We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Gateshead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Gateshead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 322: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Gateshead
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Simple, fun, clean and great service From Meeting tara at reception on arrival was warm and welcoming. Helped us best places to go and enjoy our stay.... great breakfast and beds where comfy and clean . Highly recommend

1Thank Rea C
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Gateshead to visit family so needed an adequate comfortable room at a reasonable price and that is exactly what we got. The room was comfortble and clean and the staff were extremely helpful

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1Thank josW34PM
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Prior to booking, I checked out the Tripadvisor reviews and was a bit apprehensive when I read many others say this is a "party hotel", frequented by people on hen nights and stag dos and that a bad night's sleep was imminent due to other people's late night shenanigans. As a family travelling with young children, this was definitely not...

2Thank lanasmum
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having a brilliant time in Newcastle. Hotel is brilliantly placed for the metro centre and only a 10 minute drive from the city centre. Hotel is very clean, Tara and the rest of the staff are very friendly and approachable.

2Thank Adam M
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great for young adults very loud but good not for families, no food or drink except vending machine, wifi only one person per room can use, no ironing board and have to request iron and hairdryer but good room and hotel overall for the price for the purpose of our stay.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1Thank jazprouse1
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us at our Gateshead Travelodge was affected by noise. We have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as continuous improvement is our main focus. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you again and...

Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were very helpful including the night guards when we arrived back. This was our first stay in Newcastle to which we were also presented with recommendations of places to visit and a card to help return for the taxi driver to not get lost. The room was lovely and clean. No complaints at all. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2Thank melaniegG2494QG
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

so we booked here for a last min get away to do some shopping in metro and im so glad we did the parking is the best iv seen for travelodge and the wellcome from the staff was so good they couldn't do enough for you from suggesting place to eat and visit to just making sure you have enough...

2Thank cooke495
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great location friendly staff good value for money clean room and bathroom plenty of food outlets, in walking distance of metro shopping centre just off the main A1 so easy access railway at the back of hotel but didn't keep us awake.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2Thank phillip H
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you found your stay to be great recently at our Gateshead Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. It pleases us to learn your room was clean and comfortable and you found our hotel to be an ideal location for your needs. We can assure you we will be passing on...

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in many of these kind of travel stops. I have always found the Travelodge to be wanting. The rooms are small and often dirty. The Gateshead one was no different. The bathroom was small and stuffy and there was some sort of orange/brown stuff on the skirting by the toilet. The toilet paper is a cheap version...

Thank masondoyle
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good stay for our party of 16 lads on a stag do no problems whatsoever made to feel welcome by check in staff and doormen on night duty although location for our trip could have been better that was our fault for not checking before booking but didn't spoil our trip

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3Thank lindsaygary

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (19)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (3)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Bathroom (4)
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.7 km away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
686 reviews
5.6 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Price Range: €39 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Gateshead staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Cramlington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
England, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Gateshead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms seem to be quieter.”
masondoyle, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“302 and 304 are spacious.”
868louiser, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view.”
  • View from Scotswood Bridge
  • Double Room
georgebT3298DF, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At the back facing the car park, there is a slight bit of noise from the train line but its very minimal”
622alv, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel i noticed was used for many party goers, so if you wanted a quieter hotel or room here the top floor was very quiet for us”
gypsypete90, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5