We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Recently visited the Kings Arms for the third time and was extremely disappointed. Whilst the food was good the menu was more or less the same as the last time we visited. The manager behind the bar, a fairly tall man sporting glasses was extremely rude, not only was he very abrupt and most unhelpful, but he hardly seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqui P
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you were unhappy with your visit to The Kings Arms. We normally provide a warm welcome to our guests and we are very sorry that you felt unwelcome. We appreciate you bringing the matter to our attention. The issues raised have been addressed and the staff member in question has been spoken with. I hope...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

First visit in over 2 years after a couple of disappointing meals. Very humid during out visit, subsequently the ceiling was covered with flies. Decided to try the Lawrence cider, was very traditional, tasted like the home brew mug granddad used to make needless to say one was well enough! For starters we had the antipasti and the soup, both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honey H
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and many thanks for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the pork as we take great pride in our restaurant. We'll make sure that our service team gets more training so we can provide a better service. We very much look forward to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Stopped of at the Kings arms on business,the hotel and rooms are well presented and the restaurant serves good food,so all in all a pleasant stay,but not a criticism of the hotel,but the lack of mobile coverage in the area,makes it feel like you have taken a step back into the Middle Ages.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank illuminate322
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and rated our facilities so highly. We agree that the mobile coverage is unfortunately not the best but very much hope to see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We recently stayed at the King's Arms following the end of a stay in Sherborne and we all agreed that it was one of the nicest stays in an inn that any of us had had in a long time. The rooms were nice, clean and well equipped - all had a television, kettle (with lots of tea, coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is great to know that you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again in the near future

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We had an overnight stay here recently and had such a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. The room was perfect and the food exceptional. The location is great, such a lovely place to visit. We will definitely stay again, thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen M
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our rooms and food as we take great pride in our hotel and service.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2015 and couldn't have wished for better. I've had the pleasure of staying here before on business and it was a pleasure to go back. All of the staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to accommodate you. I travel frequently alone on business and dislike the chain hotels, so this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely feedback and recommendation. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxed atmosphere for guests and as a place to unwind. We are delighted that you are so happy with each visit. We hope there will be many more to come!

Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We visited the Kings Arms on a Wednesday evening. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival. We had pre booked, so once we had our drinks we were shown straight to our table. We sat to the left of the bar, where there are around 7 tables. A very comfortable atmosphere. All tables were taken. The menu had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Tony L, Front Office Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us and many thanks for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the food as we take great pride in our restaurant and service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

I stay here recently for two nights, visiting this area for the first time. On arriving we were made to feel most unwelcome, it was as if we were keeping someone up, even though I called in advance to say we would be arriving around 10pm after driving 5 hrs from Yorkshire. I gave the gentleman who checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rachel l
Tony L, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you were unhappy with your visit to The Kings Arms. We normally provide a warm welcome to our guests and we are very sorry that you felt unwelcome. Our check in time is 2.30pm but like in your case we always try to provide an early check if needed. We can only hope that you'll...

Reviewed 21 June 2015

family get together, Sunday lunchtime on Father's Day , truly a destination pub / inn. Different meals including children's and all were first class , also superb local real ale. Value for the top quality, no wonder it was very busy . Been several times before and standards always high .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roamingbarry
Tony L, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us. It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the food as we take great pride in our restaurant and service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The King's Arms in the future

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We stayed here on the way back from a few days in Devon, having spent an afternoon exploring Sherborne (beautiful town, lots to see) and found Charlton Harthorne a picturesque village with the Kings Arms at the centre and a useful general store next door. The Kings Arms was rebuilt several years ago we were told and now offers a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KennethB23
Tony L, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is great to know that you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again in the near future

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
623 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
207 reviews
17.6 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
325 reviews
31.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: €128 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
 of 5 bubbles 667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room we had (number 1) had great views but was a little noisy but not obtrusive”
 of 5 bubbles chemics27, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ten lovely rooms; all fitted to a high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles adrianl232, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 10 is a handicap bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles lucybellcargill, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay