We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki

    State Highway 6 | 30 km north of Haast, Lake Moeraki, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7842, New Zealand
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake MoerakiSee available hotels in Lake Moeraki
    Traveller (133)
    Room & Suite (22)
    Pool & Beach (16)
    • Excellent82%
    • Very good12%
    • Average2%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “new zealand” (59 reviews)
    “glow worms” (42 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    Self-Serve Laundry
    4.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (234)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 220 reviews

    Reviewed yesterday via mobile

    Myself, husband, adult children and partners had a rendezvous at the lodge. For some activities we broke up into smaller groups and joined the lodges activities such as an early morning birdwatching tour, other times our family group did its own thing such as kayaking...More

    Thank Gertrude B
    Reviewed yesterday

    We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip around Nz and this was one of many highlights We will never forget 25 Crested Fjoirdland Penguins in one after noon with Gerry and 2 others in just 90 minutes!!!! Also NZ Falcon, Morpork etc etc...More

    Thank graham e
    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    The standard of everything is fantastic, the hosts are friendly. It is away from everywhere but on the road from the West Coast to Queenstown and Wanaka. A perfect balance. Hint: Don't expect good internet. It is enough for emails but you are in the...More

    Thank DavidMelb
    Response from Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake MoerakiResponded 4 days ago

    Dear David, Thanks for your review, we really do appreciate it. We hope the rest of your New Zealand travels were a success. Kind Wishes, Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney Owner-Managers

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We had a fantastic stay at the Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki! I can't say enough about what a great experience we had! I'll start off by saying that this place is pricey but it's worth every penny. If you are really into nature and wildlife...More

    1  Thank Patrick F
    Response from Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake MoerakiResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Patrick, Thanks for posting a review. We really enjoyed hosting you and we appreciate hearing how you enjoyed the accommodation, food, wildlife as well as the balance between meeting other guests and exploring on your own. Kind wishes, Anne Saunders & Dr Gerry McSweeney...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We arrived here not really knowing what to expect. We new it was in an isolated spot and we were thinking we would be perhaps using it as an opportunity to catch up on the laundry and not much else. How wrong can you be?...More

    Thank MayfieldGOC
    Response from Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake MoerakiResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear MayfieldGOC, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Great to hear that your Wilderness Lodge experience exceeded expectations. We would love to host you again one day. Kind Wishes, Anne Saunders & Dr Gerry McSweeney Owner-Managers

    Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
    1,540 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
    67 km
    Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
    420 reviews
    #1 of 11 hotels in Fox Glacier
    66.6 km
    Lake Matheson Motel
    387 reviews
    #2 of 11 hotels in Fox Glacier
    66.3 km
    The Hermitage Hotel
    2,034 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village
    66.5 km
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Room amenities
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$341 - US$444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 28
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • West Coast Region >
    • Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) >
    • Lake Moeraki
    • Also Known As
    • Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Hotel Lake Moeraki
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (133)
    Room & Suite (22)
    Pool & Beach (16)
    Dining (7)
    Hotel & Grounds (104)
    Nearby Restaurants
    Hard Antler Bar &
    290 reviews
    25.57 km away
    Bruce Bay Coffee Cart
    6 reviews
    29.89 km away
    Matheson Cafe
    1,047 reviews
    64.06 km away
    Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
    883 reviews
    66.66 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Waiatoto River Safari
    153 reviews
    41.47 km away
    Wilkin River Jets
    80 reviews
    49.20 km away
    Hooker Valley Track
    648 reviews
    66.43 km away
    Haast Visitor Centre
    61 reviews
    23.95 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    5 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from patriciav140 | Reviewed this property |
    Hi. sorry i did not see your post. I can't comment on the price because i honestly don't remember but it is a beautiful place. elegant, relaxing, great atmosphere, and in the meantime you can spend some hours kayaking... More
    13 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Gill H | Reviewed this property |
    Definitely contact Gerry or the lodge.There were none in February.The guided walks all seem to be out from the Lodge..some to the beach, some through forest.We only saw bird life like white egrets, but they were pretty... More
    Room Tips
    "by river very good"
    Read review
    "We loved the Rainforest room"
    Read review
    "Forget the wifi. You are so far from civilisation, it is irrelevant. Enjoy the opportunity yeti disconnect."
    Read review
    "Any room! All lead to your experience, inside and outdoors!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing