We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (8)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“loweswater gold”(16 reviews)
“crummock water”(17 reviews)
“the pub”(25 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
147
71
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
147
71
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloweswater goldcrummock waterthe pubown brewerylake districtbeer gardenwinter offerwinter dealfillet steaklamb shoulderreal alepremium roomtraditional lakelandwalking weekenddrying roombeer festivalopen fire
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 235 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This place is a gem. Great atmosphere. Fantastic food - wholesome and tasty. Staff are welcoming and helpful. On a summer’s day, it is lovely to sit outside and take in the beautiful views; in the winter, inside is so cosy and warm. Dogs are...More

Thank Mandy P
Reviewed 2 days ago

We always visit the Kirkstile Inn when we're in the area to sample their excellent food and beer. This was our first time to actually stay. We had a family room not in the main building, but really good to have a sofa and chairs...More

Thank purplehiker
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in on a sunny Saturday afternoon for a spot of lunch and we were not disappointed. We sat outdoors, get a table if one is free as they quickly fill up with passing hikers. The dog is welcome, water bowls are dotted about. We...More

Thank ChocolateMonster101
Response from Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile InnResponded 1 week ago

Dear ChocolateMonster101, Thanks for your great feedback , I am delighted you enjoyed your food and hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards Andrea

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been coming here for years. Had our first disappointing Sunday lunch at the weekend. Beef was very fatty One roast tattie Veg wasn't prepared very well and swimming in water. What is going on? Have you changed Chef?More

1  Thank Mim216
Response from Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile InnResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mim216, I am so sorry that your Sunday Lunch did not meet your expectations on this occasion -as you all know this is not our usual standard of service. We have had no change to our kitchen team so please rest assured that your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Previously visited this Inn for evening meals in October 2017. Unfortunately this time the food wasn’t quite as good. We ate here 3 times this week and tried different meals just not as tasty as before.More

1  Thank Marilyn G
Response from Andrea Whigham I, General Manager at Kirkstile InnResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marilyn G, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the food as much as you have done previously, We have been very lucky to have the same kitchen team for a number of years and in general have very good feedback on...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Loweswater
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
addisonchris
5 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from alchrissie | Reviewed this property |
The Wheatsheaf at Lorton is definitely the nearest to The Kirkstile and they also have statics. Alternatively, I believe there are spaces behind The Bridge at Buttermere. Good luck with your search and enjoy.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The family room outside of the main inn was very quiet and spacious - definitely worth the extra."
Read review
"Room 8 is glorious with its own seating area away from the noise of the bar."
Read review
"Rooms in the main building have the best views"
Read review
"Would recommend the rooms inside the Inn as they have the best views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing