We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Expedia.comUS$101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Parkway Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,020: English reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I hate to write a negative review about a place I have stayed at for 30 years but I feel standards and service is slipping. Main gripes during this stay - when I arrived went for a run then took a shower and discovered half my bathroom lights and vent did not work (we won't mention the shower curtain). I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve G
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steve, I am very sorry that you felt the need to post another negative review of our hotel. You have been a valued guest of ours for many years and I am saddened that once again, you didn't mention any issues to our management team, who of course you know extremely well. I can assure you Steve, that we...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

This venue isn't located in the heart of everything, but that's what made it charming. With its bare brick walls, huge fireplaces and colourful tartan soft furnishings, I immediately felt warmly welcomed. The staff were every efficient at booking us all in without delay and running through the necessities (which some hotels forget). My room was much cosier than many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFiend222
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear FoodieFriend222 Thank you so much for posting your review. We have just completed period of refurbishment of every guest bedroom within the hotel and I am pleased that your positive comments show how well this has been received. I have passed your kind comments on to our Front of House team who enjoy welcoming all of our guests and...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My Fiance and I recently celebrated our engagement party at the Parkway Hotel in Cwmbran. The night went without a hitch (no pun intended). The whole experience for us was excellent. We stayed over in a suite which was very nice. I requested flowers and a nice bottle of wine to be left in the room for arrival fairly late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob c
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear robert c, Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your stay here with us at The Parkway Hotel. I am so very happy to hear that your engagement celebrations that were held with us were such a success. We do aim to provide an outstanding service to all of our guests, and I am happy that we...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel where you can instantly relax the minute you walk through the door then this one is for you. This hotel is lovely and the staff throughout the hotel were welcoming, polite and extremely helpful... Rooms were perfect! The bed was so comfortable and the range of hot beverages and biscuits in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky20001
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vicky20001, Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were made to feel welcome and at home in all areas of the hotel. This is something that we aim to achieve with all of our guests that choose...

wales
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here for the last two weeks due to the need to move from our home. In what are stressful times the staff here were absolutely first class particularly Jane Jones. They are all friendly and very helpful, it was almost like being home. Management your staff are a credit to you. The Hotel itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plan7
Hedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Arrived late as it was a late booking for a meeting the next day. Staff were really good with a very quick check in. Room was really good (Usk suite) and very spacious. Excellent bathroom and shower. Nice touches such as the coffee machine and plenty of bottled water. Bed was very comfortable as well. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Iain A, Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We delighted that you liked our hotel and that our reception team gave you a quick and efficient check in. Thank you for mentioning our Usk suite and the nice touches we provide in the bedrooms. Our new suites were built just a year ago and they are...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Not such a warm welcome, the place was packed and hosts meetings, all kinds of events and is mainly a stop gap for business people. The bar staff were very rude and not willing to help, I shared this when I left and there was hardly an apology. The spa and my room was dirty, but looked nice first glance,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank katie_swan
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katie_swan, I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I agree that the public areas of our hotel can be busy on times. I assure you that our team of staff work extremely hard to accommodate all types of guest along with their individual needs, normally we achieve this and I am very sorry...

Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

First stop over at this hotel for Dinner/Show featuring Jeff Hooper and his 9 piece swing band. Super value for dinner, show, bed & breakfast and use of facilities untii 5pm leaving date. We had a couple of meals here in the past and were impressed with the whole hotel. The bedroom was excellent, comfortable bed, nice decor, good bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elwyn T
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

The bar area is great with a good atmosphere and on the date of our attendance there was a piano playing in the bar area. Once seated we were greeted by a young man with excellent manners and service but were advised there was no steak, pork or lamb leaving us with very little to choose from, one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lawrence R
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence R, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to our restaurant. I am sincerely sorry that we could not offer you the full al a carte menu on Saturday night. We experienced a large number of changes to existing bookings that we found a little challenging to deal with and unfortunately we ran out of 3...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband stopped overnight to celebrate an anniversary. We had afternoon tea on arrival and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and informative. The use of the spa was fabulous and would definitely reccommend here. We had a snack at the bar in the evenjng which was again fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
7.5 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
5.1 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
350 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
16.3 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Price Range: €91 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Parkway Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Parkway Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We live local so didn't stay”
782suei, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“the suites are fantastic”
LisaV771, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Whilst it was ok for my stay in May perhaps the rooms may get a little hot in the summer, didn't see any air con”
T5204NSricharde, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were immaculate and clean.”
113philipd, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“At the end of the corridor on the garden side is quiet”
WelshThree, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$104
TravelocityUS$101
Orbitz.comUS$101
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates