We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Whitchurch Road, Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$131
US$115
View deal
SAVE US$16
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
HurbUS$131
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (530)
Room & Suite (514)
Dining (92)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1862Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,057
  • 459
  • 176
  • 100
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Inspiration613524 wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Just posting in praise of the professional manner in which my cancellation was handled, we found out tonight that Wales has been locked down again, Rowton took my cancellation without charge and were very understanding. We will rebook as soon as we are allowed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 20 Dec 2020
Good Evening Paul B Thank you for taking the time to write your review following the very sad news that you are unable to travel to us due to the current lockdown measures put in place. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you to Rowton Hall in the near future. Please stay safe. Yours sincerely Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
Nigel T wrote a review Dec 2020
Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom111 contributions136 helpful votes
OK.. I made a booking error in that I booked the 4th at 2239 instead of the 11th. Arrived at hotel on 11th, and what was obviously an error, the hotel wouldn't move my booking. Had to pay another £119 (OK slightly discounted and upgraded). The (upgraded room) was really poor, stains on walls, dirty stained carpet, furniture marked and chipped, wallpaper ripped and stained. Sockets not working, lamps not working, beverage trolley really wobbly and dangerous, especially as you boiled the kettle on it. Corridor floor boards were really noisy. Food was decent enough and the staff service always polite and prompt. Booking issues aside the poor quality of the room is enough for me not to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 20 Dec 2020
Dear Nigel t Thank you for taking the time to write your review which is obviously harsh due to the fact that we declined your request not the charge you for the stay on the 11th December due to not arriving for your initial pre-paid reservation on the 4th December. The room in which you stayed in is a Superior Room, yes there are a few marks on the walls, but the lights work, all the sockets work. Thank you for your positive feedback on our team. Yours sincerely Aled Aled Humphrey General Manager
Read more
AMU wrote a review Nov 2020
7 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked two twin rooms for our family of four. The hotel is attractive and we were looking forward to a relaxing experience and a swim in the pool. On check in I asked to book a time to use the pool that afternoon / evening. The receptionist told us to look in the info pack he gave us. When we got to our rooms and looked in the pack and tried to book access to the pool, we were told there was no availability in part because of reduced numbers in the pool as a result of covid but also because external members use the pool. The pool was the reason why we booked the hotel so we were disappointed. The only session we could book was at 7 am the following morning which was earlier than we would have liked and then for only 3 of our party. A staff member did call our room at 730 am to advise a regular member had left so there was now availability for one extra person in the pool for 30 minutes which was appreciated. One of the rooms we were allocated was smaller than i would have expected and extremely ‘tired’. Furnishings were very worn and unattractive. Lamps had serious scorch marks and curtains couldnt be easily closed without standing on a chair to encourage the rings to travel over a flexible pole. Wallpaper was lifting from the walls and needed cleaning. The small bathroom had three flies in it when we checked in and a small window. We called reception and they came to spray the bathroom but further flies appeared in both bathrooms overnight. In the better room if you sat in the chair at the dresser there was no filling so most uncomfortable and the fitted wardrobe was bashed and marked. We ate out that evening but were looking forward to enjoying breakfast which was included in our rate the next morning. The meat eaters among us were happy and our kids loved the pancakes with syrup. As a vegan my choice was limited, no soya based yoghurt available, avocados which were on the menu were not available. I asked for fruit tea and the waitress thought they might have ‘a strawberry one somewhere’. I had got some tea bags with me so just asked for boiling water. After asking three times it finally appeared. On checkout we mentioned the flies issue, and were thanked for the information. The communal areas of this hotel seemed very nice but my advice is book a more expensive room. This was so much less of a treat than we were expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Dear angelamE2179HB Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at Rowton Hall. I was disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us and that you found your accommodation dated. I will share your feedback with the team here at the hotel. My sincere apologies that you were unable to use the pool as your preferred time, we have put policies in place to ensure the wellbeing of our guests, members and team here at the hotel during this time. Your feedback with regards to the choices at breakfast has been discussed with the breakfast time. Once again thank for you taking the time to write your review. Yours sincerely Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
JonnyRyan wrote a review Nov 2020
Darlington, United Kingdom31 contributions33 helpful votes
Stayed here for a date night, we had the dinner, bed and breakfast with a complimentary bottle of win deal. The room was basic but spotlessly clean with everything you need for a night away. Staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem. Evening food was fine and the complimentary wine was off good standard. The breakfast was very good, I can definitely recommend this place and the offer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Dear JonnyRyan Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review following your recent stay to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable a stay with us, and your meal in the restaurant. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the team. We look forward to welcome you all back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa again very soon. Kind Regards Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
Clive B wrote a review Oct 2020
Sandiway, United Kingdom57 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
We wanted a short break and we got it. This is a lovely hotel and the staff are all so nice . I think the menu could be a bit more imaginative , but overall it was fine , and generous portions. The grounds are lovely however a bit wet in october to explore , we will return in the summer and go on some walks . It is dog friendly which is a big bonus for us
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Aled Humphreys, General Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Responded 27 Oct 2020
Dear 340cliveb Thank you for taking the time to write your great review following your recent stay to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read that you had such and enjoyable a stay with us, I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the team. We look forward to welcome you all back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa again in the Summer. Kind Regards Aled Aled Humphreys General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel rowton hall, rowton hall hotel, rowton hall chester, hall hotel rowton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChesterRowton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Chester Zoo (7.1 km), Escapism Chester (4.8 km), and Breakout Chester (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meltdown Chester, Pierogi, and Bean and Cole.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Rowton.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chester Cathedral (4.6 km), Chester City Walls (5.2 km), and Eastgate & Eastgate Clock (4.4 km).
Does Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.