We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walmer Lodge Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Walmer Lodge Apartments
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2016

So, I was looking for a place to stay in Barbados. This hotel was one of the cheapest I could find that didn't look like a total dump. I saw some negative reviews, but thought for the price, I had to give it a chance. How much you enjoy this property depends on your reason for travel. You're in Barbados.... More 

Helpful?
Thank gowanna
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Again, have now spent our 13th. annual visit to Walmer Lodge for 8 weeks. Not the most luxurious place in Barbados, but, if you like the best beaches and great hospitality, this is the place for you. Hospitality is second to none. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank cestnous
Roseau, Dominica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Recently stayed at Walmer Lodge Apartments February 14 to 26 2015. The accommodations was excellent. Very friendly and helpful owners. Mr Worell brought me and my daughter to her very first appointment on the other side of town, to Beckles Road. From then on we took the bus as there is a bus stop right outside the apartments on both... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Ambeautifully M
Santa Tecla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014

The romme was smelly and dirty, I found dead bugs and a dirty tissue. Even though my credit card was charged, the manager said they didn't get the money, so I was forced to pay for the night I stayed.

Helpful?
6 Thank Leszpipil
Keith W, Owner at Walmer Lodge Apartments, responded to this review

Hello This was indeed a scandal project to degrade our property as much as possible, it could not be be money as the the money was a very small sum, on my document it was twice as much. We tried to down load but it never did, the information given looked genuine . When MR Sanchezz arrived we informed him... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bridgetown hotels

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Have just returned from our 8 weeks stay at Walmer Lodge. This is the 12th. year in a row that we have stayed here, from mid Jan. to mid March. Located just above the best beaches in Barbados, where you can walk for 2.5kms. Great location. Clean. Maid service every day.Bus stops right outside front door. Free WiFi. Owners, Baz... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cestnous
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I've actually stayed at Walmer Lodge twice, both long-term rentals, i.e. for periods over six weeks. I freely admit to loving my home comforts - I'm an all-mod cons kind of gal, and have low tolerance for low standards. So the fact that I returned to Walmer Lodge would be sufficient for anyone who knows me well to appreciate that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sunlovingme
Brikama, Gambia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Small family-run homely apartments-selfcontained close to everything u need-transport no prob-clubbing restaurants everything nearby-n d beach fabulous-5 min walk-the hostesses very helpful knowledgeable n accommodating.def will stay again!

Helpful?
3 Thank Great Heron F
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Having read several reviews prior to booking this location, I really wasn't expecting much. Located just about 3 minutes from the quiet Batt's Rock Beach in Black Rock, this family owned facility was ideally suited for my 2 night stay. The facility is rather old and could do with major upgrading but the free WiFi, air-conditioned rooms, fully equipped kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Papertrailer
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Sure it's tired but many of the rooms have new furniture since we were here two years ago. What we like: 1) very close to a great beach - 3-4 minutes to Batt's Rock Beach 2) economical - studio, one and two bedroom apartments with complete kitchens at decent prices 3) free wifi and satellite TV 4) very friendly family... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bgardiner1
Buja, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Please, read all to the conclusion: When we arrived we were disappointed...sure we were very tired after a long flight. The apartment wasn,t meeting our expectations. We are a family of four with 2 little daughters, and we had asked for a cot before reserving the apt, that was missing. So we joined the 3 single beds in the rooms... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Alcampodisotto

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgetown
0.0 km away
Courtyard Bridgetown, Barbados
0.0 km away
Island Inn Hotel
Island Inn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bridgetown
518 reviews
0.0 km away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
0.0 km away
Nautilus Beach Apartments
Nautilus Beach Apartments
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Rio Guest House
Rio Guest House
#2 of 3 in St. Lawrence Gap
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A serene and peaceful vacation on our beautiful West Coast is yours for the taking at Walmer Lodge. Just 50 yards from your balcony is a lovely white sandy beach, a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea and our tropical garden setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Walmer Lodge Apartments

Address: West Coast, Jt. James, Bridgetown BB24001, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish > Bridgetown
Price Range: €66 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walmer Lodge Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Walmer Lodge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walmer Lodge Apartments Hotel Bridgetown
Walmer Lodge Apartments Barbados/Bridgetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Walmer Lodge Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bridgetown, Barbados

I have stayed at the Walmer Lodge Apartments from 25 years ago until recently and found those negative comments to be very untrue. This property is nice clean and cosy and should not be downgraded like this.

The owners are very pleasant, kind and accommodating and should not be ridiculed like that.

Perhaps the problem is that it should be advertised as a self contained, beach guest house and not a hotel and that should clear some of the problem up. It is not a Hotel just a great home away from home for locals and tourist alike.

I highly recommend this guest house where you are private and the owners don't breath your necks down...you have your space, quiet, calm and relaxation all in one and can go shopping if you like and is close to all the amenities, west coast restaurants and all other activities.

This very perfectly located beach property brings back special memories to me from my early days of decent courtship indeed. I would not trade it for the world.

Lots of the other so called favourite spots in ST Lawrence Gap are filled with the prostitutes, pimps, Bi-Sexuals, Cocain Addicts, Drug Dealers, Con men and con women.....Lots of HIV Carriers and not to mention lots of dirty regulars who urinate, deficate and vomit right by the entrances to these popular restaurant and clubs in the gap.... and most of these characters are homeless due to their continuous bad practising lifestyles.

Take it from me....I worked in the gap for three years and I really think it is high time the authorities do something about the lifestyle and bad practices in the St Lawrence Gap.

What has happened to all of the false promises made to the former property owners??? I say former as all the previous tenants have had to run before they are totally bankrupt. They are losing their business, their homes etc...

The Gov't came to the assistance of the Large Hoteliers and the poor restaurant operators have been left to die and have not been included in the benefits put out by the government for concessions to be granted....What a shame...

It was interesting to see the operator of Chez Max Restaurant Chef Max Benz shoveling and cleaning up the Stinky Smelling Sea Weed from by the waterside of his restaurant in an effort to bring customers back to the restaurant. Need I say More...

My final question is...Who's going to pay the price to make the wrong things right in this country to decent hard working restaurant/ businessmen like Chef Max Benz. Shame on the authorities.

Diner at Chez Max Restaurant.

over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Walmer Lodge Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the owner, he won't steer you wrong.”
 of 5 bubbles gowanna, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you're at all unhappy with your room, let the owners know, and they'll change it if rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles sunlovingme, 1 May 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay