We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3.5 From Paquera Ferry, Paquera 60105 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$55
Agoda.comUS$55
TripadvisorUS$55
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (42)
Pool & Beach (10)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 9 Speciality lodging in Paquera
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All 16 units have private bathrooms, AC, mini-fridge, cable TV, Wi-Fi, pool, daily housekeeping, and BBQ picnic area; all rooms have local cuisine menus that deliver. Plenty of parking for cars, even buses or large trucks. In addition to the cabins, we now have The Cozy Casita, a 2B/1B House, for 4 People. Having all the basics of an equipped kitchen: silverware, dinnerware, refrigerator, gas stove and oven with other small electrical appliances. It has AC and ONLY Hot water in the shower and price includes mid-week housekeeping along with towel change when needed at office. We're about 7KM to Reserve that offer optional tours, to Quesera Beach or Tortuga Island and can include on the way snorkel or scuba, they also have the night bioluminescence tours. Those tours are also offered by others in town along with seasonal whale/dolphin watching, Island hopping and sports fishing. Beaches nearby: Cuchillo Paquera(Organos), Pochote, Pajaros, Margarita and Tambor Beach.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Boating
Snorkelling
Taxi service
Manicure
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Archery offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Massage
Pedicure
Picnic area
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
Spanish
28Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 8
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
MichaelDTraveller wrote a review Dec 2018
Santa Elena, Costa Rica151 contributions14 helpful votes
This place is located just on the border of central Paquera. If you don't have a car it can be a little tricky to get around so make sure that you ask someone for the number of a taxi driver once you get there. All the people working at Mapi's Cabins were very kind and super helpful. The water pressure was almost non-existent and the floor tiles in our room were all lose and breaking. All of these things didn't really matter in the end. The place is a little run down but you probably won't be spending too much time at the hotel. There are just so many beautiful places to visit in Paquera and Curu Park. There are also some good restaurants within walking distance from Mapi's.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank B, Owner at Mapi's Cabins
Responded 20 Dec 2018
It’s always a pleasure to have guests that can appreciate the convenience of our location, that we're nearby the beaches and Curu Reserve. We're a small, out of the country, family-run budget "one star" accommodation that can't always match the standards of a hotel and located off the beaten tracks of Costa Rica, we're faced with many challenges to keeping it updated than meets the eye but we still rely and remain grateful for guests that support us and the locals when coming out of their way to visit us! As out of the country owners, we depend on your candid reviews to give us the opportunity to address any issues we're not aware of though we encourage instead, to bring it to the attention of our staff, while you're on-site, as the best quickest solution for you to continue enjoying the rest of your stay being it's everyone's goal at Mapi's for each guest to leave with great memories. We hope all our guests like you, can see beyond "these things that don't really matter in the end because you come to experience the many beautiful places that's in the area", though I'd like to reassure you, that I checked all the rooms for water pressure and everything is working fine and we only have a few second floor units that have cracked tiles and though they have been repaired before, it seems to be a continued settling issue, that we will have to address again in the slow season... Thanks Again for your kind words and support! Nilda (Owner)
Read more
jana-rittelmann wrote a review May 2017
Heredia, Costa Rica1 contribution
We enjoyed our two nights stay (3 persons) at Mapi's very much! Frank and Nilda seem to be very nice (unfortunately we didn't meet them in person, but they sent very nice texts with a lot of great recommendations (tours to isla tortuga and various beaches, bioluminescence tour (a must-do!!))). Also there wasn't any problem as we asked if we could bring another person at short notice, we just got another room with one more bed. Our room was big (nice bathroom with hot shower, three comfortable beds, wardrobe, desk and some stools) and very, very clean! There also is free coffee in the morning and a small swimming pool you can use. I'd definitely recommend a stay at Mapi's, although you'll need to take the bus or a taxi to the ferry and Refugio Curú (no bus).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank B, Owner at Mapi's Cabins
Responded 2 Jun 2017
Jana, thanks for your kind words! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay... I wasn't aware you didn't have a car or else I would have also mentioned that Curu Reserve offers Mapi's guests to be picked up, only at 7AM, $2 pp each way. I'm not sure if that will be cheaper than getting a Taxi to Curu? But glad you mentioned it, so everybody knows now... And I agree, it's unfortunate, as out of the country owners, we truly miss out meeting a lot of wonderful people from all over the world! We can only go randomly a couple of times/weeks throughout the year, so who knows if you visit again, we might meet! My husband and son are there now until June 14th! Nilda
Read more
Sue K wrote a review Apr 2017
Cocolalla, Idaho64 contributions12 helpful votes
My stay there was one of the best on my adventure. My room was comfortable, with good hot water and cool air conditioning. Liked that I could cook meals in the outdoor kitchen. The pool was a nice relief on the hot afternoons. The location is great for fishing, snorkeling, kayaking and hiking. Would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Had an upper room that I found to be quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank B, Owner at Mapi's Cabins
Responded 2 Jun 2017
Sue, it was a pleasure to have you and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for taking time to post such kind words... Most guests just drive through, staying only one night, they miss out on everything that's around to do here and I belileve you stayed for a week and I don't think you got to do the night luminescence waters tour! Which everybody claims to be a "magical experience". I hope you come back again! Nilda
Read more
Kathy M wrote a review Nov 2015
Casselberry, Florida2 contributions1 helpful vote
Mapi's is a family style hotel with local Costa Ricans working there. The owners, Frank and Nilda are wonderful people who can show you the highlights of Paquera. This is a poor country from our (US) standards, but their food, their country and their sights are spectacular. Las Vegas restaurant is around the corner and their food is excellent. Hummingbirds at your door, a shrimp farm around the corner and peace/quiet is what I wanted to experience. It was affordable for families and singles alike. There is a lot to see. Fresh fish and fresh fruit was bountiful. I definitely will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The upstairs might be quieter, but I had no problems sleeping on the first floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank B, Owner at Mapi's Cabins
Responded 22 Nov 2015
Kathy, it was our pleasure to have you! Though we're not there all year round, we truly value our guests in striving to meet their expectations with or without our presence... Definitely, your stay was too short but at least, you got a "sample taste", leaving you wanting to come back for more, which you'll find, Costa Rica has a lot more to see and offer... With so many accommodations to choose from and places to see, as your first time out of the USA, we sincerely appreciate, you chose US! It's only "Pura Vida" in Costa Rica! Thankyou, for taking the time from your busy schedule to post your kind comments...
Read more
Jim H wrote a review Feb 2015
Buffalo, New York54 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel Mapi's is a small little unpretentious hotel sitting about 3 kilometers from the ferry landing that goes between Paquera on the Nicoya Peninsula and Puntarenas town on the main coast. We stayed there because Jake, a transplanted Canadian with gives advice for tips at the Puntarenas ferry recommended it. Great little hotel for the money. One night was $28 and for that we got a clean room, air-conditioned, nice bed and hot shower. We had arrived on the ferry late and didn't want to travel the unpaved road to our reserved hotel at night so we stayed there. Not fancy but very nice people and very good value.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank B, Owner at Mapi's Cabins
Responded 17 Mar 2015
Thanks for taking the time to recognizing us, as "Best Value of Trip"! It's an important part of our goal, that our guests feel comfortable enough to afford staying a little longer. To then enjoy not just the diversity of beaches in the area but exploring nature, at it's best, tucked away in this little relaxed suburban city of Paquera. We thank you, for choosing to stay with us and hope you keep us in mind for the future, to come back and experience all this along with discovering everybody's favorite, nature destination, Curu Reserve. They offer a wide variety of activities: diving, snorkeling, several trail hikes to beaches, boat excursions to famous Tortuga Island and the park's natural ambiance of nature's critters like monkies, iguanas etc. and sometimes, the exceptional surprise of rehabbing rare animals or birds like the quetzal... But I'm sure where ever your travels take you in Costa Rica, it will be "Pura Vida"!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasPaquera
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mapi's Cabins
Which popular attractions are close to Mapi's Cabins?
Nearby attractions include Tortuga Island (6.9 km), Reserva Curu (3.9 km), and Playa Quesera (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mapi's Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mapi's Cabins?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Mapi's Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mapi's Cabins?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Liz Seafood MACHO, Marisquería Las Vegas, and Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mapi's Cabins?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mapi's Cabins located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Paquera.