We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bishops

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bishops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Bishops
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

After finding this little gem on a day trip during our honeymoon last year, we booked Bishops for our wedding anniversary this year. Although there was a slight mix up with our room, it was dealt with swiftly. I can't thank the gentleman that dealt with us on our arrival enough. All the staff were great and very attentive, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara A
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just after sitting at our table the proprietor came in the front door while doing up his fly, I used the gent's just after him and the toilet bowl was liberally covered in old hard feces, from there on, it went downhill. The waiter was very sickly looking & the food was just awful stale stuff, we left the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTown
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in the pool room - checked in on Friday and out on Sunday. They were really helpful we arrived midday - long before check in and were allowed to leave our bags behind the desk so we could go explore the area. The Pool Room is small but was enough for us - the decking outside our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunita K
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I don't want to go into too many details about this hotel's rather major shortcomings as this would take too much time, but I really wouldn't recommend staying here. Instead, I'd suggest you stay at the Lulworth Cove Inn. Whilst Bishops has great potential to be a really lovely hotel - the view and proximity to the beautiful Lulworth Cove...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelivia222
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

I am trying to work out who you are and which room you stayed in. We have not had an Eve stay here at all recently. So we are back to the usual issue of anonymity, and possibly even under a pseudonym, which is such a feature of trip advisor, and so really unhelpful. I hope readers take your somewhat...

Findon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were informed in advance by the hotel that we would be staying in the "Bar Room". That was a first for us! We had read the reviews about the hotel & concerns about attitude of some of the staff. All staff were very friendly & helpful towards us. We ate in the hotel one of the nights & the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is no luxury hotel and the owners are not guest friendly. Stayed here for a weekend in beautiful lulworth. Owners kept asking us in an unfriendly fashion what we wanted every time we returned to the hotel. They still didn't know we were staying here after 2 days. Stayed in an attic room which was diabolical no attention to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nikky W
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable stay, such a comfortable nights sleep. Luxury bedding, fantastic pillows and mattress so comfortable​. Wonderfully​ attentive friendly staff. The best cooked breakfast all done fresh to order. Lovely shower easy to work. Highly recommended location with fabulous views. The Cliff room is really lovely, light and spacious. The pool room looked fun, if a tad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 403Jackie
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch, the restaurant was empty with no tables laid however we received a friendly welcome and shared our table with a cat (sat on a spare chair). The restaurant soon started to fill up and there appeared to be only one waitress, so service was a little slow. Food was o.k but the chicken in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne2706
Stroud
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night and would have liked to have been able to stay longer. We were given a very much larger room than we had expected on the first floor that was flooded with sunlight. The Study had a large sitting room and a large bedroom and bathroom, beautifully decorated. It was just a short stroll to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you. It is so rewarding to read such reviews.

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in an idyllic situation, being only moments from the beach. Our room was lovely and spacious with comfy sitting area, sea views and patio doors to its own private garden. The one negative being that the patio doors at the other end of the room opened directly onto the public terrace, so we had to keep the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvertravellers60
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you. You comments about black out curtains are well made and we will certainly follow up.

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.7 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
437 reviews
13.9 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
907 reviews
9.0 km away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
14.4 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
20.6 km away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishops, once the home of the Wordsworths (Bishops of Salisbury), stands on the edge of the Cove and is sheltered by Bindon Hill. Originally two cottages and dates back to 1650’s one of the oldest buildings in the village, the extensions and additions have been made with care and the building is one of the architectural features of Lulworth. The gardens overlook the beautiful Lulworth Cove and there is a large swimming pool for our guests. Bishops is on the cliff top of the world heritage Jurassic coastline at Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door. Close by the stunning Studland Bay and shores of Sandbanks and Poole harbour. The countryside is ideally placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Wessex, The Isle of Purbeck, Corfe Castle, Swanage and Wareham a Saxon town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishops

Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Price Range: €107 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishops 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bishops staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bishops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The study is wonderful”
SueF386, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“All three rooms I saw in the main building were big and comfortable”
Gaiters, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Boathouse but no wifi connection”
  • View from bedroom including outside swimming pool
  • View from dining room
  • View from bedroom
Billyboysouth, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Cove room is a good choice”
Photographicity, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a flashlight to walk from car park to hotel at night”
AyrshireAndym, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5