Breffni Arms Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Breffni Arms Hotel

Traveller (15)
Complimentary food in the evening,  a nice gesture.
Dining (5)
Comfy beds
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Arva
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Breffni Arms Hotel is a family-run 3 star hotel situated in the small town of Arvagh in County Cavan. Only 90 minutes from Dublin and Belfast along quiet country roads in the heart of Ireland's Lakelands famous for its fishing, golf courses, horse riding and leisure walks. Perfectly positioned where the three provinces meet (Ulster, Leinster & Connaught), the hotel is beautifully decorated, tastefully furnished and fully equipped to international standards offering complimentary Wi-Fi and free parking on site.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Babysitting
Children's playground
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Highchairs available
Pushchairs
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
74Reviews1Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 12
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AliB123238 wrote a review Jul 2021
Mullingar, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for a one night stay whilst indoor dining/drinking was still not allowed unless you are resident. The reception area needs some care as the water in the vase of flowers was so stale and green we thought frogs would jump out at any minute! Thankfully that was the only sign of neglect. The hotel car park is understandably converted to an outside eating area but street parking was free outside. Our room 104 was clean, spacious and comfy although being at the front you are aware of the traffic. We ate a lovely meal in the converted car park/ dining area. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. We ate breakfast the next morning inside where there was plenty if choice of juices, cereals, cooked breakfast which ticked a box and off we went on our journey home. Definitely a place to return to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Thank you ALiBi, Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vincent S wrote a review Jul 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
So we booked last minute by phone the guy Darren took our booking for 2 nights Friday and Saturday as clear as day we said our dates and even asked about music in the hotel he mentioned who was playing and said see you tomorrow evening took bank details. We arrived down with 2 exited kids who haven’t had a holiday this year and myself as i barely get a weekend off . We checked in only to find that they booked us in for the 11 th of august the young lady on reception was rushed with food service aswell but tried her best to solve issues we got one night in hotel plus offered an apartment up the road meaning we would have to pack up again and go to an apartment. We live in a housing estate so going to an apartment was a no go plus we booked so we wouldn’t have to cook or clean . The young lady who had her kids with her was very nice and helpful and offered a complimentary night in front of an older lady who gave her a dirty look when she said this . The older lady was owner never said sorry just went off . The food was lovely the staff were lovely except one were lovely the room was lovely it’s just a pity we were charged 170 for a night on check out no mention of complimentary night not even a drink or meal on the house we had to pack up with two very disappointed kids back home 2 hour drive. Definitely could have been sorted better by owner .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Thank you for your Review. My apologies to you all, it is most unusual for the manner in which you were treated and I will call you later.Thanking you Eamonn.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dublin 11 wrote a review Sept 2020
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in this delightful little hotel for three nights in September 2020. The food was excellent. The Staff were very pleasant and the room was very comfortable.The location is great and convenient for trips into surrounding counties - even as far as Belleek and Omagh in Northern Ireland. I would recommend this hotel highly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 12 Sept 2020
Comper803059, Thank you very much for your great review . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and all of our facilities. Looking forward to meeting you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mlmc2004 wrote a review Aug 2021
cork
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my husband and 4 year old son for 2 nights whilst breaking our journey doing the marble arch caves and stairway to heaven. Have to say that food was absolutely amazing, super choices on menu, great child's menu and very kindt,tolerant and attentive staff.

Room was spaceous, small hotel on the street so expect a small amount of traffic that comes to a big lull around 10 pm. Parking on the street not any issue, small playpark across the road with lovely views across the lake.

Would definitely stay here again whilst breaking a journey from Northern Ireland, Donegal etc if you're from down South. Stairway to heaven awful on a wet windy day, I'm sure amazing on a fine day.

Thumbs up to Breffani arms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2021
MLMC thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you had a nice time with us. You were unlucky with the weather it is amazing on a fine day, better luck next time .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ger L wrote a review Oct 2022
Cork, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights and found the whole experience faultless. The rooms would put many 5 star hotels to shame, absolutely spotless and so spacious. The breakfast each morning was simply splendid. The staff were friendly and the bar food each evening was delicious . Well done. Will we be back. Most definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms at the front on the street side are quiter than those closer to the function room at the back
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Theiss111, Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to meeting you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian Wilkinson wrote a review Sept 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from another great week at the Breffni. Eamonn and Philomena run a fantastic business, spotlessly clean comfortable rooms, Fantastic food and wonderful staff. Fantastic fishing the area and bait can be ordered direct to the hotel. Would highly recommend staying here to explore the area. See you all again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely Review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the local amenities. We are looking forward to seeing you next year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda H wrote a review Jan 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights . The weather was atrocious, going outside was like walking in a car wash. The hotel was superb, a lovely ambience, pleasant, helpful staff who did everything to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were excellent, comfortable , spacious , warm and welcoming. They were well decorated and spacious with a large en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The bed was comfortable and had a choice of pillows. Free Wi-Fi was on offer as were bottles of sparkling or still water..The breakfast menu was amazing an enormous choice and the food delicious. There is an interesting dinner menu , again the food is delicious and plentiful . Would strongly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: There are 12 rooms to choose from of equal quality.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2023
Catevellauni, We are very grateful for your kind Review, it means a lot to us to know you had a wonderful stay with us . Thank you very much and hopefully we will see you soon. Happy new year to you and all your family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ivan M wrote a review Feb 2022
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and partner stayed overnight on the 26th February. The Gentleman who greeted us on our arrival was very polite and courteous. Our room was beautiful, clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was of the highest quality. Without hesitation we would recommend a visit to this Gem of a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2022
Ivan M, Really great you had a good experience with us, we are looking forward to greeting you in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria Rhoda A wrote a review May 2024
Ireland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is clean and comfy to sleep and the staff in the reception and restaurant are nice . The foods were delicious, however the noise outside disturbed your sleep. The TV is small enough for a big room. It was very warm at night and there was no aircon in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Less facilities ,less parking but nice staff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 18 May 2024
Mariarhodaa, Thank you for your Review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stanleyScotland wrote a review Oct 2023
Fife, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the booking process to checkout everything was perfect. On arrival it was obvious that the staff were happy. This comes from the top and the hotel is run by an extremely hard working, helpful and cheery family. Our room (104) was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and comfortable with good quality bedding. The en-suite was clean and the shower was powerful. There was a good choice for breakfast, quality ingredients and well cooked. The same goes for the evening meals. Nothing was too much trouble even helping with an issue we had with our hire car which was alright in the end! We would love to return at some point.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eamonn Gray, Owner at Breffni Arms Hotel
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are delighted your experience with us was a good one. you were a lovely couple to have on board and looking forward to welcoming your return at some point. glad all was good in the end ,cheers and good health.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ruste1966 asked a question Aug 2014
Derry, United Kingdom
is there a gym or swimming pool onsite??
Answer from Eamonn G
Cavan, France
Sorry, not any more
Maria Rhoda A wrote a tip May 2024
Ireland9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Less facilities ,less parking but nice staff. "
Read full review
Linda H wrote a tip Jan 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 12 rooms to choose from of equal quality."
Read full review
Ger L wrote a tip Oct 2022
Cork, Ireland12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the front on the street side are quiter than those closer to the function room at the back"
Read full review
Sheldon B wrote a tip May 2019
Winnipeg53 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were on the front of the hotel and it was great. No noise issue, night or day."
Read full review
BMWBiker1200RT wrote a tip Jul 2017
Wexford, Ireland20 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quiet village but back rooms would be quieter."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Arva area.
PRICE RANGE
€158 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandCounty CavanArva
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BREFFNI ARMS HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Arva, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Breffni Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Breffni Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Killykeen Forest Park (0.9 km), Leebeen Park (6.4 km), and Kilbracken Arms (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Breffni Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Breffni Arms Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Breffni Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Breffni Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Breffni Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr Chips Carrigallen, Insomnia, and Breffni Arms Hotel.
Is Breffni Arms Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Arva.
Does Breffni Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Breffni Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jacobean Church (10.4 km).
Is Breffni Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.