We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake House Country Hotel

Save
Share
The Glebe Clooney, Narin-Portnoo F94 K759 Ireland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (35)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our boutique hotel is set on the shore of Lake Clooney, boasting breathtaking scenery of the two-mile stretch of Narin's Blue Flag beach and Portnoo Golf Course on the Wild Atlantic Way. The surrounding area is abundant with historical points of interest and a broad range of activities. Seamlessly blending old-world charm and elegance with contemporary luxuries, The Lake House Hotel delivers impeccable service that is never compromised. A Donegal Irish welcome is ensured in warm and friendly surroundings, with open peat fires and candle-lit suppers the order of the day. Our newly renovated rooms are perfect for family's with up to three children, with double, single and twin rooms also available. The hotel is half an hour from Donegal Town and within easy access of Donegal, Sligo, Derry and Belfast airports. The beautiful towns of Ardara and Dungloe are also a short picturesque drive away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
131Reviews4Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 23
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LDolan2019 wrote a review Sep 2020
9 contributions
This restaurant was recommended to us by our Air bnb host and oh my god it was fabulous. We really enjoyed our meal. What a gorgeous find and we will definitely be back. We both had the fish for main!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
DublinBeano wrote a review Sep 2020
Dublin19 contributions8 helpful votes
I love this place stayed last year and went back this year in August and have booked for next weekend.home from home with friendly staff ,great food and near a fabulous beach. Good room and shower. Perfect for staycations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Mc Mahon, General Manager at Lake House Country Hotel
Responded 8 Sep 2020
Good evening DublinBeano Thank you so much for your brilliant review i am so glad you like our Lake House Hotel We are very proud of it and so happy to be serving such tasty food See you soon Kind regards Mary
Read more
Teresa wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Very surprised to arrive at this hotel, on a sunny afternoon, family parties leaving, spaces available in bar and restaurant. When we asked for a table for two, we were turned away. The barman told us that they were taking "bookings only". Although we understand the difficulties at this particular time, we could not understand why, with empty tables, we would be turned away. The barman never asked us whether or not we would like to book at a later time. We just left. In shock. Beautiful venue which has been recommended to us. Bitterly disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Mc Mahon, General Manager at Lake House Country Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Good afternoon Tereeze I apologize that you had an unpleasant experience here I spoke with this particular person and he was of the assumption that the guidelines were that tables had to be booked in advance as the government had spoken of earlier in the year I do hope it will not deter you from returning as this is not usual for us Kind regards Mary
Read more
SeoFla wrote a review Aug 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom33 contributions46 helpful votes
Went here for a family meal and two of us had not actually been booked in but they were more than happy to accommodate. The service we knew would be slow due to COVID but sitting outside in such a gorgeous area we didn’t really notice. The food was delicious and my Nana who doesn’t usually eat a full plate finished her crab legs and even wanted more. Will be planning to come back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Mc Mahon, General Manager at Lake House Country Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2020
Good evening Seofia Thank you so much for your fabulous review We are delighted you enjoyed your meals We will be delighted to see you back again Kind regards Mary
Read more
VeryFussyInDublin wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland72 contributions64 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights. Comfortable room. Ate dinner in the hotel one evening. Food very good. Service was slow but we were warned of this in advance - kitchen staff numbers greatly reduced due to corona virus distancing. Big minus: on the first morning we were given a pot of coffee which turned out to be instant. We called the waitress and she explained that the coffee machine had broken down. I told her that she should say that to all the guests and ask them if they'd prefer instant coffee or tea, and not just plonk instant on the table without saying a word. Big plus: Mary the manager was very obliging and very helpful. I left a coat in the room and she very kindly posted it
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mary Mc Mahon, General Manager at Lake House Country Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear VeryFID Thank you for your review Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us Coffee machine is fine again - just a little glitch Glad you received your jacket I do hope you will stay with us again Kind regards Mary
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake hotel donegal
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalNarin-Portnoo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake House Country Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lake House Country Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Narin Beach (1.0 km), Stephen Bennett Studio Gallery (5.9 km), and Kilclooney Dolmen Donegal (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake House Country Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lake House Country Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake House Country Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake House Country Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Michaelangelos Bar & Restaurant, Carnaween House Restaurant, and Dawros Bay House.
Are pets allowed at Lake House Country Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lake House Country Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lake House Country Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Dolmen Centre (1.7 km).
Does Lake House Country Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lake House Country Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.