We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Hotel

Save
Share
Chester Road, Kelsall, Chester CW6 0RR England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$204
US$181
View deal
SAVE US$23
Free cancellation until 10/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
HurbUS$204
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (132)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We have 16 new beautifully appointed modern boutique bedrooms all with en-suite, tea coffee making facilities, flat screen television, Free wifi, bathrobes and daily maid service.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
566Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 398
  • 115
  • 30
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
susyq1967 wrote a review Apr 2021
Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom474 contributions56 helpful votes
And boy, were we ready for it. So I researched some pubs around the area and settled on here as it had a good value Sunday lunch. 3 courses for £20. We were seated immediately and drinks order taken. Then we waited... And waited... Before asking for a menu. Surprised not to be given a Sunday lunch menu and asked about it. She went off to manager and returned saying... "limited menu so that offer not available". Yet all the items were on the regular menu and available!!! Oh well, guess they needed to claw some money back. Food was OK. Hot and a decent if not huge portion.. But beef was a little overcooked and drying out. Gravy was lovely. Dessert (same as set menu), was a disappointment. Very small scoop of ice cream. Sticky toffee pudding was overdone in microwave. You could tell by the texture. £55 for 2 mains, 2 desserts, 3 and a half pints, so not totally over the top. Service though was slow. Should not have to ask for menu and they went to take order from a table that arrived later than us first. However, staff were pleasant and given it was their first dining in service, I'd possibly be willing to go again when things settle down for them.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lou wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Have eaten here previously a couple of years back and enjoyed it so decided to order from the take away menu in lockdown. Spent over £40 on 4 meals, 2 fish and chips and 2 meals for the kids. Really really disappointed. The fish and chips were both oven frozen meals , I could have gone the co-op and got a bag of chips and frozen fish and put them in the oven for less than a fiver. Kids had mash which was like instant mash. Threw 3/4 of it away, only ate what we did because we were starving. Don’t know if it’s been taken over by new management or they just haven’t got a chef in atm but they really shouldent be charging over £10 a meal for this frozen garbage.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roy Oak, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2021
Thank you for leaving a review of your Experience when you ordered a takeaway. I have read your review carefully there are certain things you mention that lead me to conclude one of two things. Either this is not The Royal Oak in Kelsall or that this review is written with malice or prejudice or both. The reasons are as follows: 2 Fish and Chips and two kids meals would not have cost over £ 40 as you state in your review as our very popular Fish and Chips cost £10 per portion and our kids meals cost no more than £ 5 and so you would not be charged over £ 40 as stated in in your review. We do not serve mashed potato with our kids meals and had we done so it would be Homemade as is all food served at The Royal Oak in Kelsall. To refer to our food as frozen garbage on a platform such as this when our telephone number is clearly stated on our website/menus . Had I personally had an issue with food quality from where ever I had purchased the first thing I would have done is to contact either by Telephone or email the establishment in question with my grievance to gain a response from the management, neither of which you have done, but rather anonymously hidden here on Trip Advisor.
Read more
Tilly173 wrote a review Oct 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom32 contributions37 helpful votes
Our travel plans changed to be wary of Covid, so picked a small countryside B&B to do some walking along the Sandstone Trail over the weekend. Great hotel, attentive staff, it was clean, felt Covid safe and the food was excellent. The food far exceeded expectations! Only improvement I would say is the some of the furniture in room is looking a bit tired n could do with an upgrade. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Christine F wrote a review Oct 2020
Warwickshire37 contributions16 helpful votes
We’ve stayed here many times now and it’s our preferred choice whenever visiting Chester. It’s 15 minutes drive from Cheshire Oaks and the same to Chester City Centre. The hotel rooms are lovely and always clean. We upgraded to have a larger room. All Covid restrictions are wholly in place with signage clear. The food here is always fantastic and the service equally as good. If you’re looking for a great place to stay or eat (or both) with a more personal experience you won’t be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
robert c wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
All staff very sociable and seems place getting going again after pandemic situation. Stayed two nights in an upgraded room which was very spacious with very nice bathroom .Nicely placed for local walks and receiption will supply handy info for these. Would have liked to have seen waiting staff possibily wearing face masks whilst serving food.However would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: upgraded room at front has bright street light..not good for sleepers requiring a dark room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChesterKelsall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Oak Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Oak Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Oulton Park Circuit (7.6 km), Crocky Trail (6.3 km), and J F Polo Academy (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Oak Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Oak Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore, Cornichon at The Gunnery, and The Hornsmill at Helsby.
Is The Royal Oak Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kelsall.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Oak Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beeston Castle (1.7 km).