We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp

Save
Share
63410 Generals Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (614)
Room & Suite (125)
Pool & Beach (50)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
ALL-INCLUSIVE RUSTIC MOUNTAIN LODGE INSIDE OF SEQUOIA & KINGS CANYON NATIONAL PARKS, CA - Buffet meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate! Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Rooming options include newly-built Forest Cabins and Lake View Suites with private baths & decks, Vintage Lodge Rooms & Suites all with private baths. Rustic Cabins with a wood-burning stove and shared bathhouse. Property features an outdoor hot tub open year-round, and a seasonal pool, private lake, and hiking trails directly on property. Lodge is open year-round.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Archery
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Public wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Canoeing
Hiking
Ski rentals
Ski school
Evening entertainment
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
799Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 383
  • 232
  • 80
  • 43
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dorraine S wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Fantastic getaway to the snow! Snowshoed to Baldy. Great view! Loved our Lakeview room. Appreciated the "warming hut" at the hot tub for changing out of wet bathing suit before going back to our room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
mmonreal wrote a review Feb 2021
Orange County, CA USA89 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Thanks again for a great adventure Montecito! We have been to Montecito 8 years in a row during the summer but this was out first time during the winter. We live in SoCal so we could have gone to big bear or mountain high, but we made the drive to Montecito instead. The staff is the best!!! They had plenty of gear for rent and it was so affordable. Snowshoes, skies, snowboards, helmets, boots you name it. They had it here and we loved that the lessons were also very inexpensive. The food was all included and we really enjoyed our time at Montecito. Because of COVID-19 and county guidelines we were limited where we could eat but that is out of their control. We normally enjoy eating our meals with other guest but that is going to be on hold until the state starts to open up again. Thank you Montecito! We love you and hope this COVID mess fizzles out sooner rather than later.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rene R wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
I booked a trip for my small family and another family member did the same for there’s . We were told that this would be one of the best trips we’ve taken. It was sadly not because our checkin was at 4pm(nearly missed the whole day). We were notified that a escort would meet us at a certain location because the roads were dangerous. We showed up early around noon and were told the escort would be there at 4:30pm which they weren’t an hour and a half passed and finally our escort arrived! Not only did it take a very long time to drive up to the lodge but when we arrived (dinner time) we were starving and immediately went to check in and grab dinner but the service attendant who was serving us was extremely rude when it was there fault for coming to escort us late! None of the activities were available so we found ourselves wondering around. I have already messaged someone from the lodge and haven’t heard back. I’m very disappointed for the price I paid. This picture shows us patiently waiting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rene R, While we are sorry that you were disappointed in your trip to visit our lodge, I must point out that you came to visit while California was under the "Shelter-in-Place" order imposed by the State of California. While we had permission to be open by the State, the order prohibited us from offering organized activities to our guests due to safety concerns. However, it was snowing during your visit, so there was access to snow play and snow sport equipment rentals, along with free access to sleds and snow tubes. We have clearly provided changes to our operations on our Website on our Covid-19 Safety page for those guests who are traveling during the pandemic. We have had no cases of Covid-to-date, either our staff or our guests, and are proud of our safety protocols in this regard. I would also like to point out that our standard check-in time is 4:00pm, as stated on your reservation, when the road is open all the way to Montecito. 4pm is the standard check-in time of all hotels inside the park gates. During the winter, the National Park Service can close the road to Montecito at any time due to dangerous conditions, such as ice and snow, and sometimes, just in anticipation of a big storm. This was the case during your visit when we were expecting 1 1/2 to 2 feet of snow. When the park service closes the road, we offer an escort service so our guests can come in to the lodge safely. We ask guests to arrive at the Grant Grove Market parking lot at 4:30pm in preparation for our escorts scheduled arrival time at 5pm. However, when there is an active winter storm, such as during your arrival, our escort staff will often have to drive slowly for the safety of our team and our guests. Sometimes, we will have to remove hazards or do some additional plowing (with Park Service permission) to make the road safe for our escort. We do state this information on our "Winter Travel Advisory" page of our website and ask for our guests' patience during storms especially. You can find this info on our "Winter Trip Info" and Montecito Escorts FAQs" pdfs on our website. On these pages we suggest that people be patient, bring games, food/snacks, blankets, in case of a snow storm, which might delay our escort. We realize that many people coming to visit us are not familiar with the dangers of winter driving in the Sierra, which is why we provide this escort service for free when the road is closed. I do apologize if the staff member serving dinner was rude to you. That shouldn't have happened as our staff is expected to treat all of our guests respectfully. Our staff does have an excellent reputation for customer service, but, occasionally, one of our staff may be very stressed or having a bad day (such as during these particularly stressful times of the pandemic/shelter-in-place/winter snowstorm). I apologize for this shortcoming, but do ask for our guests to be cognizant of the very real stress that essential workers are under during this pandemic, especially during the most recent post-holiday surge. I have checked with our reservations staff and we did not receive an email or a Facebook dm from anyone complaining during the month of January, nor do we have a reservation from anyone under the name "Rene" with a last name beginning with "R." I am wondering if perhaps you sent a DM to the wrong Facebook site? Our official Facebook site is: MontecitoSequoiaLodge&SummerFamilyCamp. Rene R., again my apologies for your disappointment. Most of our guests have been complimentary of the experience they have had at our lodge despite the challenges presented to us during the pandemic, but especially during the California Shelter-in-Place. Many of the complaints you have expressed are due to things out of our control due to weather and the Shelter-in-place order. I do think if you had traveled to visit us during non-pandemic times, you would have enjoyed your stay. I believe our staff has been doing an amazing job under very stressful circumstances, however I do again apologize if one of them was rude to you. Wishing you all the best. Feel free to send us an email or dm us on our Facebook page if you would like to discuss further. Sincerely, T. Dally Owner Family Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp I wanted to point out, however, that you came to visit us during the Shelter-in-place order imposed to
Read more
Sherry G wrote a review Jan 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Is my favorite place, 100% good, excellent, amazing. If you looking for place where your family have a good memories, this is the perfect place Si buscas un lugar donde llenar tu familia de buenos recuerdos es este el lugar perfecto
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review 758sherryg! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you and your family return to build more happy memories! Warmly, T. Dally Owner Family
Read more
Annabell O wrote a review Jan 2021
Atascadero, California114 contributions40 helpful votes
This was our second stay at Montecito Sequoia, and our whole family loves it there. Our room was in a separate building, with the door leading right onto a snow-covered patio. Within the lodge itself everyone was taking every precaution to be Covid-safe. The included meals are served cafeteria-style right now due to health regulations (instead of the usual buffet), and were fresh and delicious, including vegetarian options. Sledding on the hill right behind the lodge was great fun, and it took us only about 20 minutes to drive to the General Grant giant sequoia grove in Kings Canyon National Park. Ended my birthday in the hot tub with a view of the snow-covered mountains - it's always such a treat to get away to the lodge for a while!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Sugarpine building is separate from the main lodge, which makes it quiet and more private....
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Dally, Owner at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much Annabell O! We are so glad that you enjoyed the sledding hill and a dip in the outdoor hot tub for your birthday!!! Sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate. We hope you come back for years to come!! Happy belated birthday! Cheers, T. Dally Owner Family
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$156 - US$357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montecito sequoia hotel sequoia and kings canyon national park, montecito sequoia lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp?
Nearby attractions include Congress Trail (0.8 km), Hospital Rock (0.8 km), and Redwood Canyon Trail (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.