We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Enjoyed 2 nights at this lovely Hotel. Super location, in a pretty, quiet and historic village but still handy for all local attractions. Room was very nice, with really comfy bed, fluffy towels and lots of nice little touches. The restaurant was outstanding and good value too. We had 2 dinners and 2 super breakfasts. The staff are well-trained, cheerful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Bracknell
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Stayed one night in this delightful hotel. Amazing to find such a lovely place in rural location. Very good bedroom with en suite.Whole building has been given a very thorough make-over. Excellent dinner and breakfast and very warm reception from gentleman owner. Would be very happy to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjg4321
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Typically we had failed to book a table for dinner on a Saturday night whilst we were staying in Sherbourne but this accommodating establishment came to our rescue and managed to book us in for dinner. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was freind,y, the bar staff and waiting staff were great, food was excellent and the price was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

We come here on a regular basis as it's one of our favourite places to eat. We were disappointed with our 2 Chicken Caesar salads - tired lettuce, too many croutons and tasteless chicken - the Fish Cakes didn't fare much better - dry and not a lot of fish. A poor show won't be back on a Monday!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Supersoozeh
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Excellent in all respects. Great service , varied and compact menu, rooms great with fresh quality linen etc. We had dinner and the venue was busy but the service was first class. Great, locally sourced and cooked ingredients, coupled with knowledgeable and friendly service - all under the watchful interest of the owner. Couldn't fault the overall experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
Stalbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We came here for lunch out of the blue, they had a spare table. Bar area is nice and bright. Lunch itself was incredible. Can't really fault it at all. We loved it so much we cam back to try it for dinner which lived up to what we were expecting. We might be regulars. Poor bank balance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel J
Tony L, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a lovely lunch and dinner with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

A friend and I happened across The Kings Arms whilst visiting a Somerset Arts Week venue. We only wanted a snack but were seduced by the excellent menu. The food was very good indeed, especially the jospered ham, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. It was surprising to find such gem in a small village and we will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diamondlil62
Tony L, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable lunch and rated our facilities so highly. We very much hope to see you again soon.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 September 2015

This is one of my most enjoyable stays in the UK. Situated in a small town it definitely provides that country side welcome and homely feeling. My room was very comfortable and surprisingly beautiful and stocked with free water and coffee/tea. Wi-fi is also free and of good quality. Breakfast (full-English) was excellent. The town and surrounding towns and roads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mstt659
Tony L, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the room and breakfast as we take great pride in our hotel and service. Hopefully we can welcome you back to The King's Arms in the future.

Swansea, Wales
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Great Meal - you get what you pay for. We had RIbeye steak and i had dauphinouise potatoes and my wife had chips - a rocket and parmesan shaving salad and delicious pepper sauce. 2 nice lagers - but then all lagers are nice. Lovely cold still water. Salted Caramel Tart with homemade ginger ice cream. Apple Strudel with vanilla...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeyntracy
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us and many thanks for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the food as we take great pride in our restaurant and service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Recently visited the Kings Arms for the third time and was extremely disappointed. Whilst the food was good the menu was more or less the same as the last time we visited. The manager behind the bar, a fairly tall man sporting glasses was extremely rude, not only was he very abrupt and most unhelpful, but he hardly seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqui P
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you were unhappy with your visit to The Kings Arms. We normally provide a warm welcome to our guests and we are very sorry that you felt unwelcome. We appreciate you bringing the matter to our attention. The issues raised have been addressed and the staff member in question has been spoken with. I hope...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
565 reviews
31.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
632 reviews
7.3 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
210 reviews
13.2 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: €113 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay in the hotel, ate in restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles teresaa219, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
 of 5 bubbles 667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room we had (number 1) had great views but was a little noisy but not obtrusive”
 of 5 bubbles chemics27, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ten lovely rooms; all fitted to a high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles adrianl232, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay