We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2-14-5, Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021 Tokyo Prefecture
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1158)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (801)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 25 in Kabukicho
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Opened in December 2013 and located right in the heart of the lively Kabuki-cho area in Shinjuku. All the guest rooms are modern and stylish with unique design concepts. Higashi Shinjuku subway station ( Fukutoshin Line, Oedo Line) is just a 4-minute walk away. We are also 7-minute walk from the Shinjuku Sanchome subway station, 15-minute walk from east entrance of JR Shinjuku train station and 10-minute walk from north entrance of Seibu Shinjuku subway station ( Seibu Shinjuku Line). We offer great access to every place in Tokyo. We are located in a convenient place for business, sightseeing, and shopping in Shinjuku area. The rooms are fully equipped with beds made by Simmons, and we also provide free Wi-Fi to ensure that your stay is comfortable. We also have ample hotel facilities. On-site restaurant G features casual French and Italian cuisine cooked by a first-class chef. You can also relax at the Rooftop Bar that has an open terrace from which you can enjoy a bird's eye view of the night scenery of Shinjuku. Please have a wonderful time with urban night view and nice cocktails. PC, Printer ( lobby at 1F) / VOD (a charge) / an iPod dock speaker/ Free internet access (Wi-Fi, wired)/ a fridge / an electric kettle / a telephone/ a toilet seat with bidet functions / a safe / air cleaner / a humidifier / an iron / trouser press / a transformer / a wheelchair (free rental) / coin laundromat (2F)
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Spa
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
2009Reviews81Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 546
  • 972
  • 346
  • 82
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
ZEUS NIGHTCLUB wrote a review Jun 2021
Roppongi, Japan14 contributions
Affordable and amazing ! Located in Shinjuku, you are sure to never get bored day and night. Surrounded by Temples, Bars, restaurant, Cinema, nightclubs and department store, you may make sure that your smartphone are well charged because there is so much to see and keep in memories.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
ashylashy wrote a review Jun 2020
Perth, Australia23 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
With never having been to Japan it was hard to know where to stay. These rooms are small but we did book an economy room. Everything is there that you need. Due to the beginning of covid the restaurant was only offering a limited breakfast menu. This was sufficient and we probably ate more than what we would have if it was a buffet. Everything was enjoyable. The hotel is in the red light district but not once did we feel unsafe. The subway is a 5 minute walk so you can get to most places with ease. I would stay again if I visited Japan.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 丸山 英男, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2020
Dear ashylashy, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your review about your stay in Shinjuku Granbell Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. For your next stay, we would like to recommend you our rooftop bar on 13th floor. It also has a nice view as a restaurant, and you can take a seat on a terrace. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Sincerely yours,
Read more
Tony L wrote a review Mar 2020
Hodgenville, Kentucky123 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
I stayed in one of the luxury mature double rooms on the fifteen floor. This was a great room for Tokyo with quite a bit of space. This hotel has rooms for every budget and the cheaper rooms are of course smaller and very much in line with your average Tokyo hotel room. I really enjoyed this location as there were many great places to eat within a comfortable walking distance and while there are love hotels near this location it is a very safe place and I was never uncomfortable walking the streets of Tokyo. All the staff spoke English well and I had no communication issues. All the staff were very helpful and I very much enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from 清水 彩, 支配人 at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 26 May 2020
Dear 16TonyL, Thank you for giving us a lot of positive review. It is really nice to hear for all the staffs. I am glad to know that you could enjoy the atmosphere of the designers hotel's room or rooftop bar. We keep doing our best to be able to provide better service. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Koh Jia Wei wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore4 contributions
We love the room..every day they will replenish complimentary coke and green tea and 1 bottle of water in the bar fridge on top of the usual 2 bottle of water will be at the bar counter as usual. This room come with access to lvl 13 club lounges area where there is free flow of beer and wine during 5pm to 7pm. And the view of the club lounge area is amazing too. There is coffee,juice snacks at the club lounge area too so my 6 years old daughter really likes to go there and relax. Location is really quite easy to walk to the train station
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from 清水 彩, 支配人 at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 25 May 2020
Dear kohj910, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Shinjuku Granbell Hotel. Your comments encourage our staff to improve better quality of service. Luxury Designer Double Mature is made with the image of modern and stylish. You might be interested in other types of our Executive rooms which has totally different image and designs for your next stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards,
Read more
Timothy N wrote a review Mar 2020
15 contributions10 helpful votes
Review is for the Deluxe Designer Double - Casual. Amazing views, we were on the 16th floor and wouldn't have had it any other way. The room, while small, was accommodating for two. The bathroom was definitely the a really nice feature in the room, definitely used the tub almost every night of our 7 night stay. Price is affordable for Tokyo, but for someone coming from America, it's a considerable shock having to pay per person. We added the daily breakfast buffet, which I looked forward to every morning. A lot of the reviewers on here complain about the selection, but I was more than happy with the Asian options of curry, mackerel, and kimchi (great way to start the day, smelly breath and all!) Unfortunately, by our 5th day, the impending threat of the coronavirus turned the buffet into a standard 3-course, western breakfast, which I was less than interested in (why travel to another country to eat what you're accustomed to??) The hotel is in a very convenient location that may seem far on the map from other spots in Shinjuku, but you won't even notice it with how densely packed everything is and all the lights and sounds. Safety was never a concern for us, besides from some very aggressive taxi drivers who seem as if they're on a mission to hit you. In the mornings, you can see groups of young, drunk kids walking around, but that's about it. Overall, our trip to Tokyo was greatly benefitted from our stay here and we'll consider it again when we return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay in a designer series room. Higher up views, access to club lounge, and larger accommodations...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from 清水 彩, 支配人 at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 25 May 2020
Dear teemo321, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your stay. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. As you mentioned, we needed to change our style of breakfast to prevent the spread of coronavirus, and the change we made didn't much your expectation. We will take this problem seriously to be prepared for unexpected situation, and know what we can do for our guests. We sincerely hope to have another chance to serve you again, and make you feel happier with our service and hospitality. Sincerely yours,
Read more
Abel_Lau wrote a review Mar 2020
Hong Kong39 contributions73 helpful votes
Stayed twice here; the hotel is located not too close to the centre of Shinjuku but is still very convenient to anywhere; the vibe is great and there are lots of entertainment nearby, including a place where you can play baseball. The staff are friendly and I will stay again if i go Tokyo next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 彩 清水, General Manager at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 23 May 2020
Dear Abel_Lau, Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed spending time in our hotel and having fun in Shinjuku area. As you pointed, there is a lot of enterrainment, and we would like you to try Japanese unique cafes and restaurant you haven't tried for your next trip. We are keep updating the recommendations for restaurant and cafes for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future with better service and hospitality. Best regards,
Read more
Steph wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia52 contributions25 helpful votes
The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Higashi-Shinjuku Station (subway). Staffs were really friendly and helpful during check in process. The hotel rooms are quite small but it's understandable since it's hard to find bigger room with similar price in Tokyo. Overall, we really had great stay there!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 彩 清水, General Manager at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 23 May 2020
Dear stevaniezaneta, Thank you very much for your kind words. Your comments will definitely encourage all of our staff to improve better quality of service and hospitality. You might be interested of our Executive rooms which has more space and access to club lounge. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Sincerely yours,
Read more
Sydneygal007 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bronte, Australia58 contributions48 helpful votes
This place felt good from the moment we walked in. Well located (you hardly even notice it's in the red light district), with an attractive lobby, friendly staff and a cool roof bar, which did good margaritas! We splashed out on a spacious Deluxe Design Double room on the 13th floor with great city views, handy to the club lounge, breakfast restaurant and bar. The room was stylishly designed with a comfortable king bed and good TV. The only down sides were the bathroom: the shower flooded the floor; there were no hooks to hang the towels; and the handheld shower was in a non-adjustable holder. There was also a lack of space for our suitcases. The western breakfast options were also a bit limited if you were staying a few days. But I'd definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Deluxe design if you can afford it
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 彩 清水, General Manager at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 23 May 2020
Dear Mr./Ms. mrsvickyaltaie Thank you for a lot of positive review. All the staffs are happy to hear it. As you pointed out, though this hotel is surrounded by red area, this location is very quiet and very convenient to go to the metropolitan area for sightseeing. Your comments for bathroom is really helpful to improve the quality of facilities. We will consider about the place of the towels and also about the handheld shower to be adjustable. We keep doing our best to be able to provide better service. I hope that you will choose Shinjuku Granbell Hotel again and I am looking forward to supporting your trip in the near future. Yours sincerely,
Read more
That dude wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
First time staying here and would recommend it to anyone who’s looking to stay in Tokyo, very central area and you will be proud when you realize your hotel is the biggest and looks the best in the area. The rooftop bar has a great pizza and even greater view with heaters and blankets provided if it’s chilly. The front desk staff are very knowledgeable and provide free umbrellas to guests if it rains. We paid 1,700 yen each for the breakfast when we were in a crunch for time and it’s pretty pricey (unless you pick breakfast included) however did not disappoint - a good variety of western , chinese and japanese food to pick from. Only con is that we did get a room that was not the one we selected in the photo, considered a downgrade with the smaller size and more basic decor but had a great view. An FYI for more high maintenance travellers: there is only a few hangers for clothing storage in the room we were given and a small counter in the bathroom for toiletries. A reviving positive: there were full bottles of shampoo/conditioner and body wash and the toilet is heated :) Thanks Granbell! Please give us an extra nice room next time to make up for it :) ahaha
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 清水 彩, 支配人 at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 21 May 2020
Dear thedudethatdidthings, First of all, thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience of your stay in our hotel. We are grateful that you took the time out to leave us a review. Your feedback helps us to improve service for everyone. We are sorry that the room size didn't match your expectation. If there is any mistake or problem of the room you had and you booked, please feel free to contact us. We hope to welcome you again with better service and hospitalities. Best regards,
Read more
Jackson Turner wrote a review Feb 2020
Brisbane, Australia48 contributions5 helpful votes
The highlight of the hotel is its excellent location. It is right in the hustle and bustle of Shinjuku bar and dining precinct, making dinner and a few drink out at night super easy. In saying this, there are no noisy restaurants or club next door to the hotel so you can head back there at night time and enjoy absolute peace. It’s about a 10 minute walk to the Shinjuku train station, which open up access to the entirety of Tokyo. The hotel rooms themselves are quite small, just big enough for a queen bed and bench storage plus a bathroom. This is standard for Tokyo so you won’t find many larger rooms for a reasonable price. The room was tidy and liveable. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and the included breakfast was always good. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Shinjuku Granbell hotel as it allowed us to explore Shinjuku and the greater Tokyo region with easy. Would recommend to family and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from 清水 彩, 支配人 at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Responded 21 May 2020
Dear jpturner21, Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay in our hotel. We really are happy to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. As you mentioned, Shinjuku area is good place to stay as a base of explore. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKantoTokyo PrefectureTokyoShinjukuKabukichoShinjuku / Shinjuku / Nakano / Suginami
NUMBER OF ROOMS
485
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Nearby attractions include KUJIRA ENTERTAINMENT (0.2 km), Magic Bar Tejinaya Shinjuku (0.4 km), and Samurai Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mugi no Oto, Mo-Mo-Paradise Kabukicho Honten, and Kyo CHABANA Shinjuku Toho Bldg. branch.
Is Shinjuku Granbell Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Kabukicho.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tokyo Central Railway Station (5.6 km), Nezu Shrine (5.6 km), and Sengaku-ji Temple (7.1 km).
Is Shinjuku Granbell Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.