We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Breakfast included
Public Wifi
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Great View
Historic Hotel
Full view
Getting there
Bristol Airport60 km
Birmingham Intl Airport77 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 540
  • 500
  • 239
  • 129
  • 113
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
My Husband and l went for afternoon tea in the Tara Restaurant. whilst the amount of food was adequate for us, l am sure a lot of people would find it lacking in quantity. The scones were delicious , but cakes and sandwiches were very bland. My main criticism is the lack of chee
Read more
The place itself is really nice, the bedroom was well decorated, but the bathroom is in dire need of an upgrade, looking at comments this may be due in 2019, looking at some other rooms where friends stayed some had refurbished bathrooms, so I’d advise anyone staying to try and g
Read more
Recently had a two night break in an executive room.Little dissapointed with the facilities given the hotels 4 star rating.
Very poor shower sprayed everywere except were it suposed to,and very difficult to regulate temperature.
Bath was very of poor quality and you felt you woul
Read more
Response from A-Duggan23, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Newboy, Thankyou for your review following your stay. I am disappointed to read your comments, I can inform you we do have a planned refurbishment program for our bedroom bathrooms which is due to take place throughout 2019. Kind Regards, Anthony Duggan General Manager
Read more
This was beautiful, old manor house out of the city, on top of a hill. It was a little difficult to find, but once there, everything was great. However, since I had used Expedia to book my room, I was assigned a room way up on the 3rd floor, with no elevator, and several fire d
Read more
Response from A-Duggan23, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear dtesco, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. I do hope to be able to welcome you back to Hatton Court in the future. Kind Regards, Anthony Duggan General Manager
Read more
I booked the last room; with Cheltenham race weekend and a wedding, this hotel was very busy. I was on the second floor of the annex, a room with ceiling beams and a great view over the Cotswold escarpment. Luckily, I could not hear the noise from the M5 motorway below the hotel.
Read more
Response from A-Duggan23, Manager at Hatton Court Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Carol, Thankyou for your detailed review of your stay. I found your comments insightful and will of course look into all the things you have mentioned. Kind Regards, Anthony Duggan General Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHatton Court Hotel
The Superior Room, East Wing at the Hatton Court Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHatton Court Hotel
The Superior Double Room, East Wing at the Hatton Court Hotel
Has anyone ever stayed at the Hatton Court Hotel for their Christmas 3 Day Break ? Did they enjoy and was. It money well spent ? Which are the best rooms to book? Finally are the drinks expensive to buy ?
The drinks are expensive, but the usual hotel pricing. The cream tea is £17.50 per head and I personally found it expensive for what is provided. I have had better at £19:00 per couple. I cannot advise on the rooms as we have not stayed there for some years, but believe the rooms were undergoing refurbishment. Certainly the Reception area has been refurbished. There has been a recent change in the Manager so I would anticipate more changes. The views are great though. There are open fires in the reception area and when we stayed the superior rooms were lovely, however it was a while ago.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi has anyone stayed in the superior double room, and are there open fires? Thanks fir help?
Hi when my partner and I stayed in the superior room there was no fireplace there!
0 votes
Show all answers
Staying in the suite will there be a bottle of champers in there or do you have to pay extra
It will depend your booking arrangements...
0 votes
Show all answers
We are staying here this weekend? Can someone tell me if all the superior rooms are updated now?
We did not have the advantage of a cut price offer and felt that our accomodation and level of service were not of the standard one expects of a four star hotel. The Hatton Court needs money invested to bring up the standard of decor and it's furnishings to meet its guests' expectations. So sad, it could be a beautiful hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
Soon to visit and marginally concerned re reviews suggesting your charges for wine and bar drinks are excessively high. Could you comment please? Thank you.
£9 for a large glass of very poor Malbec ! £23 for Poor very light wait Pinot Sugar water would have more kick
1 vote
Show all answers
"Ask for a lower floor"
"Choose the back of the hotel away from the motorway"
"Room 3 is a good size with a large bathroom,and easy to access, but floodlit and fronting the car drop-off area"
"Don't accept room 27 its small (for a superior) and very noisy."
"Some rooms have a beautiful view of the Cotswold if you're on the right side."
US$71 - US$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hotel hatton court
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsGloucesterUpton St Leonards
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing