We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Save
Share
Cranaghan, Ballyconnell H14 FE03 Ireland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
US$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/12/21
Priceline
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (661)
Room & Suite (133)
Videos (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is the 18-Hole PGA National Ireland Championship Course, nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Golf course
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Mini golf
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
2231Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,378
  • 527
  • 194
  • 79
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maria B wrote a review Yesterday
11 contributions2 helpful votes
We went away on a romantic spa weekend to this hotel and couldn’t have asked for any better. We went for 2 nights and had breakfast both mornings once in the setanta and another in the buffet style breakfast restaurant. The service in both were second to none. We then had a day of spa treatments on Saturday which were excellent.we used the spa suites before our massage and facial and they were in excellent condition. My masseuse Teresa was excellent and had an extensive knowledge of the products and what would work well with my skin. Since then my skin has been soft and less irritable. The price of the hotel is expensive so we made the most of our stay by using the pool and all amenities including scenic walks around the grounds. They have a range of Elemis products in the rooms and the rooms are immaculate. If you are splashing out on a stay here I would recommend making the most of your visit! I will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cathleencp H wrote a review 1 Aug
Galway, Ireland42 contributions76 helpful votes
My husband and I spent 2 nights there in July. Rooms are a good size and well kitted out. Our view was of an enclosed courtyard and we were overlooked by other rooms across the courtyard which was not what we would have liked. Food was just okay. The online booking of meals, pools and gym was hit and miss and not coordinated or linked into the central reservations system which meant that is was confused and confusing. Something that struck us as humorous as well as bemusing was that we had to the bring our bikes in through the main entrance to store them safely overnight - the campus is huge and there appeared to be no external lock-up. Luckily our entrance did not coindcie with the wedding that was due to arrive!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooked/facing into the courtyard
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
KGN wrote a review Jul 2021
Kildare, Ireland9 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed with family in july. Had followed hotel directions of pre booking swimming, dinner and breakfast before arrival. The rooms we were given was on 7th floor. The corridor has coloured markers down the wall. The chair in bedroom broken. The windows not safe as toddler could push out and lend outwards. View was looking onto courtyard to people hanging out washing from bedroom windows. Staff very hit and miss, some are lovely couldn't fault, others extremely rude no interest in talking or helping you. Stayed for 2 nights and not once ever did we see any cleaning staff wiping over surfaces in common areas or the bathrooms for covid restrictions. The main bar needs more staff, floor staff limited and running around bless them. The bar staff same dublin fellas great Craic but worked off their feet. Main issue booked swimming, the staff cancelled our session next day without telling us. Checked email so got cancellation, went back down as them to rectify was assured it was but I checked next day and it wasnt fixed so would have missed swimming again had to ask them to fix it. Not once did they offer an apology for their mistake. After the pandemic everyone is looking forward to a break away, it is a shame such a highly recommended hotel has gone downhill so much. Would never return and would tell others to avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Walker, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review, I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. I will privately message you so that I may follow up on any shortcomings. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you will reconsider your decision not to return as we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Read more
Sara R wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
We recently stayed in the family suite in the Slieve Russell Hotel. The hotel has that wow factor as you drive in. We were staying in room 208 which faced out on to the view of the beautiful water feature you see as you drive in. This room is one of the family suites. It was so handy having 2 bedrooms and my boys loved the bunk beds! Very handy to have a fridge in the room and a big jacuzzi bath. Kids club was a god send. If you sign your kids up that morning they can attend the kids dinner which is included. They loved going in on their own and felt so grown up. We made sure to book the pool so we wouldn't be disappointed. It was clean and not packed with people. I tried to find a dryer to wring out my swim clothes but couldn't find one. ( my only complaint which is very small. ) The dinner in Conall Cearnach on the 1st night was lovely. Staff were very attentive. On the second night we had dinner The Summit restaurant. The restaurant itself didn't have air con and it was extremely hot. Nothing the staff could do obviously. The food was excellent we enjoyed the meal while the kids watched a movie in the kids club. Breakfast was lovely and you have a choice of 2 restaurants with a self service or served to you option. We did both for a bit of variety. We will definitely return. Great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Walker, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to learn you and your family had a "great stay" with us. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Read more
Lisa wrote a review Jul 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My fiancé and I stayed here for the first time on Friday for two nights and it did not disappoint. Even though it was the warmest weekend ever, the staff were absolutely fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. They were all presented so professionally and wore their masks at all times (I don't no how they managed it in that heat). My fiancé played a round if golf on the Saturday and I was his caddy lol. He said the course was one of the best he has played and he has played a few!! I absolutely loved the walk around the course, as the scenery was absolutely breathtaking!! We then relaxed in the pool area which was also beautifully presented and very well run, especially with the current restrictions in place. We also had a few drinks in the Kwells bar which had some lovely cocktails on offer, plus a singer on the Friday night which was lovely. We dined in the summit restaurant both evenings and both meals were outstanding, lots of selections and good value for money. The breakfast was also lovely, i really liked that we could help ourselves to juice, cereal and pastries, but were also able to order our cooked food from the menu, which meant it was fresh and warm. The only thing I would change and this is me just being picky is the thermal spa, unfortunately you can only use it if you book a treatment and even then its an extra €20. I wouldn’t have minded paying the extra but wasnt allowed as we didnt want a treatment. However this could only be due to the current restrictions in place, not sure. Overall though it is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure to stay at and will def be back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tony Walker, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to learn that you found Slieve Russell to be one of the best hotels you have stayed at! Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your fiance back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$136 - US$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
slieve russell hotel and country
LOCATION
IrelandCounty CavanBallyconnell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
222
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Which popular attractions are close to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Nearby attractions include Angler's Rest (2.8 km), The Widows Bar (7.4 km), and The Workhouse Bawnboy Ballyconnel (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Angler's Rest, The Seven Horseshoes, and Sophia's Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Workhouse Bawnboy Ballyconnel (8.0 km).
Does Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.