada guarantees you a unique beach holiday in one of the most complete and welcoming All Inclusive hotels in Puerto Playa, Dominican Republic. Specialized in weddings and events on the beach, this hotel is the perfect setting for some unforgettable holidays. Located in the amazing Playa Dorada, 5 km away from Puerto Plata, this hotel for weddings in the Dominican Republic offers endless customized services and state-of-the-art facilities for events: spa, swimming pools, nearby golf, water sports, parties, restaurants... Discover one of the liveliest hotels in Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata: book a hotel at the best price, only here, on the official website of the Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 72000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: €95 - €771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Beach House Playa Dorada staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in building 15”
 of 5 bubbles angelabM233JY, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Building 12 or 13 were both good, also saw rooms in building 19 and 22,”
 of 5 bubbles TammyW422, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“building 12 &13 are renovated and have a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles brookegushue, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“near the beach mainly buildings 18, 19, and 20.”
 of 5 bubbles 314affanu, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Never Stay Here!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jijifreak, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5