We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Laxnes

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laxnes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 970: English reviews
San Mateo, California
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This was an adequate hotel in a decent location just outside Reykjavic. The room was clean and did the job, but I was kind of underwhelmed by the hotel. In addition the reception that I got was decidedly unfriendly. I think this just may be the Icelandic demeanor. I encountered this in a number of places in Iceland. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ndb9000
Richmond, Texas
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We reserved an apartment for three nights with refrig and small range. There were two burners on the range, but no pots or pans; don't expect to do any cooking. The room was hot so we did open the bathroom window but it did not help very much. The pillows were awful. On a positive note, we were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jabdab
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review

Hello Glad you found our Hotel clean however you could have requested some pans from the reception if you were going to be cooking .Will look at replacing the pillows asap .

arizona, british columbia
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Sorry to downgrade, but this is not worth the cost and not more than 3 stars. Dated motel with no appeal. Clean but tacky, cheap skimpy furniture and linens. Bathtub extremely slippery and no bath mat except the rubber one for the tub. Small things do add up. Pros: clean, close to drive from Kef airport, and breakfast quite decent....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elderlyones
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review

Yes its a shame you have given us only 3 stars ,with the linen in Iceland we do not have an under linen sheet which goes over the main sheet .The bath tub is standard like anywhere else and furniture cheap but working . This is a hotel not a motel .

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Stayed at this hotel again following our 2011 visit. Great location and excellent staff. Shaun was an absolute star, very welcoming and full of information! Side note - excellent breakfast selection :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul7671
Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This hotel is charming and the staff are great. My family of four stayed in a room that was quite small (and granted, a little outdated), but it was all that was available at the time of our booking, and it was fine for us because it forced us to get outside! The bathroom was perfect, large and updated, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GorillaMommy
Maitland, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights after driving around the island and found it to be a warm, quiet, friendly , family run hotel with wonderful rooms large enough for our family of 4 to sleep comfortably and relax with a queen, 2 singles and large corner sofa. Our room also opened onto a verandah for some extra fresh air....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2320
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Cute little hotel in a great location. Bus stop is right outside for a bus that comes every 30 minutes and goes to the main bus terminal (coach to Blue Lagoon) and Reykjavik (approx.30 mins away). There are various restaurants nearby if you don;t fancy the trip into the city and supermarket for snacks. Shaun was very friendly there and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farah N
Prague
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed in the hotel Laxnes for 6 nights during our Iceland visit. The rooms are very simple , with very small wardrobe - so for 2 people not enough space for clothes . The bed in our room was a disaster , so I've asked the reception for help and they really exchanged it for a better one ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johanaPrague
Palmer
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful and informative. Location was easy to find and convenient to both Reykjavik and the Golden Circle. Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was well rounded with a good amount of options. Bathrooms could have used better ventilation but that was the only negative. There was a great little park within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A8503RGemmac
UK
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in February and it was a great hotel.for a short break. Good location with amenities close by and near to the town but still feels like you are in the country. Stunning views. Staff were very helpful and arranged all our trips - nothing was too much to help with

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynetteUk

802 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (146)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (206)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Large Double Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,478 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Price Range: €137 - €294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Laxnes staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Laxnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you're lucky, you might be upgraded to a room with a balcony. The view is excellent.”
nigeln2014, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Balcony rooms are larger and have views.”
642denises, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views are from the downstairs rooms.”
katohc, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a mountain view definitely wont regret - keep a look out for the Northern lights above the hotel also!!!!!!!!!”
mimim546, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Out of town location”
kevinelliott, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5