We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Santiago de Cuba

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Expert photos
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Panoramas (34)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 450: English reviews
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

On the surface this is a smart cosmopolitan modern hotel, but scratch that surface and it's easy to find poor quality fittings and bad workmanship. We stayed here as an overnight stop, part of a visit from Guardalavaca to Santiago. The room was comfortable , quiet and reasonably furnished (by Cuban standards) in the U.K. This would be a 3*...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exmothian1
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Exmothian1: Many thanks for taking part of your precious time to post your comments in Tripadvisor. For us it is very important to have this feedback with our guests and keep improving our services. We are very glad to know you liked your room as well as our food during breakfast and dinner. We are very sorry though our...

Ellensburg, Washington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Many groups stay here and those looking for a very nice place that is clean and where everything operates. That's not my cup of tea. I prefer the quaint, character-filled place. For amenities and bars and breakfast, it's superb. For understanding life in Cuba, not really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PierreTraveler
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear PierreTraveler: Thank you a lot for your great feedback on Tripadvisor. It's very nice to see that you rate our Hotel as "Top quality¨ We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience and acknowledge our efforts. It is great to see that you have...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like Western hotels this will work for you. It is very nice, has a couple of restaurants and very nice pool area. We would stay here no matter where in the world it was. It proves that Cuba does have first world hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwhitehouse
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear jwhitehouse: Many thanks for your review. We are so glad you liked our hotel and think it is first class. Thanks as well for your compliments to the pool area. We hope you decide to visit us really soon. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl

Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As with most of Cuba's hotels, unless you pay top dollar - don't expect too much for your money. This is a clean, well-appointed hotel & the service is decent. Our only complaint with the room was a shower leaked onto the floor badly & it was a bit hazardous climbing in & out of the doors in the bath....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigBrian_11
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear BigBrian_11, Thank you for taking the time to give us such honest and detailed feedback. We always welcome feedback from our customers, since it gives us the opportunity to make appropriate improvements and changes where necessary. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort. Since our main priority is to make our customers...

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is not a bad hotel, but it needs a lot. We had a nice sized room, quiet and well equipped. However the bathroom was moldy, the water pressure and temperature were not reliable and the air conditioning did not work well. View from the bar and balcony on the 15th floor was great, especially at night with the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Mikesflorida, Thank you very much for choosing the Melia Santiago de Cuba Hotel for your vacations and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We deeply regret that we could not always meet your expectations like some details in bathroom. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve in the future. Gastronomy has...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was the best hotel we stayed during a 2 week tour of the island. Good food, staff, bathroom facilities (no basket required by the toilet) water pressure great. Nice rooftop bar with city view and good musician.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Robert M: Many thanks for your review. We are so glad we were the best hotel you visited during your stay in Cuba. Thanks as well for your compliments to the staff and to the food. We hope you decide to visit us really soon. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Oscar...

Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This hotel has a lot going for it, and its inconsistencies can either be considered part of the quirky charms of present-day Cuba or an annoyance; I choose the former! This hotel is well maintained for the most part. Its elevators are somewhat slow and very temperamental - watch out for the "full" light when it illuminates and don't try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresita_Herndon_VA
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Teresita_Herndon_VA: It was very nice to receive your review. The feedback with our guests is essential for the continuous development of the hotel. We wanted though, to clarify our emergency stairs can be perfectly opened from the inside halls to the exterior and not the opposite for the security of our guests. Thanks for your compliments to the rooms,...

Millom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

The hotel is modern and comfortable with good facilities and a very friendly staff. It is away from the centre of town but this is not a major problem. The bedrooms are large and well-equipped. There were some minor grumbles from members of our group - as was fairly common in Cuba some of the 'hot' food was almost cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bob K
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Bob K: Many thanks for your review. It is very nice to read you found our hotel very comfortable and modern. It is great as well our staff did a good job and was friendly and hospitable. We are sorry about those members of your group that found our food to be cold and the issues related to the...

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Clean, good service, exchange service right out the doors. This place is hosts to various tour groups. Large breakfast buffet, a walk to many restaurants, great lounge area. Oh, cocktail hour does not exist at the main first floor lounge. It is at the pool!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene L
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear Charlene L: It was very kind of you to post your comments in Tripadsvisor, an excellente website when the travellers are looking for recommendations and advice. We are very happy your stay in our facility was very nice and you enjoyed of the large breakfast and lounge area. We hope you decide to come back to Meliá Santiago de...

UK
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Sitting in the lobby, enjoying our complementary arrival drinks I felt I could be in any hotel in the world in the 90's, which is kind of disappointing having travelled all the way to Cuba to immerse myself in culture, however, please don't think ill of me, I am not complaining, it's just an observation. The restaurants and pools are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wobbly_bob
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review

Dear wobbly_bob: First of all many thanks for posting your review. It is always very interesting to receive our guests feedback which help us grow and improve our services. We are glad you liked our restaurants and enjoyed the wonderful views from the Bello Bar which is located in the 15th floor of the hotel. Concerning the issue with the...

1,146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (622)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (61)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (221)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (510)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Classic Room (23)
Viewed
Higher Level Classic Room (26)
Viewed
Junior Suite (25)
Viewed
Kids' Pool (3)
Viewed
Lower Pool (14)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (184)
Viewed
Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
Upper Pool (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
171 reviews
767.5 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 77 in Havana
3,058 reviews
476.8 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
765.3 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 77 in Havana
3,357 reviews
38.1 km away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#5 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
807 reviews
121.2 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: €174 - €350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melia Santiago de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Santiago de Cuba staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
1 month ago
Da Nang, Vietnam
6 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Santiago de Cuba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Since this is in a quiet neighborhood and back from the street, noise should not be an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles jwhitehouse, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“anything over the 6th is fab”
 of 5 bubbles wobbly_bob, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High is good!”
 of 5 bubbles IanGBradford, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was facing the entrance I loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles DharmaK, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a junior suite it gives you 24/7 free internet access which is amazing for Cuba!”
 of 5 bubbles R8206LPjoshuas, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay