We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Start your review of Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial
 Click to rate
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Experience Cuba to the fullest. Stay with Miriam! DO NOT stay in a fancy overpriced hotel. The stay and the cultural experience were excellent. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The staff went above and beyond for a friend without a room at 2 AM. We are going back again and will stay in the same home because it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankUSATexas
Reviewed 14 January 2017

A hostage is typical colonial house. Located closed to Malecon and less than 1000m from the Capitol. Our double rooms were clean with a big bathroom and good water pressure. The breakfast was very good and big with daily new fresh juice. Yali helped us with the taxi arrangements and any other usful information.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darinka O
New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My girlfriend and I recently returned from an amazing week in Cuba. Some of our fondest memories are of our time spent at Casa Miriam (y Yalile). I can not thank Yalile (Miriam's daughter who runs the casa) and her staff enough for the wonderful experience. The casa itself is stunning and everything a traveler could want from an authentic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jschultzh
Surrey
Reviewed 8 January 2017

It has taken me a while to reflect upon our Havana trip, but here it goes: Havana is not like any other city that I have ever visited. The beauty of this decaying city is not in its former glory, nor the parts of old Havana that has been restored so bus loads of tourists can walk through it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vandrare
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 4 days it was a memorable experience end December to new year. Good location 15 minutes walk to Havana viejo center where all the activity takes place.. The value was fantastic considering everything in the hotel category was booked solid and expensive. If you are on a budget this is the place. Great host, great served breakfast and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bigsaltysailor
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Havana! what a beautiful place. I stayed in a beautiful part of the old town amongst the locals. Unfortunately, I picked the wrong Casa. The owners were never there. They rely on cheap labour to run the place for them. Its a hostal. As the owners were not there, the staff will do everything to charge you for breathing to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gaz T
Yali G, Owner at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial, responded to this review

guest Nina: the same guest that wrote the reviews before this one, travellers are not stupid even if you put you are from Canada first and then germany at the end . Everybody that read both your reviews realized you are a mentally ill person. This reviews from you have proved to AirbnB website you were liying as you mentioned...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

We arrived separately as we got separated at the airport and our phones weren't working so each of us thought the other had left. It was caos at the airport. I took a private yellow taxi and paid 20 cuc. My husband took the car that we'd pre-booked through this casa owner and it cost 30 cuc. (make of that,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N T
Yali G, Owner at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial, responded to this review

Response Pending Management responses are published within 24-48 hours after they are submitted. Responses must meet TripAdvisor's Management Response Guidelines. Yali G, Owner at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial, responded to this review Yali G, Manager at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial, responded to this review Besides being hosts we are also travellers so we can not give you a fake answer...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Our son stayed here earlier in the year, and on his recommendation, my husband booked to stay for our trip from Varadero to Havana. After a longish bus journey and a walk from the bus to the Casa, we were hot and tired, so it came as an unpleasant shock when, on arrival, we were told that "because we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane S
Yali G, Owner at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial, responded to this review

We are very sorry you had this experience. We were contacted by your husband at May and proceded for the booking of the room. A few weeks later your soon contact us to extend one more night of the booking. We confirmed the extension of the booking as well. AS THE BOOKING WAS FOR THE END OF NOVEMBER WE ASKED...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

The house itself is a beautiful, old style colonial house. However, they advertise that they speak English, but the girl that does is never around. Therefore, it was hard to communicate anything to the staff, for help on booking cars or asking directions, so that was frustrating. We asked them to book a car for a day trip and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denise C
Yali G, Owner at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Denise, We are very sorry our house didn t fullfill your expectations. We are also very sorry you have not tell all the facts that happened during your stay. The first thing we have to piont out its that you are lying about the fact you were unable to comunicate as I personally even book you a day tour...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended (see pictures). The room was $25, breakfast an additional $5. Miriam and her husband make sure their guests are taken care off. The fridge had beer for $2. I did not have a reservation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23Marina

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
7.6 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
979 reviews
1.3 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,564 reviews
8.0 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#39 of 79 in Havana
229 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 79 in Havana
228 reviews
3.2 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer triples,doubles and twins rooms in our home, a beautiful 200 meter square completely restored Casa Colonial from 1883.Our House is an authentic colonial style house dating back from 1883 with more than 5 meter high wooden ceilings. Its very airy and sunny, with large common spaces, smokers areas, a sunny balcony and an inner patio. These particularities make our hostel a great place to meet other travelers and at the same time enjoy Cuban hospitality from our family. We take great care about our guests well being, and provide a safe and comfortable accommodation in a familiar ambiance that respects our guests privacy. Free Luggage storageFree local phone calls Free extra bed for one child. Free information of the best places to visit in Havana and the rest of the islandFree information and advice, if desire, of best places to by souvenirs, rum, cigars and Cuban coffee.Free information of services such as Salsa lessons, Spanish lessons, scuba dive lessons, bike rentals and local & national tours.Free booking of taxis in Havana and beyond besides information about buses hours and advice about local and national buses services. Help and advice for bookings in other hostels, hotels or guest-houses around the island Book exchange and board gamesInternet access nearby Regular housekeepingThe hostel has no lock out and not curfewWe help our guests sorting out unexpected difficulties such us lost/delayed luggage, credit card problems, flight or booking confirmations, medical assistance etc.Each room has a private bath with toiletries & hot/cold water, mini fridge,safebox, TV, air-conditioning, a fan and comfortable furniture. Two of the rooms can be set as triple rooms and 3 can be set as twin room. We can also set a double plus a single bed for familiesAbout our location do not miss the chance to stay in the center, not around or nearby, the most interesting places of Havana. Every direction it only takes 5minutes to get to the famous Havana Pier, Vedado Area , Habana Vieja and Chinatown. Banks, travel agencies, airlines, cinemas, pubs, art galleries, restaurants, clubs, everything is close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial

Address: Lealtad 206. Entre Virtudes y Concordia | Centro Habana, Havana 10300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: €37 - €39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Central Location, Helpful Staff, Secure and Safe, A Must Stay!”
  • Simple Bed
  • View Outside a couple Rooms
FrankUSATexas, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Each room bad as every other.”
840gazt, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper - that's just how it is in Havana Centro”
vickyw54, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms nearer the front of the Casas”
pandorabethan, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the courtyard at the back are4 quieter, but not as quaint and atmospheric.”
T7750RApaulm, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
HRS.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates