We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Jardin Tropical

Save
Share
Commune de Bouillante, Bouillante 97125 Guadeloupe
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Bouillante
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Swimup bar
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
116Reviews6Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 42
  • 12
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
KPrilla wrote a review Jul 2017
Newcastle, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
My partner and I booked into Le Jardin Tropical for two weeks in May/June 2017 as a base to explore Basse Terre on our honeymoon. We technically stayed at the beginning of the low-season, and there were few other guests at the property, though I'm told it can get very busy in high season. First of all, there's lots of good things to say about the property. The bungalow we rented was lovely; it was mostly really nicely furnished, had a lovely bathroom and excellent A/C. The outdoor kitchen was a real highlight. The gardens were kept very well tended and the views out to Ilet Pigeon and the sea might be some of the best on the island. So why the three star review? It was mostly the staff and service we received. We were grateful to be received late to our accommodation when we arrived around 9pm from the airport. However nothing was explained to us in terms of how things worked, which would have helped avoid problems later. We were shocked, after an early start one day which meant we missed breakfast at the complex and neglected to tell the staff, to be told that "that's it, you can't eat breakfast here any more" ! (She did eventually backtrack on that statement). We were disappointed still with the breakfast itself, which I didn't think was deserving of its' 8 euro/day pp price tag, and that we probably would have got our own breakfast in had we known it was a supplementary cost (not explained to us). We were further disappointed that, over a weekend, there was no fresh fruit as part of breakfast, seemingly because the staff had not bothered to go to the shops. No big deal surely? Well it kind of was to us, because as vegans there was only that, cereal and toast on offer. In knowing we were vegans, and it was our honeymoon, the management declined in a pre-trip email to get anything in for us, like non-dairy milk. But still put out milk every day, even when we were the only guests. Which I guess didn't make me feel all that valued. Other small things which we weren't happy with - having to ask for fresh linen/towels/soap etc and those things not materialising, or having run out. The bar never being open aside from the first few days. That kind of thing. All small things in isolation that probably wouldn't have bothered me that much, had I not got the general feeling that since we were the only guests for much of the stay, the staff had decided to just treat it as a bit of a holiday. I STILL probably would have given a four star rating had the reply from the management, when I presented this opinion, not essentially been: "we're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but for the price you paid you received an excellent breakfast and essentially the service of a four star hotel, and why would you say these things when you told us you might come back in the future" (maybe our English over-politeness to blame). I've never had to make my own bed or argue about eating breakfast at a four star hotel, but whatever. Maybe this place is much better-run in high season, but I'd advise staying elsewhere in low season.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Helene wrote a review Jan 2017
Baltimore, MD276 contributions60 helpful votes
Sweet place, high on a hill overlooking the Ilets Pigeon, surrounded by mature tropical trees and plants. Very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful sunsets. Don't expect much interaction or advice from the management but do take advantage of the delicious and reasonably priced meals prepared by Ruby and delivered to your bungalow. We enjoyed meeting other guests at the spacious lounge and pool area during breakfast. The breakfast itself wasn't much of a bargain. If you don't want to mingle with others, there is a nearby Carrefour where you can buy whatever you need and prepare it in your own small kitchen. The place was very quiet during the rest of the day as everyone was out doing their own activities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from lejardintropical, Propriétaire at Le Jardin Tropical
Responded 8 May 2017
Thanks you
Read more
Fendii16 wrote a review Apr 2016
London, United Kingdom23 contributions14 helpful votes
I would recommend Le Jardin Tropical for people (couples and family alike) who want to spend time relaxing by looking at the sea, eating and cooking outdoors in all simplicity! Every bungalow is spacious and has a sea view and a really well equipped outdoors kitchen where you can either prepare food yourself or get it “delivered” by the excellent service traiteur that is on offer at the reception : honest local dishes rightly priced. The good size swimming pool is a bonus and never too busy when we were there. You can have a barbecue by its side if you wish. Staff were helpful though in no way overbearing. Overall a relaxing place where to stay in Bouillante (Pigeon). You will need a car, like in the rest of Guadeloupe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Monicas_Adventures wrote a review Mar 2014
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada28 contributions17 helpful votes
We were only there for one night. No one was there to show us around, and restaurants were closed when we arrived. we were so hungry. Make sure you know where to go because it can be confusing for taxi drivers at night. Very nice place, and clean rooms. It would have been more pleasant to have someone tell us how to order food at night, or have a phone to use to order. But a very nice place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Drole_de_zebre wrote a review Oct 2013
Neuchâtel, Switzerland975 contributions213 helpful votes
The propriator and his employees were nice. The swimming pool was nice and the view over the sea wonderful. There was a lot of choice for breakfast. We could even order the dinner to be served to the room's terrace. It tasted well. Room had a kitchenette, very useful as, in November, all restaurants in the neighbourhood were closed in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
CaribbeanGuadeloupeBasse-Terre IslandBouillante
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Jardin Tropical
Which popular attractions are close to Le Jardin Tropical?
Nearby attractions include Zoo de Guadeloupe (Parc des Mamelles) (3.4 km), La Maison du Cacao (6.2 km), and Route de la Traversee (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Jardin Tropical?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Le Jardin Tropical?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Jardin Tropical?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Jardin Tropical?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunset B, L'Eddy's Papillon, and Le Reflet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Jardin Tropical?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Jardin Tropical?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Domaine de l'Habitation la Grivelière (10.3 km), Domaine de Séverin (15.6 km), and Habitation Beausoleil (15.8 km).
Does Le Jardin Tropical have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.