We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Strand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of The Strand Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was easy to find this hotel. Located right on the corner of the road. Good size room with comfortable beds. It was in a quiet location with fish and chips takeaway across the street. The breakfast buffet was ok and the staff was friendly and helpful. The lounge was spacious and comfortable. If you're an early bird, go for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZaiOnTravels
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited here on valentines evening and we were shocked at how quiet it was (all the better for us) we got to choose our own table and the barman arrived down with Menus & took our drinks order very swiftly. He came back and took our food order - we opted for the early bird menu with both of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a family run Hotel staff very friendly. Rooms are very spacious spotless beds are comfortable. Food and drinks reasonable price. It has quite relaxed surroundings. Their is 3 beaches within walking distance. Good clean fresh air. Local entertainment on Saturday nights. A good all round stay. Would highly recommend for a lazy relaxed weekend.. 👍👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spstky
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it.

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's about 15 years at least since I went to the Strand hotel for Sunday carvery - and it will be double that time before I go again!! Egg mayonnaise, prawn salad or vol-au-vent for starters (all I needed was the poodle perm to feel right back in the day) - took the latter and it had plenty of ham...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suziequiq
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Our Traditional Irish Roast Carvery is very busy and offers our diners a tasty Sunday treat and great value with 5 courses at €17.95. Indeed our starters include Organic Egg salad, Mixed Seafood Salad, a very popular Chicken & Ham Vol au Vent and Fan of Melon all available with a wide selection of salads. We do season our soup...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well where do I start. From the minute we entered the hotel, with three kids in tow it was terrible, staff were slow, restaurant was slower and I really did not enjoy my stay...we were in a family room which was clean by all accounts but definitely not a comfortable place, seeing it was Christmas season and we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alil2404
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay last December. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy it as we are a popular destination with families for Donegals Lapland. We offer families great value and complimentary selection boxes for the kids. As you can imagine Christmas is a busy time especially at weekends and The...

letterkenny
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had a lovely break in the Strand hotel on the 27th and 28th of January. The staff were eally helpful and the food delicious. This is a very cosy, clean and well run hotel and we will definately stay there again. Many thanks to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LetterkennyMary
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your break. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for taking the time to review it.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Ate here . Bar menu on 30/12. Family of 4. Service food all excellent pork ribs to die for. Old favourites. Chicken Maryland and roast beef. Perfect. Young bar man- Ned - so attentive. All in all a pure pleasure. Best hotel and staff in Ballyliffen. See you again. Hopeful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SEANPMC
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the food. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

n, ireland
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Had a lovely stay here,Very homely hotel,staff very polite and helpful.beds were very comfortable .Overall I was impressed,.Thank you for a relaxing stay .Beautiful seaviews.Very clean hotel.Food was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank junemcmullin
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and feedback.

Portstewart, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

My wife and I booked into the Strand on a December Saturday evening to attend a wedding reception at the nearby Ballyliffin Hotel. It was a quick, courteous and efficient process at reception and the lift was soon whisking us up to a fresh, neat and thoughtfully composed double bedroom. The reception area also looked much rejuvenated from the Strand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biawatch
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is indeed a busy time with Santa and his helpers flat out at Donegal's Lapland aka Doagh Village. It's certainly an exciting time of year for our younger residents!!! I really appreciate your wonderful comments and I look forward to welcoming you on a return.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Looking for a few nights getaway to somewhere out of the way for us we came across a deal on escapes.ie for The Strand Hotel. We were blown away by the price and what the deal included. As we were adamant we wanted to get away for 3 nights but were restricted to the particular 3 nights that we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeahB2212
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your stay. I am of course delighted that you enjoyed your break. We hope to see you again. We do our best to offer our guests a truly welcoming and friendly atmosphere, good honest food and a warm and comfortable base from which to explore Inishowen, Co Donegal. It's well worth a...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
341 reviews
0.4 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
816 reviews
8.5 km away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
202 reviews
18.8 km away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range: €87 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Ballyliffin, County Donegal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find out where the family rooms are and get as far away as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Biawatch, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with views of Pollan beach”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdF5858VT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay as hotel was full when we tried to book. Good sign.”
 of 5 bubbles 827frankd, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the car park and above the main entrance, as these get a bit noisy late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles marting971, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at back with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles jant873, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5