We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Burrow

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Burrow
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of The Burrow
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Burrow is a wonderful establishment for the off the cuff traveler! If you are seeking a traditional Maltese experience then this is for you. Having read through some of the previous comments in relaction to the location I was a little concerned, however we had a bus pass that served us well so this was not a problem. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very helpful and friendly reception with good recommendations on travel and local food. Room very comfortable and we enjoyed being able to stroll out onto the roof terrace. Room clean and well furnished.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehill2000
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good authentic guesthouse with perhaps even more authentic rooms! Very good value for money as well. On my next visit to Malta I will definetely stay here again. The island of Gozo is also worthwhile visiting! Thank you for the pleasant stay! I enjoyed the fact that there was decent wifi in the room. Regards from Joost

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joost_1966
Lagunitas, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Okay rooms are small but really fantastic decor . GREAT WIFI. Tran at the desk was so helpful. I liked being close to the temple and then the fishing village . I wanted to stay in a few different places in Malta. Get a feel for life here. Easy to get to. Bus drops you 5 minute walk away ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zuni P
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As usual, our stay was magnificent! Extremely friendly hosts and personnel, very clean rooms, great breakfast, ideal central location, self service so called 'honesty bar', the best wifi ever experienced and very good services! And one of the greatest characteristics in my opninion (as stated in an earlier comment of mine in 2012) is that the building is ANCIENT. Built...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sander E
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Due to my short stay in Malta i booked a couple of rooms in different cities, one of them was The Burrow. After the first night i decided to cancel my other bookings because it was the best value experience and service provided. Warm welcome, amazing breakfast, impressive style of each room, clean and tidy everywhere made my experience excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _i_zarinam
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Just great! good communication, comfort, authenticity, connectednes. Just to state that the Burrow is a garanty for a simply careless holiday. We were surprised because of the hospitality. a typical building, easily accessible, quiet location with stunning views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wimhanssens
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I must say we were extremely disappointed about the quality we received. It was by far the worst night ever spent in a guest house. We barely slept because the bed was too small for two (and too short for my husband, who is an average 1m85), very noisy when one of us moved and extremely wobbly. So every time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene V
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Helene, We are so very sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. You promised us a negative review and here it is. We are sorry that you chose us only for the convenience of being near the airport and not because you liked what we offered or there should never have been a problem with your...

Reviewed 25 January 2017

We loved the place, and it was so good to be close to the airport. However ... (1) the young man who was in charge when we were there (January 17, 2017) first offered to return a key to another hotel that we had just left. We told him we would pay postage and he said he would take care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn, Thank you for loving The Burrow. It was indeed a pleasure to host you for one night. Although we have communicated directly regarding the issue of the hotel key I shall address this for the benefit of persons reading your review. You arrived to The Burrow after your stay in Gozo. You brought the key from your previous...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice stay in this beautiful old stone house. The room was clean, characterful and quiet. Chiara is a wonderful host and always ready to help. The B&B is located in a calm neighborhood in walking distance from all important bus lines and the Tarxien Temples, which are part of the UNESCO heritage. We would definitely come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon D
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Thank you for taking time to review us. It was a pleasure to host you at The Burrow and we hope to have the pleasure of greeting again in the future.

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarxien
3.6 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
3,697 reviews
6.6 km away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,757 reviews
3.7 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
1,021 reviews
5.2 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Burrow is a charming House of Character situated in the village core of Tarxien, located in a peaceful setting ideal for the single traveller, couples and families with children. Good location just a bus ride from the central area and the best attractions. Walking distance from the famous Tarxien Temples and minutes away from other pre historic sites and lovely beaches. At the end of the day, you can rest in a quiet and cool courtyard with other international guests and taste genuine home made food. Warm hospitality from your hosts will make you feel welcome and at home. Rich continental breakfast served in the period breakfast room or bright courtyard. The Burrow features comfortable bedrooms with the option of an en-suite bathroom. There are two large living rooms with satellite TV and another living room for the quiet reader.Children and families or small groups are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Burrow

Address: No. 3 Alley 4, St. Mary Street, Tarxien, Island of Malta TXN 1740, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Tarxien
Price Range: €53 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burrow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Burrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burrow staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Burrow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else! We had an excellent night in a five-star hotel the previous night for only 40€ more, but worth a 1000 more!”
556helenev, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A personal vehicle is a must. But, then, I wonder about parking...”
sablorange, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For gods sake make sure you get the en-suite if you cannot then my advice is don't book”
stephenpX9174FX, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the room off the breakfast room - I imagine it would be very noisy in the morning. I felt bad for the people staying in it.”
KrisH87, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the suite!”
311lizr, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5