We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2-9-7, Sugamo, Toshima 170-0002 Tokyo Prefecture
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (234)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (189)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 21/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Updated 21/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 5 in Sugamo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Taxi service
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Massage
Open-air bath
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
284Reviews20Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 139
  • 43
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
SpeedyG-7 wrote a review Dec 2019
Vancouver, Canada198 contributions73 helpful votes
Rooms are small (maybe 90 sq ft) but that's expected in greater Tokyo. Good value for what you get. Well managed hotel and I was actually surprised how well run hotel is. Only minor negatives are rooms lack safety box and hard to figure out how to call front desk from phone in the room. Didn't notice any english instructions on how to use phone. Hotel can even be more efficient if they allow guests in some way to indicate whether new towels, supplies are needed. Didn't need my room cleaned or made up but housekeeper still left a bag of towels, supplies outside the door every day. Room provided a lot of stuff (like pyjamas) you don't normally see at hotels, esp budget hotels. Great location as mita line station is like 100 m from the hotel and the JR line station is only like 200 m from the hotel. Very impressed with this APA hotel, which is first one I stayed at. I assume it's standard policy to charge extra for early check in, like 1,000 Y for checking in 1.5 hrs before normal 3 pm check in time even though I would be check out at 6:45 am rather than the usual ~11 am check out time. Well organized area in front of reception area to store your luggage. Clean room. Bathroom is small. Maybe 25% larger than bathroom on cruise ship. I visited onsen on 14 th floor but never tried out. Stayed here 4 nights in Dec.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, フロント at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 18 Dec 2019
Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL 〈Sugamo Ekimae〉and your kind review. We are honored to read your warm comment regarding our facility and service. In our room, there is not a safety box, but we can keep your article of value in the front desk. Our hotel's information is on the TV about facility, how to use the phone, how to order massage, delivery pizza, etc. Please check on the TV. We suggest to use Onsen on 14th floor because Onsen is so nice to refresh yourself. We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Japan. Receptionist Noguchi
Read more
S M wrote a review Nov 2019
Metro Manila25 contributions31 helpful votes
Location is good since the subway is just a few steps from the hotel entrance. Like all Tokyo hotels, price is pretty steep but what you are paying for is the convenience. This was literally one of the smallest hotels I have stayed in (comparable to room size and price of Singapore hotels). Once you open the door to your room, there is a bathroom to your right and the bed which pretty much occupies the entire room. The walking space inside the room is negligible so avoid bringing large luggage as this will be difficult to open and will just eat up room space. The room has a large flat screen TV (this is Japan so I would expect nothing less than modern conveniences :) which is probably the best part, but I dont think I noticed any English channels. The worst part about the room was the smell of the bathroom. It smelled like urine even if we had just arrived and havent even used it. Even after the help cleaned the room, the smell of urine stayed. I am not sure if it has something to do with the material of the toilet. They have a deodorizing spray but it does nothing to help. There are toiletries available in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, liquid body soap) and they also have other items like shavers, hair ties, hair caps, toothbrushes. Another good thing was the hot tub at the top of the hotel. I used the women's hot tub and (of course) you have to cleanse yourself prior and need to be completely naked. It wasnt awkward for me even if it was my first time. The water was very relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 22 Nov 2019
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel <Sugamo Ekimae>. I am very honored to receive many valuable opinions. During the stay, it seems to have been able to relax and is above all. The room is made compact so that you can easily reach the things around you. I am sorry for the unpleasant feeling about the smell of the bathroom. We will share information with the cleaning staff and make improvements. Thank you very much for your feedback. If you come to Sugamo, please use this hotel. APA Hotel <Sugamo Station> Front Sanada
Read more
G0dL0vesU wrote a review Nov 2019
Pulau Ubin, Singapore116 contributions92 helpful votes
Basically it is a decent location, next to the subway station, very near Sugamo Jizodori Shopping Street. The main reason and what I do like about the hotel is the onsen. It is not very easy to get an onsen hotel in Tokyo. Unfortunately, the room given to me, when I turned on the aircon had the smell of cigarettes. Though it was a non-smoking room and floor. Fortunately, the staff arranged for me to change rooms within the same floor. But because of the "unfortunate event" the staff asked me to check the aircon vent. That is when I saw how filthy it was. Granted that I do not normally check the aircon vents in the hotels, I stay in. This was was really bad, I asked the hotel to clean it the next day when I was out; I am sure they did. But hope they will not wait till we complain to clean the aircon filters and vents. I tried to take a photo, but it was too dark; so even after they did clean it, it obviously needs much more cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, フロント at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL〈Sugamo Ekimae〉and your review. We are sorry that we let you down and did not meet your expectations. We will try to improve the level of service to satisfy our customers, especially we will focus on about cleaning. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.
Read more
Hilton Leung wrote a review Sep 2019
Hong Kong, China55 contributions72 helpful votes
I have stayed in APA every time when I visit Japan. This APA hotel is just 2 minutes away from JR Sugamo Station and just a few stations from the Skyliner Nippori station to Narita station and a few stops from Ikebukuro station, where basically you can get everything there. There is a seven eleven, Matsuya beef bowl shop and Family Marts and lots of restaurants in the area. The room is a typical Japanese standard of cleanliness and tidiness. The onsen on 14th floor is a bonus to relax at night. Staff are nice. You get everything needed like bathrobe, sleepers, toothbrush, shaver, etc. Toilet seat is high tech. The only downside is the insufficient amount of laundry machine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 9 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel <Sugamo Ekimae>. We are very honored to have chosen this hotel from among the many hotels. It is a very fortunate location, 3 minutes on foot from JR Sugamo station, 30 seconds on foot from Toei Mita Line A4 exit, 5 minutes to Ikebukuro on the Yamanote line, 15 minutes to Ueno and Shinjuku It can be used for both business and sightseeing. I am glad to hear your compliments to the hotel and restaurant. This time, we will share the words we have received from our customers and we will strive to create a hotel that will make you want to stay again. Thank you very much for posting your review while busy. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Kathleen S wrote a review Aug 2019
Fallon, Nevada154 contributions41 helpful votes
I have stayed at other APA hotels in Tokyo, but this one is the BEST! I will probably stay here again on my next trip. Sugamo is a quiet neighborhood, with plenty of restaurants. The hotel is a 2-minute walk from JR station on the Yamanote line, which can get you anywhere you need to be. The hotel is beautiful, and the elevators are fast. The rooms are typically small, but the two of us had plenty of room in a twin room. The best thing about this hotel is the onsen on the 14th floor. Don't be shy, give it a try! There is only one English-speaking TV station, but that's ok because I use the local shows to improve my Japanese skills! We did not get to try the restaurant on this trip, but I'm sure the food is great!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, フロント at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Thank you for stayed at APA Hotel<Sugamo-eki mae>. What a great feedback we have received here, thank you so much for valuable comment. We are delighted to hear you were satisfied in our guestrooms. We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Japan. Best regards Receptionist
Read more
Everton wrote a review Aug 2019
Brisbane, Australia238 contributions96 helpful votes
Location is great, very close to Sugamo JR station, which is on the Yamanote line so easy to go to everywhere in Tokyo. There's also a subway station which increases the accessibility to places. It's not in a tourist area, which I think is great, so you can get the feel of a local Tokyo neighborhood. There's a popular street market nearby, worth checking out. The room is bigger than most APA I've stayed, and probably one of the nicest APA I've stayed in Japan. They stored my luggage since I arrived very early, which was nice. The onsen is great and I spent a lot of time there, really good. I didn't try the breakfast, there are so many options around the hotel, I really recommend Komeda's coffee just across the road. Cons: Internet was not very good, it kept dropping so I used my 4g most of the time. There are only 4 coin-operated machines and it's always busy. You can check the available machines from the TV, and even the remaining time, but it's incredibly busy all the time, so you have to be lucky to get a free one. I really needed to do my laundry after 1-week travelling, so it was quite a challenge having to wait so long for a free machine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Trail809799, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 21 Aug 2019
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel <Sugamo Ekimae>. We seem to have been satisfied with location and are above all. I am glad to hear the compliment that you are the best in APA than the customer. For breakfast, we hope you will use it next time. However, sorry for the inconvenience caused by the internet environment. In addition, there is a limit to the number of coin launderettes, so if you have many customers, you may have to wait. I hope you understand. Please use this hotel when you come to Sugamo. Thank you very much for your contribution. APA Hotel <Sugamo Station> Front Sanada
Read more
ragman1960 wrote a review Jun 2019
Dukinfield, United Kingdom385 contributions97 helpful votes
Spent a wonderful week in Japan, this hotel near the train station,very easy to get around,great staff,small compact room,very clean,always lots of free water bottles,no closet for hanging clothes,hanging by the door so watch what you pack,cases Under the dressing table.still a very nice hotel with a free spa.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Trail809799, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 28 Jun 2019
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel Sugamo Station. I am very honored to receive many praise words. In terms of public baths and cleanliness of the rooms, the reception staff also double-checks. We are happy to be satisfied with our customers. In addition, please use this hotel when you come to Sugamo. Thank you very much for posting while you are busy. APA Hotel Sugamo Station Front Sanda
Read more
queenieyee1126 wrote a review Jun 2019
Hong Kong, China34 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Handy location, 30 sec to metro stations and a min walk to JR station. Only two stops to Ikebukuro, very convenient. Few hours restaurants open overnight or until 4am. Room is a bit small but got all you need, hair dryer is a bit weak for long hair ladies. Hot bath is really good for relaxation after long day walk. Staffs are nice and friendly. I will come back to this hotel again, thank you :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Trail809799, フロント オフィス マネージャー at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 17 Jun 2019
Thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel Sugamo Station. It seems like you were satisfied with the location and it is better than anything. As for the room, it is compact and dare so that things around you can be reached. I hope you understand. Also, I am honored to give praise to the staff. Thank you for posting while I am busy. We look forward to seeing you again. APA Hotel Sugamo Station Front Sanda
Read more
Exceedingly Seedy wrote a review Jun 2019
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom351 contributions531 helpful votes
The rooms were pretty big and had a huge flatscreen tv at the end of the bed. The hotel itself was large and had good facilities such as a sauna etc. Only negative was that it was a bit in the middle of nowhere if you’re looking to do the tourist thing. You’ll need to jump on a train to get wherever though I guess that’s true everywhere in Tokyo. There is a handy McDonald’s directly across the road though.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Trail809799, フロント at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 15 Jun 2019
Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL Sugamo Ekimae and your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Front Yano
Read more
Leong C wrote a review May 2019
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had booked the hotel way in advance beyond 3 months. We send them emails & call them but receive no response. We had requested the room with twin bed. When we check-in they gave us queen size bed & same standard single room. Yet we need pay extra. They will only email you to reply them to confirm your check-in time if you don't reply them they will cancel your room booking. When i asked them why no responsed to our emails and phone calls. They said that they can't because too many emails and calls. I email my compliant to their head office also no response. I wrote my comments in agoda was also not shown. During peak hours their lifts are slow because many people using. So you need to join queue around the lobby. Also the washing machines are are not easily available at most times. We also discovered that the room coffee & tea sachets were expire. We are totally disappointed with APA hotel @Sugamo Tokyo
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Trail809799, フロント at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Responded 25 May 2019
Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL〈Sugamo Ekimae〉and your review. We are sorry that we let you down and did not meet your expectations. We will try to improve the level of service to satisfy our customers. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKantoTokyo PrefectureTokyoToshimaSugamoIkebukuro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
512
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae
Which popular attractions are close to APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Nearby attractions include Sugamo Jizo-dori Shopping Street (0.2 km), Togenukijizo Kogan Temple (0.3 km), and Sugamo District (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tokiwa Shokudo, Grilled Innards & Beef En Sugamo, and Fight Gyoza.
Is APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Sugamo.
Are any cleaning services offered at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hozomon (5.8 km), Tokyo Central Railway Station (6.4 km), and Nezu Shrine (2.6 km).
Is APA Hotel Sugamo Ekimae accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.