We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,842: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Spent our 9th visit to Bougainvillea in September and stayed for nine nights. Nice to be welcomed back by the staff and greeted like an old friend. Despite the work being carried out to the pool area and the relocation of Reception, the staff were as helpful and friendly as ever. Deluxe suite was well cleaned every day. Once again...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ramsayallan1947
Cheshire,UK
Reviewed 22 October 2012

First time in Barbados for myself and my wife. Pleasantly surprised by how chilled out the place is in general. This hotel is located on the South Coast of the island; as you approach by car you are in a residential area and the hotel complex comes as something of a surprise. There are many positives;Sue and Miranda on reception...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GForceCheshire_UK
edinburgh
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Just coming to the end of another great holiday at Bougainvillea Beach Resort. This has been our 5th time here and we had a blast. The staff are all lovely, as are the local people. We have not done much this time - just chilled and eaten in some great restaurants. Probably the best meal was at Pisces in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank davhid
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I would like to say that my husband and I have been visiting Barbados now for 18 years and find the island like home from home, beautiful beaches, happy, friendly people and the sea - well what can I say about that only out of this world! I feel sorry for those visitors who have had experiences which may have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PegBaz
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Just got back from our 10 night stay at the Bougainvillea hotel. Lovely rooms. Always cleaned so well! We had a deluxe studio. No problems at all. At the bar there are 3 people who always made you feel welcome Dennis Sonia and Roxanne. They were always happy. Always went out their way to help you. Drinks menu is also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicky W
newcastle
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I was here from October 01st for 2 weeks. I was on my honeymoon and we loved this place. Yes it was quiet, and there was a little work going on. All we saw was a little painting here and there, which shows that the people care. Also a few lower rooms were being refurbished. None of this spoilt our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thecage
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Right on the sandy beach on the South West coast of Barbados, this is a truly spectacular setting where the wild Atlantic Ocean of the East Coast meets the calm waters of the Caribbean on the West Coast. The hotel is not as popular as some on the West Coast, and therefore the rates are not as high and in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon J
Bolton, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It was our first visit to Barbados and had heard such positive things about Barbados and unfortunately Bougainvillea did not live up to it's ratings. They were under major refurbishment so the noise and inconvenience was unbearable. Only 1 restaurant was opened, 2 pools were closed and numerous activities throughout the week were cancelled. I have never complained but the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank l0vest0travel1
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your visit came at a time when we were carrying out the property upgrades. There is never a good time for projects like this, however they are necessary for us to maintain the standards that our guests have come to expect. We did everything we could to minimise inconvenience to our guests and dealt with...

Devon, UK
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Lovely hotel for a relaxing beach break. The service was excellent throughout our stay. Good location, only a short taxi ride to Oistins or the gap for the evening. Would highly recommend visiting Oistins on a friday night to get a taste of real Barbados! We ate at Lanterns a couple times, they have buffet nights where you can try...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k8alx
Birmingham uk
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Wife and I stayed 1st-15th Sept. expecting something that resembled the Virgin brouchure. However, we were unaware of the fact that only one of the two restaurants were open and that a major refurb was scheduled for the second week of our holiday. Maggie, the manager sorted our issues and re-located us to another hotel. (ocean 2 really is an...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank davidwquarrybank
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are so sorry that the upgrades took place at the time of your holiday - sadly, there is never a good time to carry out improvements but they are necessary as we want to offer the best faciltiies to our guests. We will be reopening all of our pools and swim-up pool bar on Thursday, September 27th, 2012, as...

2,160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1617)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (388)
Viewed
View from Room (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (226)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (337)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (433)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (500)
Viewed
Amenities (94)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite (84)
Viewed
Junior Suite (69)
Viewed
Lap Pool (17)
Viewed
Pool With Swim-Up Bar (9)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Superior Studio (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)
Viewed
Waterfall Pool (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.6 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,911 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,377 reviews
13.3 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
16.7 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
13.3 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Lanterns By The Sea
Lanterns By The Sea
Cuisines: Caribbean, American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Price Range: €150 - €382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bougainvillea Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
151 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (151)

Questions? Get answers from Bougainvillea Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like rooms on the pool bar side as the views we feel are nicer”
 of 5 bubbles cathysmith750, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was ground floor by the children's pool which could be noisy during the day”
 of 5 bubbles clairey584, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bigger kitchens in the the one bedroom suite”
 of 5 bubbles TorontoCouple40, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We have physical issues (hip replacements and such), so we asked for a suite on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Fran701, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you don't mind walking up the stairs get a higher up room for the view”
 of 5 bubbles Randy939, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5