We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 723: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We have stayed in many Novotels over the years with the Accor Group and were expecting a bit more of a modern hotel with Novotelish style and gadgets. Mercure must be different as it was nothing like the Novotels we've stayed in! The reception was smart, quirky and boutique style which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyGlutenFreeTravels
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bron B Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Bowden Hall We were delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable break with us recently and that you are considering returning to our hotel. As you discovered, we offer porterage upon check in and also upon check out should guests require assistance...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Mercure Bowden Hall is a 4 stars guest accommodation. establishment. However, the condition of their standard room is not up to this level. There was a smell of disinfectant in the bathroom (as in a hospital), the lino flooring appeared old and dirty and overall the bathroom was very tired. The towels were rough and the pillows’ choice was limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PC65
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PC65 Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Bowden Hall. We were sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction during your time with us. We have reported any shortcomings within the housekeeping department to the relevant manager and this will be actioned by re-training of our housekeeping staff. With regards to your bedroom request, as...

Reviewed 6 February 2017

We arrived and checked in. We were given a room on the top floor which was a bit of a struggle with the bags. The first room had pubic hair in the bath.. we were then moved to another room nearer to the ground floor and told that the hotel was nearly empty, which made us wonder why they put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theresa H Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Bowden Hall. We were most sorry to learn that not everything was to your satisfaction during your time with us. Cleanliness is very important to us and as you will see from previous reviews we usually maintain a high standard in all areas of our hotel. In...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

My husband and I stayed 2 nights Sat and Sunday on a special deal £139 for 2 nights with full breakfast plus an evening meal to the value of £44, we had a twin room beds very comfy and nice pillows and duvet, the bathroom could have done with a makeover but it was very clean and no smells !!,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndawlly45
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lyndawlly45 Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor for our hotel. We were delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction during your recent 2 night break with us and that you had a comfortable stay. Our team pride themselves on providing service of a high standard and we are immensely proud...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

A very pleasant couple of nights. Comfortable quiet room, friendly and accommodating staff. Good breakfast. Dinner in restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. Very quiet location , but only 10 minutes by car to Gloucester centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for your review of Bowden Hall. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed a very pleasant couple of nights here recently with us and that you found your room to be comfortable. As mentioned we are indeed only 10 minutes from the nearby City of Gloucester which makes us an ideal base for...

Southampton
Reviewed 1 February 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic two nights at Bowden Hall. The staff were very accommodating, food was delicious and we had our room upgraded! The bathroom was a little tired but clean and in good working order. We would highly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariabH7140VO
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mariabH7140VO Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Bowden Hall. We were thrilled to read that you and your husband enjoyed a faultless 2 night break at our hotel very recently. We are glad that everything was to your satisfaction regarding your bedroom, the food you enjoyed and the service you experienced from our dedicated...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

First of all I/we would like to say, the waiting staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful, and very professional. The prompt service of the food was quick and timed perfect. The food would get a rating of a 10/10 in our opinion. Served hot, displayed beautiful and most important pleased our palette. Different flavours mixing together on the plate and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kings1976
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kings1976 Thank you for your glowing review of Bowden Hall on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read that you all experienced a very enjoyable and memorable evening meal here with us recently in our Dearman's Restaurant. I will be sure to pass on all of your kind comments to each member of the team that ensured your evening...

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We went away to this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday. We have stayed there before and really enjoyed it. This time the first night really let us down. It was very noisy people banging doors, children shouting and another couple arguing it must have been well after 3.00 before we went to sleep. Not a good start. Next morning...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lymerfamily
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lymerfamily Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to learn that your first night with us did not go as planned due to inconsiderate guests in the room next door. Unfortunately, this is something that we cannot foresee as most families who stay here...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

recently stayed at this hotel for a surprise 60th birthday party and the venue was perfect but was made more special by the staff Both the bar and reception staff are so pleasant and friendly without being overbearing or fussy nothing was to much trouble and there was a lot of us to look after 130 at the party and...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoff m
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear geoff m Thank you for your Trip Advisor review of the recent surprise 60th birthday party event that was hosted at Bowden Hall. We were delighted that every aspect of the day, evening and overnight stay went to plan and that nothing was too much trouble. We are so pleased that our team too good care of you and...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay. Check on felt odd as it looks like the place has been burgled!! Very sparce!! Room huge. TC small! I enjoyed my kebab dinner - tasted good. Breakfast was fine. Staff friendly - I would stay again even though it's a bit in the middle of nowhere!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek W Thank you for your comments of your recent visit to Bowden Hall. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction regarding your bedroom and your meals. We pride ourselves on our team here who work tirelessly to provide a higher than average service to all of...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,468 reviews
7.8 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
777 reviews
10.4 km away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,213 reviews
12.3 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
619 reviews
40.2 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: €72 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Crawley, United Kingdom
3 months ago
4 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors would suit less mobile guests, Attic rooms could be an issue for those over 6 foot.”
 of 5 bubbles mhudson324, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you have problems with stairs I am sure the staff will do their best to put you on the first floor. We got help with our case too.”
 of 5 bubbles Birdbrain1948, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Let the hotel know if you need disabled access as the hotel has no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles I4722URjuliee, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 607PaulD607, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room 227”
 of 5 bubbles Angbar, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5