We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Start your review of Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited and staid here in a spa cabin for 2 nights for a wedding. We dined in the restaurant the night prior to the wedding and it was superb. They served champagne not sparkling and the sweet garlic prawns with rice was DELICIOUS. The wedding food wasn't the greatest but hey it's a wedding feeding 150 people so that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djtd1104
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our son's wedding here, beautifully organised by my daughter in law. It was a real treat and added to the whole occasion that family and friends could stay in a great choice of accommodation. We had the River Cottage and although a little dated it was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The air conditioning was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NessnJem
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the atmosphere even though it rained. Staff very friendly and in all a good weekend away. Café has good coffee. However, the road in needs a lot of work - very very rough and needs urgent upgrade. Stayed in our own motorhome on powered camp site which needed a little up keep - as too muddy when it rained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
North Coast NSW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Did not enjoy our 1 night here & felt it was well overpriced in all areas. Def not 4 star. Uncomfotable beds & a foam single mattress - not good enough for over $200 a night just for 2 singles. TV older than my teen daughter. Over $5 for a take-away (strong) coffee??? May be ok for camping (lovely river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryatbruns
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Riverwood downs was a fantastic camping experience-the facilities are what you would expect of a camping ground, no shared kitchen or hot showers. Riverside camping was lovely as we could swim in the river, although it was a little bit unclean. No cell connection either, it was good for a short getaway but i wouldn't stay longer than 3-5 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilyw1228
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My husband and I travelled from Brisbane to Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort just after Christmas 2016. My husband had looked on their website and thought it looked like a lovely place to visit and stay for a short holiday. Because we already had our accommodation booked, we did not arrive at our destination until approx 2:30pm. We were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We camped near the bunkhouse on lovely green grass. This area was open and really lovely as we were able to be in a seperate area to other campers with our group of 5 families but next to oval and extra amenities which were open due to holiday season. We left the powered site which we originally booked as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie_272727
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Finally a place that is actually dog friendly!! I give it full stars for this aspect. I feel like not enough places cater for our dogs who are a part of our family! If you don't like dogs- this isn't the place for you! We stayed in the cabins and were there on one of the hottest weeks. Although it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mishysnees
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to riverwood downs and how disappointed were we all. The powered camp site was bumpy dusty no grass and small and we were persecuted by millions of flies the whole of our 5 days. I know it's Christmas but this is the hospitality industry and they need to staff accordingly as the place was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cminors
KathT4994, Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi cminors, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay over Christmas as much as you have on previous stays. Thanks for your feedback on the condition of your camp site. As part of the maintenance of the garden and grounds we routinely re-turf the high-use areas of Riverwood Downs...

Reviewed 6 January 2017

My family stayed here in a camper during some very hot 40 degree days. The river was lovely to escape the heat, busier than other places but still nice. The powered sites were scattered amongst some cabins, and the trees here were refuge from the blistering sun. Some other campers weren't as lucky to have shade. I like dogs in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lou88009
KathT4994, Manager at Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Lou88009. Yes, that certainly was a heat wave! Glad to hear you found an escape from the heat in the mountain river. Yes, like teenagers, even the most well-mannered four-legged family members needs some guidance from their people. If you visit us again please know that you're welcome to pop into reception and let me know...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkerai
34.3 km away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
42 reviews
16.1 km away
Bluegums Cabins
Bluegums Cabins
#2 of 4 in Dungog
49 reviews
16.9 km away
Curlew Cottage B&B
Curlew Cottage B&B
#2 of 6 in Dungog
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 km away
Salisbury Lodge
Salisbury Lodge
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
28 reviews
34.1 km away
Barrington Wilderness Cottages
Barrington Wilderness Cottages
#700 of 1,929 in New South Wales
30 reviews
29.0 km away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

Address: 311 Upper Monkerai Rd, Monkerai, New South Wales 2415, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Monkerai
Price Range: €136 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Hotel Monkerai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Newcastle, Australia
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No motel units are good - possibly have a look at the cabins but I would definitely want to inspect before you say "yes".”
 of 5 bubbles 284debs, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book at restaurant - they don't assume that because you're staying there, you're going to need to eat!”
 of 5 bubbles R2279YOamyd, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can only comment on bunkhouse accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles karentK6162VV, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For couples, the river cottages are perfect. For families the rooms or cabins, or pitch a tent or bring your caravan.”
 of 5 bubbles 939leanneh, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you're not keen on dining in for every meal, a cabin is better. The rooms have kitchenette only - bar fridge and tea/coffee”
 of 5 bubbles DaniTheKlutz, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5