We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial

Save
Share
Lealtad 206. Entre Virtudes y Concordia Centro Habana, Havana 10300 Cuba
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (14)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#230 of 1,536 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We offer triples,doubles and twins rooms in our home, a beautiful 200 meter square completely restored Casa Colonial from 1883.Our House is an authentic colonial style house dating back from 1883 with more than 5 meter high wooden ceilings. Its very airy and sunny, with large common spaces, smokers areas, a sunny balcony and an inner patio. These particularities make our hostel a great place to meet other travelers and at the same time enjoy Cuban hospitality from our family. We take great care about our guests well being, and provide a safe and comfortable accommodation in a familiar ambiance that respects our guests privacy. Free Luggage storageFree local phone calls Free extra bed for one child. Free information of the best places to visit in Havana and the rest of the islandFree information and advice, if desire, of best places to by souvenirs, rum, cigars and Cuban coffee.Free information of services such as Salsa lessons, Spanish lessons, scuba dive lessons, bike rentals and local & national tours.Free booking of taxis in Havana and beyond besides information about buses hours and advice about local and national buses services. Help and advice for bookings in other hostels, hotels or guest-houses around the island Book exchange and board gamesInternet access nearby Regular housekeepingThe hostel has no lock out and not curfewWe help our guests sorting out unexpected difficulties such us lost/delayed luggage, credit card problems, flight or booking confirmations, medical assistance etc.Each room has a private bath with toiletries & hot/cold water, mini fridge,safebox, TV, air-conditioning, a fan and comfortable furniture. Two of the rooms can be set as triple rooms and 3 can be set as twin room. We can also set a double plus a single bed for familiesAbout our location do not miss the chance to stay in the center, not around or nearby, the most interesting places of Havana. Every direction it only takes 5minutes to get to the famous Havana Pier, Vedado Area , Habana Vieja and Chinatown. Banks, travel agencies, airlines, cinemas, pubs, art galleries, restaurants, clubs, everything is close by.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
127Reviews16Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 43
  • 11
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Giles W wrote a review Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom45 contributions33 helpful votes
We visited Havana and elected to stay in local accommodation as we wanted to put our money into the local economy as opposed to a major chain. Firstly, let's manage your expectation. There is some real, crushing poverty in Havana and you will not be insulated from it if you decide to stay in this part of the city. Having said that, absolutely everyone we met and chatted with in the surrounding area was welcoming, friendly and happy to see people visiting amongst them. The guest house is clean and laundry was changed every second day. The rooms are air-conditioned even if the units can be a little noisy. However, even in 34 degrees C the room was easy to maintain at a good temperature. The staff are absolutely lovely and using the international system of hand waving, you can get your message across. Remember, you're in their country so if you don't speak Spanish, it's your fault and not that of the staff. The owner almost bursts with pride when welcoming you into his property and his daughter (I think) has very good English having lived in Western Europe. Breakfast is convenient and filling. You won't get large quantities of meat as in Cuba it's hard to come by. However, it was probably the most healthy diet I've eaten in years; lots of fresh bread from the bakery across the road and fresh fruits of all varieties. The accommodation is a very easy walk into the Capitol (maybe 800-1000m) and you can pick up large bottles of water from the stall on Zanja and Galiano ($1.90 for 5 litres at the time of writing). It's also very close to Malencon. Watching the storms at night was an incredible experience. So in summary? I really enjoyed staying here and enjoyed meeting the hosts as well as Australian, American, German and British guests. Forget your preconceptions and throw yourself into the wonderful maelstrom that is Havana. If you want to love in a Western bubble then the Kempinski will happily charge you 10 times the price for the honour. But you'd be missing out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
alexandergrabau wrote a review Feb 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My friend and I stayed for 5 days recently. Sinai was incredibly helpful in getting us set up with local experiences throughout our stay. She helped get us to interesting places in the city by drawing attractions on a map and made herself available to us whenever we needed. The apartment was perfectly clean and easy to get to. Sinai lives next door, just a short walk away. On our last day Sinai helped get us a cab to the airport. She is organized and well connected to get guests tours and help them find what they're looking to get from their stay in Havana. This was our first time there and we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Understand that this is not a hotel and for that reason it's a more interesting experience...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mayther wrote a review Oct 2018
York, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
I arrived at this casa around early evening 4th Oct after a 9 hour flight from London. and the staff were wonderful..this casa is set about 4 blocks up from the seafront and the street has a very Cuban vibe about it .set in the old part of habana walking distance to all central tourism areas you get a real feel of Cuban life here .this casa is beautifully decorated in an old colonial style.breakfast was good value for £4 .and bedrooms high ceilings and comfortable bed made my stay very enjoyable. would stay there again definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andy B wrote a review Jan 2018
5 contributions2 helpful votes
When we arrived in Havana we we’re not so amused about our current guesthouse, so we went looking to book another casa for our return to Havana 4 weeks later. We came to casa … and they showed us the rooms who we’re very nice and clean. Also the good hospitality convinced us to reserve a room for at the end of our trip. When we arrived back in Havana they said the casa was fool (double?) booked and we got a room in the attic above the kitchen ! The day after they knew it wasn’t right and we got a discount of 5 CUC, but not more than that. Rip off !!! Because we left Havana 2 days later we also booked a taxi to go to the airport. They wrote it down and everything was ok until we wanted to take the taxi. They misunderstood us and tought we had arranged a taxi by ourselves to pick us up ! So no taxi more available ! Then we have solved it ourselves. The owner only smells money, absolutely not recommended !!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yali G, Gerente at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial
Responded 26 Aug 2018
We are very sorry for you bad experience and we work hard everyday to avoid misunderstanding that make feel our guests not well. But I do have to correct some wrong information you have post, first, the house was not overbooked as you mentioned as the rooms in the second floor ( 2 of then) are reachable by stairs located next to the kitchen area, this is a common thing in colonials houses dating back from 18th century. Actually others guests have reviewd and stayed in the same room. So telling the other travellers the house was overbooked its not correct. We respect you did not like the room but is not right to say we were overbooked. When you came before your stay to see the house we could only show you the free rooms but we did told you could have being any of the rooms available in the house. About the trasnfers to the airport I personally asked you about the trasnfer and you say no, the word no for me in english and spanish as far as I know mean negation, and if we were money smellers as you say we would have book you the taxi anyhow so you would have to pay it at the end, on the contrary doe to your complains I made a discount of 20 % price of the room to try to confort you besides the fact you were not right. I have read the review you have left to the house you were in Havana before and realize perhaps your espectations about Havana were not fullfill but being offended and place a bad review with no reazon or because we didnt not understand each other does not sound fair. For us hosting you was also a bad experience and we would work hard in the future to aovid experiences like this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria B wrote a review May 2017
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg7 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for three nights in this colonial house and we had a very pleasant stay. Our bedroom was clean and confortable. We enjoyed the breakfast, fruits, eggs and juices. The location was very convenient, Centro Havana is very authentic - close to Malecon and 10 minutes walking from old Havana. Hosts were very welcoming and helped us with all our needs, notably to get back to the airport to get our delayed luggage and to arrange the transport to Vinales. Finally we really recommend this hostal. Thanks a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FrankUSATexas wrote a review Mar 2017
San Antonio, Texas9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Experience Cuba to the fullest. Stay with Miriam! DO NOT stay in a fancy overpriced hotel. The stay and the cultural experience were excellent. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The staff went above and beyond for a friend without a room at 2 AM. We are going back again and will stay in the same home because it met our needs and we enjoyed staying 3 blocks from the ocean in Central Havana. Great food nearby and a bakery across the street. The home is very secure and the streets are very safe. The mini fridge was perfect for our needs. The home also had Cuban cigars for sale onsite and you can ask for a tour of downtown if available. I loved sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. Contact Miriam for more details before you book with anyone else. Carrasco - Texas
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Central Location, Helpful Staff, Secure and Safe, A Must Stay!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Darinka O wrote a review Jan 2017
10 contributions1 helpful vote
A hostage is typical colonial house. Located closed to Malecon and less than 1000m from the Capitol. Our double rooms were clean with a big bathroom and good water pressure. The breakfast was very good and big with daily new fresh juice. Yali helped us with the taxi arrangements and any other usful information.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jschultzh wrote a review Jan 2017
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
My girlfriend and I recently returned from an amazing week in Cuba. Some of our fondest memories are of our time spent at Casa Miriam (y Yalile). I can not thank Yalile (Miriam's daughter who runs the casa) and her staff enough for the wonderful experience. The casa itself is stunning and everything a traveler could want from an authentic Centro Habana home. The architecture, decor, location were all better than we could have ever expected. My favorite spot in Cuba was hanging out on the casa's terrace overlooking Lealtad Street, sipping rum, people watching, and enjoying the music that pumps through every door of the neighborhood. It gave us a true taste of the Cuban lifestyle and I left inspired by the powerful spirit of the Cuban people and culture. The casa's central location allowed us to easily walk to Parque Central, Habana Vieja, and Vedado; steps away from the Malecon and right around the corner from the best restaurant in Cuba, La Guarida. Staying here puts you right in the heart of Havana and allows you to observe and interact with locals in an exciting and also very safe environment. The room we had was gorgeous, right off the interior courtyard with a comfy bed, mini fridge (stocked daily), ac unit, and a spacious updated private bathroom. A wonderful breakfast was offered every morning with some of the freshest fruit we had ever tasted, breads, coffee, juice, and a large omelet to fuel us for our days exploring the city. I want to give a special thank you to Yalile and her staff. They were amazing. Always happy to see us return home and eager to help us with any questions or concerns. Towards the end of our stay we realized there is no way to get money in Cuba as Americans and we were not sure what to do when Yalile put us at ease and spent 2 whole afternoons with us going to Western Union offices to get it all figured out. She is truly an angel and the best host I have ever had. By the end of our 6 day stay it felt as though we were staying with family. A fellow traveler who was staying in another room of the casa stated that he had been coming to Cuba since the 1950s and this was the best Casa experience he had ever had! I am confident in saying Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial is the best casa in Cuba. Wishing everyone at the casa all the best! Viva Cuba! - Joe and Monica
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vandrare wrote a review Jan 2017
Surrey42 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
It has taken me a while to reflect upon our Havana trip, but here it goes: Havana is not like any other city that I have ever visited. The beauty of this decaying city is not in its former glory, nor the parts of old Havana that has been restored so bus loads of tourists can walk through it and "think" that this is what Havana is like. Instead, Havana's beauty lives within its people that so generously invite you to live in their homes and share their limited supplies of most everything they have with you. It pains me when I read the negative reviews of both this Casa Particular and of other services received while visiting Havana. If you wish to travel to Havana, I recommend that you leave any expectation of comfort that you may have at home. You will not find it here. Period. Havana is a reference of a completely different travel experience. Our family of five stayed at Casa Miriam for five days. We occupied three rooms in total. The bed rooms are scattered around the Casa and the there is a larger sized living room/ dining room where the guests gather for breakfast or simply to "hang" out. We met so many wonderful travellers around the breakfast table, we made plans for the day, we shared notes of activities - and the city map was always out. Yes, the breakfast offerings were skimpy but plan ahead. I brought an entire bag of snacks, granola bars and biscuits. The food offered at the restaurants in Havana is mostly very good - but the options and sometimes quantities are limited. They can only serve you with what they have. This is a reality that you must accept. Sure, the establishments that are set up to deal with tourists and CUCs have access to a greater supply of goods, but it is not endless. When staying in a Casa Particular, you are staying in a private home. Case Particulars are located in residential areas and you live with the locals. I enjoyed sitting on the Casa's balcony looking down on the street life below. If you just take a moment and see how the locals operate to get by, you will come to appreciate this place. Around the corner from Casa Miriam is literally a "hole in the wall" local pizza store. In the evenings, we would line up there with the locals and eat the most delicious pizza that our boys still talk about. Another great experience was when a Cuban band had a practise in an apartment across the street. Music filled the neighbourhood and dancing evolved on the street below. The owner, Yali, does not live in Casa Miriam, but she was there everyday when we were there. She was lovely and helpful. She will provide you with any information that you may need on how to get around town or obtain any needed services. Should she not be there and you need to get hold of her, just ask the staff to call her and you can talk to her. We had no issues with any of the staff and nobody asked for any additional money. We paid for the rooms and the applicable breakfast fees when we checked out. The bed rooms are clean and to the point. Basic offerings. The bathroom plumbing worked most of the time. This is what you should expect. If you require a higher comfort level, do not stay here; instead, find a hotel (not a Casa Particular) that can better meet you needs. Finally, if you plan on going to Havana, be prepared that it will be a very different type of travel experience. I highly suggest that you pack good walking shoes, pack snacks to last for the duration of your stay and bring any other basic necessities - such as a roll of toilet paper. I will absolutely go back to Havana again, and, yes, I would stay at Casa Miriam again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bigsaltysailor wrote a review Jan 2017
52 contributions37 helpful votes
Stayed 4 days it was a memorable experience end December to new year. Good location 15 minutes walk to Havana viejo center where all the activity takes place.. The value was fantastic considering everything in the hotel category was booked solid and expensive. If you are on a budget this is the place. Great host, great served breakfast and a place you will feel right at home in. Yali the lovely host will be most helpful in arranging trips and transportation and recommendations to make your Cuba experience memorable. I am well traveled and recommended unequivocally this safe establishment. Rooms are large clean and located above street level in Havana Centro.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaCiudad de la Habana ProvinceHavana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASA MIRIAM HOSTAL COLONIAL - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Havana, Cuba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Nearby attractions include Iglesia de Nuestra Senora de Monserrate (0.4 km), Parque de los Mártires Universitarios (0.4 km), and El Barrio Chino (Chinatown) (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include airport transportation, a concierge, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Arcangel, San Cristobal Paladar, and Casa Miglis.
Does Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial have airport transportation?
Yes, Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Miriam Hostal Colonial?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Square (Plaza Vieja) (1.8 km), San Francisco de Asis Square (1.9 km), and Palacio De Los Capitanes Generales (1.7 km).