My partner and I booked into Le Jardin Tropical for two weeks in May/June 2017 as a base to explore Basse Terre on our honeymoon. We technically stayed at the beginning of the low-season, and there were few other guests at the property, though I'm told it can get very busy in high season. First of all, there's lots of good things to say about the property. The bungalow we rented was lovely; it was mostly really nicely furnished, had a lovely bathroom and excellent A/C. The outdoor kitchen was a real highlight. The gardens were kept very well tended and the views out to Ilet Pigeon and the sea might be some of the best on the island. So why the three star review? It was mostly the staff and service we received. We were grateful to be received late to our accommodation when we arrived around 9pm from the airport. However nothing was explained to us in terms of how things worked, which would have helped avoid problems later. We were shocked, after an early start one day which meant we missed breakfast at the complex and neglected to tell the staff, to be told that "that's it, you can't eat breakfast here any more" ! (She did eventually backtrack on that statement). We were disappointed still with the breakfast itself, which I didn't think was deserving of its' 8 euro/day pp price tag, and that we probably would have got our own breakfast in had we known it was a supplementary cost (not explained to us). We were further disappointed that, over a weekend, there was no fresh fruit as part of breakfast, seemingly because the staff had not bothered to go to the shops. No big deal surely? Well it kind of was to us, because as vegans there was only that, cereal and toast on offer. In knowing we were vegans, and it was our honeymoon, the management declined in a pre-trip email to get anything in for us, like non-dairy milk. But still put out milk every day, even when we were the only guests. Which I guess didn't make me feel all that valued. Other small things which we weren't happy with - having to ask for fresh linen/towels/soap etc and those things not materialising, or having run out. The bar never being open aside from the first few days. That kind of thing. All small things in isolation that probably wouldn't have bothered me that much, had I not got the general feeling that since we were the only guests for much of the stay, the staff had decided to just treat it as a bit of a holiday. I STILL probably would have given a four star rating had the reply from the management, when I presented this opinion, not essentially been: "we're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but for the price you paid you received an excellent breakfast and essentially the service of a four star hotel, and why would you say these things when you told us you might come back in the future" (maybe our English over-politeness to blame). I've never had to make my own bed or argue about eating breakfast at a four star hotel, but whatever. Maybe this place is much better-run in high season, but I'd advise staying elsewhere in low season.…
Sweet place, high on a hill overlooking the Ilets Pigeon, surrounded by mature tropical trees and plants. Very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful sunsets. Don't expect much interaction or advice from the management but do take advantage of the delicious and reasonably priced meals prepared by Ruby and delivered to your bungalow. We enjoyed meeting other guests at the spacious lounge and pool area during breakfast. The breakfast itself wasn't much of a bargain. If you don't want to mingle with others, there is a nearby Carrefour where you can buy whatever you need and prepare it in your own small kitchen. The place was very quiet during the rest of the day as everyone was out doing their own activities.
I would recommend Le Jardin Tropical for people (couples and family alike) who want to spend time relaxing by looking at the sea, eating and cooking outdoors in all simplicity! Every bungalow is spacious and has a sea view and a really well equipped outdoors kitchen where you can either prepare food yourself or get it “delivered” by the excellent service traiteur that is on offer at the reception : honest local dishes rightly priced. The good size swimming pool is a bonus and never too busy when we were there. You can have a barbecue by its side if you wish. Staff were helpful though in no way overbearing. Overall a relaxing place where to stay in Bouillante (Pigeon). You will need a car, like in the rest of Guadeloupe.
We were only there for one night. No one was there to show us around, and restaurants were closed when we arrived. we were so hungry. Make sure you know where to go because it can be confusing for taxi drivers at night. Very nice place, and clean rooms. It would have been more pleasant to have someone tell us how to order food at night, or have a phone to use to order. But a very nice place.
The propriator and his employees were nice. The swimming pool was nice and the view over the sea wonderful. There was a lot of choice for breakfast. We could even order the dinner to be served to the room's terrace. It tasted well. Room had a kitchenette, very useful as, in November, all restaurants in the neighbourhood were closed in the evening.