We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hitgeheim Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

In fairness to this lodge there are some positive aspects - mainly that the room was modern and clean and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately though our experience was largely negative the following reasons: 1. Service is not good or friendly (except for our safari guide who was great). 2. Because you're in the middle of nowhere (or that's how...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Durkey1
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights in a beautiful chalet with gorgeous views. Rooms are spacious, clean, airconditioned, equipped with everything you could wish for, and extremely comfy beds. The food in the restaurant was delicious and of superb quality. We felt very comfy, the staff were attentive and seemed to know what you wanted without you needing to say it. Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AstridandGary
United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival at Hitgeheim we didn't feel as though we had the warmest reception. We also felt as though we were slightly mid-sold from the pictures online, the rooms were dated and the toilet had a very bad smell - not ideal in respect to the price you pay. I feel you could get a lot better for your money...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank frankie014
hitge60, Owner at Hitgeheim Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frankie014, this is amazing, the couple you do the most and your best for, who Should Rate you 10 out of 5 give you a two. They say the highest trees catch the most wind but now i even have to put out the fires. We accept the low rating and they say cowboys do not cry. But this,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I would highly recommend staying in Hitgeheim Lodges. We were absolutely spoiled. Lodges are beautiful. Views are excellent. Food was very nice. It is located in the center of an African bush with beautiful vegetation all around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Lovely place with beutifull views from the top of a ridge. Service and rooms are very nice. Food was nothing special and little disappointing even. it took us an extra 1 and half hour per game drive to reach and het back form the addo park. That is a lot and maybe a bit too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aryan v
hitge60, Owner at Hitgeheim Country Lodge, responded to this review

Aryan, I thank you for this review. You and all others can Google Map the route and you will see we are 22 km from the main gate. We go slower than normal because the guests normally enjoy the different landscape and driving through the orchards. In extreme peak season the held-up at the Addo Main Gate can be up...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Hitgeheim 2 nights. During the day 2 safari's: Addo and Schotia. Addo was perfect, good guide and we saw a lion next to its kill. Schotia however felt like a zoo, although the evening with dinner at Schotia was very good. Hitgeheim itself is very nice located with beautiful views. The cottages are wonderful and well maintained. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
hitge60, Owner at Hitgeheim Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marc and all reading this I am extremely delighted about the awesome start to the review with everything perfect. I thank you and we are extremely proud on what we created and it is a huge honour to share Hitgeheim Country Lodge with awesome people from all corners of the world and life. Mind boggling to the rest review....

68bertrande
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Very nice place that i will recommend to many people. The welcome and the people were very friendly. I recommend the safari day with the hotel and then the one with Scotia. I would stay there again...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 68bertrande
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

The lodge can be a bit hard to reach (we had to drive on gravel paths for a while), but the views are beautiful once we arrived. The bathroom has a private outdoor shower area, while there is a private patio to relax and enjoy the views! As for meals, the breakfast is delicious and cooked to order, while dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfred F
Essen, Germany
Reviewed 6 December 2016

this lodge is on a lovely location overlooking the Addo valley, each room with private terrace, high standard room facilities, a real african bathroom even with additional outside shower! Great dining terrace, wonderful breakfast. The pool is a little small, perfect place to have Africa feeling

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christianfP4245BG
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Although the price is some what high, it did not disappoint us. We had the cabin at the end of the path, whit a wonderful view. Large bathroom with a bathtub and outdoor shower. The food was amazing, as a chef myself, I went from the restaurant smiling. Although the waiters could freshen up on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bjarte L

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
3:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
9.0 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
17.6 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
395 reviews
11.4 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Woodall Country House and Spa
6.2 km away
Africanos Country Estate
38.3 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Price Range: €203 - €271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hitgeheim Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
petersfield
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hitgeheim Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have spectacular views.”
 of 5 bubbles Dancingthroughchaos1, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have just been refurbished and are modern, in a lodge setting”
 of 5 bubbles amandad699, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“best views in rooms near the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles ceciliam126, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1 has a great outlook”
 of 5 bubbles dmb68, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms come in the form of individual bungalows - v quiet, v private”
 of 5 bubbles Joannanolan, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5