We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Doctor's Residence

    58 Derwent St, Naseby 9396, New Zealand
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (5)
    Dining (11)
    Room & Suite (6)
    Overview
    • Excellent96%
    • Very good4%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Suites
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (45)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 43 reviews

    Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

    Thank you Sherry. Your attention to detail is superb and makes for a most enjoyable stay. The homemade afternoon tea, warming log fire, private lounges, fresh flowers in every room. We will return!! The Old Doctor's Residence is a beautifully maintained historic building in the...More

    Thank SallyCyril
    Response from TheOldDocsResidence, Manager at The Old Doctor's ResidenceResponded 29 October 2017

    Dear SallyCyril Thank you for your generous review. I am very pleased you had a good rest and enjoyed your stay. Its good to know that you had some good laughs curling in Naseby too and we do hope you will return again one day...More

    Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

    We had a lovely stay there. Beautiful and clean and well presented. Our host, Sherry looked after every little detail - fresh flowers, a warm fire and welcoming afternoon tea. Thanks Sherry! Recommend to anyone.

    Thank Bronwyn M
    Response from TheOldDocsResidence, Manager at The Old Doctor's ResidenceResponded 21 October 2017

    Hi Bronwyn M, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Regards Sherry Your Host

    Reviewed 16 October 2017

    We had a lovely stay here. Sherry was very welcoming and looked after us with a lovely afternoon tea before we set off curling. The room ( Danseys ) was lovely and warm and it was great to come back in the evening to the...More

    1  Thank northotago
    Response from TheOldDocsResidence, Manager at The Old Doctor's ResidenceResponded 17 October 2017

    Hi Again, Thank you so much for staying with us and we are pleased you felt so well looked after. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again one day. All the best. Kind regards Sherry

    Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

    We were in Naseby curling and the organizers booked us into The Old Doctor's Residence. We were the first guests for the new owners and we couldn't be happier. Our breakfasts cooked by Sherry were out of the world and the rooms and amenities were...More

    Thank SGArnold65
    Response from TheOldDocsResidence, Manager at The Old Doctor's ResidenceResponded 23 August 2017

    Dear Scott, Julie and Ken. Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, you made it especially enjoyable for me because of the lovely friendly fun people that you are. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts especially...More

    Reviewed 18 March 2017

    I have seen a lot of NZ in our time but this comfortable cosy and historic place was one of the best including the delicious breakfast. Bob is a very nice and humorous host and offered us a local wine tasting and homemade tapas in...More

    Thank Claudia M
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Breakfast Available
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$189 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 2
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Doctor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Otago Region >
    • Central Otago >
    • Naseby
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (5)
    Dining (11)
    Room & Suite (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (15)
    Bathroom (2)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 1 hotels in Naseby
    Naseby Lodge
    63 reviews
    .33 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Black Forest Cafe
    66 reviews
    .51 km away
    Maniototo Cafe
    72 reviews
    11.85 km away
    Oturehua Railway Hotel
    131 reviews
    18.35 km away
    Vulcan Hotel
    54 reviews
    31.69 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Indoor Curling Rink
    152 reviews
    .83 km away
    Naseby Ice Luge
    13 reviews
    .83 km away
    Naseby Swimming Dam
    8 reviews
    .83 km away
    Real Dog Adventures NZ
    31 reviews
    7.96 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The Old Doctor's Residence staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Has two guest rooms and both are excellent with their own bathroom."
    Read review
    "Go for the bigger room at the front of the house - we tossed for it with our friends and lost:("
    Read review
    "We stayed in the Parker Suite."
    Read review
    "choice of 2 but neither would disappoint"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing