We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grande Denali Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Grande Denali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 682: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There aren't many choices when visiting Denali National Park so you take what you can get. The Princess Cruise Line has a beautiful newer hotel in the town but we did not cruise Princess, therefore, couldn't stay there. Not sure how that works if you're traveling alone & not affiliated with a cruise land package??? This facility is located on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twocapemay
Corona, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There is simply no reason to stay anywhere else if you are going to Denali. If you are going to the Denali National Park, you must take in all in, by staying here. Some may say it is old, but that is all part of the ambiance. This is not meant to be a gourmet, posh resort. It's a lodge,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Jean P
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jean P, thank you for your review. You summed it up very well - we are beautiful, rooms are warm and cozy with beautiful views and our staff is extremely helpful. Thank you for staying with us! Dee Dee

new jersey
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

A great location overlooking the valley. Easy access to local attractions and restaurants. A must place to visit traveling through the park! We hit the perfect time for weather and sightseeing. Services were conducted with a smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emtdpw
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear emtdpw, thanks so much for staying with us - there are many hotels surrounding Denali National Park but our Grande Denali Lodge is special because our staff is special. Thanks for complimenting them! Dee Dee

Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed in the Eagle Cabin. We loved the cabin; so cute and cozy. It had everything you could want or need and it was almost spotless. The view was out of this world beautiful from the bedroom, living room and especially the deck! But, considering the EXTREME high price, be warned there are problems. The only pleasant employee we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Allen B
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Allen B, first of all, let me be the second person to apologize to you. I am so very sorry for the greeting that you received upon check in. I do hope that you spoke with a supervisor or manager and told them of your concerns. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests - those arriving every...

Stanley, NC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The view from the restaurant of this lodge was fabulous. It is close to the entrance of Denali Park. The hotel itself is nothing out of the ordinary. it reminded me of "low budget" hotel, but we were paying resort fees. But, expect that in Alaska. The trip itself was phenomenal. Beautiful state. The hotel staff were not particularly friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELM48NC
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ELM48NC, I am quite concerned about the way our staff made you feel. We strive to provide warm and friendly service from the time you arrive until the time you leave. Could you please give me a few more particulars? It is important that we address each and every concern. Thanks so much - please email me at dobrien@denalialaska.com...

Cape Cod, MA
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Great views and very nice staff. The rooms, down a long straight hall are pretty much boxes on a cruise ship. Nothing special and no atmosphere in the rooms. The dining room was very nice and the bar stayed open for us at 11pm so we could eat after returning from Denali. Had the great pleasure of seeing the Northern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CapeCodTravler
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CapeCodTravler, thanks for staying with us. Great idea about the lighting as I have experienced the same thing when the lights are out. As with most hotels, we do have a corridor with rooms on both sides but I guarantee you our rooms as much more spacious than on any cruise ship! Thanks again for your suggestion concerning the...

Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as pay of our cruise package. On-site restaurant is over priced, even for Alaska. Sign out front of lobby said free shuttle yet it costs 5 dollars each way per person. The beds were terrible and one bed frame in our room was broken. Our room was cleaned but must have been the collection area for all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Samantha P, I am so sorry to hear about your stay BUT I am not sure that you stayed at our hotel. We do provide a complimentary shuttle and there is NEVER a charge so the $5 charge tends to make me believe that you did not stay with us. I am very sorry about the laundry, etc. That...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We were assigned to a suite (surprise) is building G. It appeared to have been just renovated. Beautifully done. Bed very comfortable. Private patio...surrounding views were awesome. Very quiet and the shuttle service around the facility was very handy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tipsgogo
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tipsgogo, thanks so much for the review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Alaska. I don't believe that you stayed at our lodge as we don't have a building "g" but I am certainly glad you enjoyed your stay! Dee Dee

Strathbogie, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I guess we were lucky, the views from our room were just great. Also the room was clean and had a very comfortable bed...so that is all good. Unfortunately the room was hot and stuffy with the only way to try to try to do anything about it was to open the window...and that didn't seem to make much difference....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david t
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Rafael is the man to see when you need exceptional service -- even when you're not staying at the hotel! He was on duty at the front desk when I arrived with a lunch voucher from another company. He listened as we described the kind of mid-day experience we were looking for, and he quickly arranged our transfer (with luggage)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmch491
Dee Dee O, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jmch491, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and to recognize Rafael. It seems that he offered just the kind of customer care that we pride ourselves on. Come see us again! Dee Dee

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
1.0 km away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
970 reviews
106.1 km away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
283 reviews
0.2 km away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#4 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
335 reviews
20.0 km away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
604 reviews
0.7 km away
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay above it all! Relaxation and adventure await you at the Grande Denali Lodge. Offering more than comfortable accommodations, you'll have a truly Alaskan experience! Proudly Alaska native owned and operated by Old Harbor Native Corporation, our lodge features an authentic design with log construction, vaulted ceilings and a warm stone fire place, spacious sleeping rooms with private baths, and the most breathtaking views in Denali.We offer a savory dining experience at Alpenglow Restaurant. Serving traditional Alaskan fare in a setting with up-paralleled views of the Denali Canyon. For an early morning pick-me-up visit Peak Espresso, known for it's specialty coffees and convenient gourmet grab-and-go food items as well as box lunches. Wind down your day of exploration by enjoying a signature cocktail perched on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain in Peak Spirits Lounge. A wide variety of optional tours are available in Denali National Park, and our Front Desk staff is available to answer question or make tour reservations on your behalf. Adventure is just steps away at the Grande Denali Lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grande Denali Lodge

Address: 238 Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: €394 - €435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Denali Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Denali Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Grande Denali
Grand Denali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grande Denali Lodge staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Grande Denali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you stay here, which I am not supporting, stay in a cabin, that has hot and cold water.”
 of 5 bubbles 772allenb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect to get your request.”
 of 5 bubbles ELM48NC, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a view of the valley. Otherwise an expensive view of a parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles CapeCodTravler, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest G102. Loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles Tipsgogo, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“make sure you get a room with a full view”
 of 5 bubbles davidtH4643FM, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay