We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Maxwell Coast Road Christ Church S N, 15031 Barbados
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (165)
360
Panoramas (22)
Room & Suite (250)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#31 of 53 hotels in Christ Church Parish
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Guests who come to stay at the Sunbay Hotel find that our Barbados vacation resort offers a very unique ambiance…a tranquil, serene oasis set in a lush tropical garden where you can truly get away from it all and relax.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
401Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 134
  • 102
  • 45
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andrew & Vivienne wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we choose this hotel to quarantine in as it was advertised as an all-inclusive hotel and it would be perfect for a couple of nights until we got our 2nd negative test results. Well, all I can say the staff was very friendly and tried hard to make a bad situation better. I can not say bad word against them. The hotel is not an all-inclusive hotel at all it is a budget Bed and breakfast/room only hotel. We had booked for all-inclusive and got room only. Once arrival in our room, it became very clear this was the case. We had no mini bar, no tea/coffee and no water. But I must say we had a kettle and 2 cups that was full of dust. When I tried to complain to the owner, he could only say I was breaking the quarantine rules and I would be arrested. After I informed him to send police, prime minister, health minister and immigration to the hotel as I wish to speak to them as he would not answer any of my question regarding what he has in place for us as we had paid for an all-inclusive stay. I would say this hotel should be avoided as this man is only interested in getting rich and not about his customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book this hotel as an all-inclusive.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Broome, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded 6 May 2021
Dear Guest, We are disappointed but not surprised to see this review. It seems that the sincere apology that you gave to myself, my management and my staff for your unacceptable behavior, that put all of us at risk, wasn't sincere at all. The COVID19 protocols of Barbados stated that guests MUST remain in the their guest room during quarantine. Yet you insisted on coming down to the front desk to interact with my staff. I remained on the phone with you while you complained profusely and loudly about COVID19 measures that are out of the hotel's control. As I said to you then; Sunbay Hotel is not an all inclusive hotel, you paid for and received room and breakfast. If you were misled by a tour operator or travel agent then you should take it up with them. Regards
Read more
hmarcell2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Atlanta, Georgia1 contribution
Staff was overall unfriendly, non-accommodating and unsupportive. I will never stay here again. Restaurant service was horrible. I was told to move from the bar while eating a slice of pizza even tho there were no customers. Room service was the only thing that was done right consistently.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Rooms were ok but terribly overpriced. This room should never exceed $75 US per night and that’s...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear hmarcell, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I happen to know for a fact that the staff at Sunbay Hotel are extremely supportive and accommodating. Along with those great attributes. they also have to politely enforce rules from time to time. For obvious reasons we do not allow food obtained from outside of our establishment to be consumed in our restaurant or at our bar. If the enforcement of this policy has offended you and caused your entire stay with us to be ruined we are sorry. However, this is a policy enforced by many many hotels locally and around the world. We understand the underlying difference between when a big branded hotel enforces a policy and when a small independent hotel enforces the same policy; this is the nature of things. We will continue to follow best practices and enforce policies designed to protect guests, staff and company alike. Regards.
Read more
segreen2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Loughborough, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was clean and ok, we believed the hotel was on the beach, it was the other side of a minor road, to get to the beach was a 10 min walk. The breakfast was awful we chose from a grubby old plastic coated menu. The pool was nice and clean but there were no towels unless you bought one for 15$ The reception staff were rude and couldn’t care less about anything else but their appearance. One day a gentleman was behind reception but he was too busy eating a basket meal under the counter than find out when our delayed airport shuttle would arrive.there was a mature lady on the activities desk in the foyer and she was helpful and kind.I guess once upon a time it was a decent hotel but now it’s tired and needs refurbishing and the staff badly need training..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Maybe a poolside room as we had a partial sea view room but the internet didn’t get a signal.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear segreen, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If our offering does not suit your taste we understand and take no issue. However we do take issue with some aspects of your review which we find to be untrue. In any case, we wish you well.
Read more
ticketjelly wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
On Arrival to Barbados, my transfer to Sunbay from Airport was good lovely driver. On arrival the Receptionists had very poor customer service skills throughout our stay. Overall the best receptionist was the elderly male he was very friendly and willing to help professional customer service and very efficient no problem . The Tour Guide lady is very good and highly i recommend her . The catering staff are all so amazing especially Chef Jonathon & two Young female Chefs the passion shows great food. Front of house staff are all very amazing & friendly . Desiree my favourite and the lovely lady who organised my Valentines meal thank you.I loved the bar staff they are all a pleasure to be around .rooms were cleaned very well everyday thank you My partner and i would love to come back. Great location to stay thanks Sunbay .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Thank you for doing a great job much appreciated!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear ticket, Thank you for your review. Thank you for choosing Sunbay Hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards.
Read more
corbychris wrote a review Mar 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Th Sunbay Hotel is in a good location in Maxwell, close enough to the main road for public transport and far enough from it to be quiet. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. TV has many channels, safe can be rented cheaply. Fridge and kettle available. Nice private balcony looking over atmospheric courtyard with palm trees, pool and sunbeds. The hotel is close to Oistins, and Maxwell itself has some of the best swimming conditions and sea temperature in the south of the island.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AdamB8064, General Manager at Sunbay Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear corbychris, Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBarbadosChrist Church Parish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunbay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St Lawrence Gap (1.0 km), Maxwell Beach (0.6 km), and Scoopie's Jazz (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunbay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sunbay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunbay Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunbay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bliss Cafe, Irie Foods, and Surfer's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunbay Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunbay Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Washington House (5.6 km), Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club (5.2 km), and Gun Hill Signal Station (7.6 km).
Is Sunbay Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.