We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunwing Kamala Beach

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunwing Kamala Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 411: English reviews
Start your review of Sunwing Kamala Beach
 Click to rate
Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sunwing Resort Kamala Beach is one of the most child-friendly resorts I’ve ever been to. We stayed there for 3 nights but we could have easily stayed there for a week without getting bored. The location is great for families and there's a night market just out of the hotel. The pools are awesome. Read the full review on my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara_E_11
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this 8 night accommodation package through a Scoopon voucher where my kids stayed for free. The deal was excellent value and we all had a great time. The resort itself is run by a Swedish company and caters mainly to a European market. It is clean, large, has lots of pools and is well maintained. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DGalilee
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear DGalilee, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience and thank you again for your positive remarks regarding the cleanliness of our resort, the food in our restaurant and our good location! As much as we understand that the style of our family resort was not into your liking, we...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Royal Family Suites on the ground floor where we had access directly to the pool from our room. It was perfect for us because we had three kids who were in the pool constantly and we could watch them from our room or on the sun lounge outside our door. With 3 waterslides, pool basketball and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LeeH007
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear LeeH007, Thank you for choosing to stay here in our resort! We are glad that you liked our place not to mention the room that we have provided to you, the accessibility of our location and the varied breakfast that suited well to your family! Moreover, it is good to hear that we were able to earn your recommendation!...

South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Sunwing Kamala Beach Resort in November 2011. Staff very friendly and it's nicely situated away from all the noise yet close enough if you want to join in on the action. We hired a scooter and although we were based here explored the whole of Phuket. Kamala has its own local village market and very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariusbooysen
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mariusbooysen, Thank you for sharing a very encouraging feedback about Kamala and our resort! We are pleased that you liked our place though its a bit distant to the center but closer to the beach and indeed quiet! Its tranquility will give you a restful nights after a well spend days exploring the island of Phuket! It is good...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved this hotel. We stayed in a pool access room which we absolutely enjoyed. Our pool was lovely and quiet as most people used the main pool which is huge and has a swim up bar and water slides. The beach is only a short walk away and there are little shops and restaurants dotted along the length of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ranita B
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ranita B, Thank you for making our resort your choice of stay on your family getaway here in Phuket! We are pleased that you liked our hotel that perfectly catered to your family not to mention to your kids that loved our evening shows! We hope that you will return and see us again some time, soon! Kind regards,...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We were very impressed with the hotel, spacious and clean with good breakfast and great amenities, and location was fantastic. 10 minute walk to the beach through private grounds. Great value for money! For shopping it was only a 20 minute drive to nearby Patong. We will definitely return again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank conradski01
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear conradski01, Thank you for making our resort your choice of stay on your family getaway here in Phuket! And thank you again for sharing a great review! It is so fulfilling to hear that you were very impressed with our hotel that perfectly suited to your family! We shall then anticipate your next return, very soon! Kind regards, Edissa...

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Our family has been coming to Phuket for many years. First time at Sunwing Kamala. We have booked 3 Beach Front rooms at approx 180€/night/room. Below rating is considering its 4 star rating and price paid. Service Very friendly welcome and general service. 4 star Location Very nice with direct beach access and many beach restaurants and shops nearby. 4...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Idamar
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Idamar, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your own insight and constructive feedback which we appreciate! Though it is truly disappointing to hear that we failed to fully fulfill your expectations! Rest assured that we will use this feedback you gave us to implement improvement so we could serve you and our other incoming guests better...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We arrived at Sunwing Kamala beach to hospital-like corridor that eventually took you to the reception area ( I would not refer to it as a lobby ). After waiting 30 minutes for our rooms (as Sunwing have an irregular check in time of 3pm), We were pointed to, not led, to our rooms. The rooms are basic ,very outdated...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BSwissa
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear BSwissa, Thank you for staying in our resort and for sharing your insight and constructive feedback which we appreciate! To provide our guests with a superior experience is what we always work hard for and it is truly disappointing to hear that we fell short of goal in this occasion! Moreover, Sunwing Bangtao Beach is a family resort and...

Maafushi Island
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Went there for just 1 night/2 days with my 5 years old son, and we had plenty of fun in the pools, slide and on the beach. The room was basic but nice, with almost a direct access to one of the pool. Food was decent, and at a decent price too... Kid's animations were also quite fun... Overall a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Marc P, Thank you for sharing your overall good experience staying here in our family resort! It made us both happy and proud to hear we fully lived up to your expectation! And, we shall then anticipate your next return, soon! Kind regards, Edissa C. Royo

Europe
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, mega friendly staff, clean and over Thai standards. Sunwing Kamala is perfect for families with children. Great buffet food. Playgrounds, pools, laundry, pool bars. Supreme children animation. But all without children's avoid this hotel and take Sunprime hotel. Is the same and near by, but children noise free. Recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sebastjan F
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sebastjan F, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your good feedback! It is so fulfilling to hear you liked everything our resort has to offer, not to mention our perfect location and overall services provided to you! We are glad that we were able to earn your good recommendation! We...

665 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (435)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (255)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (202)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Family Suite (33)
Viewed
Happy Baby Studio (26)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Royal Studio with Pool Access (28)
Viewed
Studio (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 km away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
4.3 km away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
16.2 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Price Range: €71 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunwing Kamala Beach staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Sunwing Kamala Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on ground level close to the pool are great for kids.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeH007, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great pool access room for families as they have extra gate for little kids”
 of 5 bubbles hoppermag, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pool access was great, even in low season we were glad we had it.”
 of 5 bubbles borinorge, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms with pool access are best!”
 of 5 bubbles mrandall2016, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for beach and swimming ideal for kids”
 of 5 bubbles kakhouti, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5