We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryanmark
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We had booked a short break with Newmarket Holidays for a visit to Highgrove House and Gardens, making our way to this country hotel which was to be our base. Although the break was for two nights, we added a third night to visit Cheltenham. What a lovely surprise. The welcome was friendly and this continued throughout our stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollyfan46
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hollyfan46 Thank you for your Trip Advisor review for Bowden Hall. We were most delighted to read that you experienced a very comfortable and pleasant 3 night stay with us recently. As you have mentioned, we are indeed an ideal base for exploring much of what our beautiful county has to offer particularly the stunning and unique Cotswolds where...

Reviewed 19 May 2016

An impressive Georgian Mansion set in amazing picturesque grounds. We were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room on the fourth floor was large and comfortable with magnificent views overlooking the countryside. Our meals,breakfast and dinners were excellent served by friendly and efficient staff. Altogether we were made extremely welcome at this hotel and we couldn't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael b
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael b Thank you for your review of Bowden Hall. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing stay with us recently. As you mention we are privileged to be set in a very picturesque and idyllic setting ensuring that our guests are made to feel like they are 'away from it all'. Only 10...

Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Stayed here recently on business. The location is in the country side about ten minutes from Gloucester centre. The Hotel is undergoing extensive reservations at the moment so that should be kept in mind. There's a heck of a trek up to a room on the 4th floor with no lift available.I then discovered the key-card wasn't working so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zooprune
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zooprune Thank you for your review for your recent stay at Bowden Hall. We were sorry to read that not everything was to your satisfaction during your time with us. As you mention we are not far from Gloucester city centre making us a very convenient base for exploring the local area without being in a busy and noisy...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This was our third stay at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall. Set in magnificent grounds, we enjoyed a lovely afternoon drink out on the newly laid Sun Terrace.Very pleasant staff were always on hand to cater for any need. Well recommended!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmeegal1
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear schmeegal1 Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and your recommendation for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed yet another successful stay at our hotel and that we did not disappoint in any way. Our Sun Terrace is the perfect place to enjoy either a lunchtime beer or a sun downer before...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

well first impressions were WOW. and to be honest the Hotel did not let us down.. our stay was for 2 nights B&B and evening meal . So Evening Meal . First class food . presented well tasted even better. The breakfast . First class buffet , lots of choice and again really good food . The service could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark J Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bowden Hall We were delighted to read that you experienced a faultless 2 night stay with us recently and that you enjoyed a very comfortable night's sleep during your time here. We are exceptionally proud of our team and we feel that a high standard of...

Grundisburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We spent four nights at this hotel whilst on a coaching holiday. Whilst we don't expect to get their best rooms we found that our room (233) was a good size, clean and suitably equipped. The bathroom was small but, again, adequate for our needs. The set dinner menu was more than suitable for our needs and the meals excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom C Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Trip Advisor for Bowden Hall We were really pleased to read that overall you experienced a comfortable stay during your break with us recently. We were also glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the meals that you had with us. Our team here are...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Our party of 4 stayed at Bowden Hall on the Mercure 'love spring' offer (2 nights B&B + dinner allowance on the first night) and had a really nice stay at this lovely hotel. Check in was quick, our rooms were large and comfortable and the evening meal and breakfasts were hot and tasty. The main building is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken G Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us recently on our 'Love Spring' Offer and that we did not disappoint. As you mention, we are quietly situated only a few miles away from Gloucester City making us...

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, great location in the countryside, good base for exploring Gloucestershire. The decor and rooms are a little dated, but enjoyed our stay nonetheless. Did eat in the restaurant and it was very nice, both breakfast and dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew S Thank you for your Trip Advisor review for Bowden Hall. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your very recent stay with us and that you enjoyed your meals with us. Our 'dated' décor is about to be imminently updated starting with all of our public areas and finishing with our bedrooms in the late Autumn,...

Broughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Check in / out very efficient. But Be aware the is no lift and the stairs are not easy. Dropped suit case and decided to walk around the grounds, To be frank the grounds are nothing spectacular, no better than many a country hotel. Also it was very noticeable that the front looks good the sides less so. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keith_A32
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith_A32 Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We have taken all of your comments on board and trust that you at least enjoyed a decent night's sleep. We were glad that our Reception team were efficient upon your arrival and departure. With regards to all the issues raised about the décor etc of the...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
7.8 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
777 reviews
2.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,471 reviews
10.4 km away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,214 reviews
12.3 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
621 reviews
40.2 km away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: €72 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Perth, Australia
Crawley, United Kingdom
3 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors would suit less mobile guests, Attic rooms could be an issue for those over 6 foot.”
 of 5 bubbles mhudson324, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you have problems with stairs I am sure the staff will do their best to put you on the first floor. We got help with our case too.”
 of 5 bubbles Birdbrain1948, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Let the hotel know if you need disabled access as the hotel has no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles I4722URjuliee, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 607PaulD607, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room 227”
 of 5 bubbles Angbar, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5