We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Burrow

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Burrow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of The Burrow
 Click to rate
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just great! good communication, comfort, authenticity, connectednes. Just to state that the Burrow is a garanty for a simply careless holiday. We were surprised because of the hospitality. a typical building, easily accessible, quiet location with stunning views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wimhanssens
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I must say we were extremely disappointed about the quality we received. It was by far the worst night ever spent in a guest house. We barely slept because the bed was too small for two (and too short for my husband, who is an average 1m85), very noisy when one of us moved and extremely wobbly. So every time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene V
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Helene, We are so very sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. You promised us a negative review and here it is. We are sorry that you chose us only for the convenience of being near the airport and not because you liked what we offered or there should never have been a problem with your...

Reviewed 25 January 2017

We loved the place, and it was so good to be close to the airport. However ... (1) the young man who was in charge when we were there (January 17, 2017) first offered to return a key to another hotel that we had just left. We told him we would pay postage and he said he would take care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn, Thank you for loving The Burrow. It was indeed a pleasure to host you for one night. Although we have communicated directly regarding the issue of the hotel key I shall address this for the benefit of persons reading your review. You arrived to The Burrow after your stay in Gozo. You brought the key from your previous...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice stay in this beautiful old stone house. The room was clean, characterful and quiet. Chiara is a wonderful host and always ready to help. The B&B is located in a calm neighborhood in walking distance from all important bus lines and the Tarxien Temples, which are part of the UNESCO heritage. We would definitely come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon D
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Thank you for taking time to review us. It was a pleasure to host you at The Burrow and we hope to have the pleasure of greeting again in the future.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Malta and the Burrow was an integral part of that enjoyment. Chiara was a fantastic host with an amazing historical knowledge of Malta and the home she offers to her visitors. The location was wonderful as we were able to hike to nearby Megolithic Temples, feast on the cuisine of Malta and enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank terriharrelson7564
Eernegem, Belgium
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stay several times in THE Burrow and iT is always a pleasure. Chiara is THE most kind women,she cares Really for THE guests, Everything is clean and Nice,very recomended.The breakfast is very good in a charming room. Marc and Karin

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karinvandecas
Monrovia, Liberia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I wish I could find something positive to say... Unfortunately, the 2 days that I spent at the Burrows were a source of disappointment and resentment in every aspect. Booking : bookin on line through the booking sites was not available. Hence, I made the reservation on the phone. I sent an email to confirm, but never received the promised...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sablorange
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed at the burrows for one night got there at 16:00 hours and left at0:5.30 in the morning so they new we would miss breakfast has I had told them many weeks before on our arrival there was no breakfast package put a side for us there is no water in your room, the shared bathroom was a joke a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen P
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed at The Burrow for two nights, and boy do I wish we could have stayed longer! The house is very old and filled with antique furniture and beautiful little trinkets. Would that I could have been a child in that house, every time I rounded a corner I would get distracted by a new, beautiful thing and with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DorkMatter
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I never actually got to stay here as they refused my debit card payment on two occasions. I then after attempting twice to pre-authorise my card with them and being told it wasn't working, informed them that I DIDN'T have an alternative card. Then two days later I had £78 removed from my account by them so all along my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex M
theburrow, Owner at The Burrow, responded to this review

Dear Alex, You booked a room through Booking.com. You were advised that it is our policy to preauthorise your card. We tried to preauthorise your card but this was declined. We asked you to supply another card and once again this was declined. We asked you if you intended to honour your reservation. You stated that you did not have...

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarxien
5.2 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,256 reviews
3.6 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
3,630 reviews
4.8 km away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 2 in Birzebbuga
87 reviews
4.8 km away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
6.6 km away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Burrow is a charming House of Character situated in the village core of Tarxien, located in a peaceful setting ideal for the single traveller, couples and families with children. Good location just a bus ride from the central area and the best attractions. Walking distance from the famous Tarxien Temples and minutes away from other pre historic sites and lovely beaches. At the end of the day, you can rest in a quiet and cool courtyard with other international guests and taste genuine home made food. Warm hospitality from your hosts will make you feel welcome and at home. Rich continental breakfast served in the period breakfast room or bright courtyard. The Burrow features comfortable bedrooms with the option of an en-suite bathroom. There are two large living rooms with satellite TV and another living room for the quiet reader.Children and families or small groups are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Burrow

Address: No. 3 Alley 4, St. Mary Street, Tarxien, Island of Malta TXN 1740, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Tarxien
Price Range: €46 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burrow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Burrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burrow staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Burrow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else! We had an excellent night in a five-star hotel the previous night for only 40€ more, but worth a 1000 more!”
 of 5 bubbles 556helenev, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A personal vehicle is a must. But, then, I wonder about parking...”
 of 5 bubbles sablorange, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For gods sake make sure you get the en-suite if you cannot then my advice is don't book”
 of 5 bubbles stephenpX9174FX, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the room off the breakfast room - I imagine it would be very noisy in the morning. I felt bad for the people staying in it.”
 of 5 bubbles KrisH87, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the suite!”
 of 5 bubbles 311lizr, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5