We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hatton Court Hotel

Booking.comUS$86*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$86*
US$90*
US$86*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,246: English reviews
Start your review of Hatton Court Hotel
 Click to rate
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 50 years. As you first arrive you approach via a drive with some very big pot holes etc. And has been so for many years. Stayed in a superior room with jacuzzi, all was very tired, with broken tiles where woodlice lives!! Food in main Tara restaurant was expensive and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sgljel
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Had a family wedding over the weekend, which was held her. On arrival the building is so beautiful with fantastic views, but also has many faults. 1)On arrival the receptionist was rude only provided one key per couple to the room, whixh the person I was sharing with already arrived before me and told me I had to go and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lyndseyann983
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lyndseyann983, Thank you for your review. I am sorry but I have struggled to decipher your words and comments. Alongside your contradictory points, eg under cooked - dry food, its a very blurred and irrational review. If the wedding you were referring to was last weekend, then I am very aware that both our Brides and Grooms had a...

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel in February with a Virgin experience voucher for a 2 night stay commencing 2nd June, as we are celebrating a special birthday in Gloucester with many friends and family meeting up at The Docks. Our trip has been months in the planning.The hotel manager emailed me on Monday confirming my booking, however by Wednesday another 'extended...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank _angela_lampe
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela_lampe, Thank you for your review. unfortunately your review is totally and utterly inaccurate and an unfair slant on Claudia, who went above and beyond to find you alternative accommodation at your demand, which she indeed did only for you to refuse it. Its a shame that Tripadvisor gives this platform to people who use it for leverage. However...

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a lovely hotel that was tucked away off the beaten path. You really couldn't hear the noise of town at all. It had gorgeous views. Rooms were spacious and had nice restrooms with jetted tubs. No air conditioning, but there were 2 sets of windows and we could get a nice breeze going. Dinner and breakfast were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amh3k
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear amh3k, Thanks for your great review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. You are correct some of our beds do need changing and they are being replaced with new mattresses as we speak. Best Regards, Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Hatton Court hotel for a wedding venue. Good value for money, rooms were tidy, stunning views and Jacuzzi bath. The wedding was held there along with the reception and the evening do. There is a marquee for partys or wedding receptions, quite a busy place. Food was good aswell, ideal wedding venue as all in close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob144
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rob144 Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding you were attending and thank you for your kind comments on the marquee and its benefits. We are a very busy hotel and it makes it all worthwhile when we get comments such as yours. Thanks Simon

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here once before still quality pleasant staff food good views across Gloucester very good would recommend if you want somewhere quiet but still not far from city centre would probably come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 414chippy
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 414chippy, Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read a repeat stayer enjoying their experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again, for our best offers have a look on our own website. Thanks Simon

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stay here many times before and have always had good service but last night the only good thing was the receptionist. Staff were not attentive and the quality of food within the restaurant was very poor. The room was not clean and in desperate need of maintenance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 360neil2017
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 360neil2017, Thank you for your review and thank you for your comments. Having stayed with us many times, I am disappointed that you chose to write your first ever review as a negative, about a hotel that you have apparently stayed in so many times before ...... We have a very good relationship with all our frequent stayers that...

Gloucester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel with some good views of Gloucester. I was here on management course and the hotel provided excellent service. Good conference rooms with all the necessary tools ,flip boards and endless tea, coffee and water. The lunch menu was buffet and was very nice. Evening meal was pre-ordered from a set menu and was simply some of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milero
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Milero, Thank you for your positive and supportive review. I am delighted that you found our confernece offering to be of a very high standard. My Head Chef Adam is very pleased with your food commens. Hipefully we will see you back here in the future. Best Regards, Simon Hanna

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely old building. Features slightly dated but for the price I have no complaints. Staff are pleasant. Room is nice and spacious smelt a little musty but that is probably due to the age of building. cafetiere in the room is a nice touch. There was a slight mix up at dinner but this was sorted quickly and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMH1968
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DMH1968, Thank you for your kind and complimentary review. I am delighted that my team, especially Tom rectified any issues that you had to your satisfaction. We look forward to you returning again. Best Regards, Simon Hanna

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 4 rooms at this hotel in March (for a stay in June) they asked for full payment at time of booking, so paid nearly £2,000 for Dinner bed & breakfast for 2 nights. We had to cancel and were told we couldn't get any money back and they wouldn't change the date! its disgusting. We gave more then a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joellegardner
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joellegardner, This review, if it can be called a review is totally slanderous and defamatory. Your booking was made with a 3rd party "Weekend in the Country" thus your contract is with them not with us. I am sorry your Hen Party is no longer going ahead but it is no fault of Hatton Court Hotel. Regard's Simon Hanna

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (250)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (25)
Viewed
Executive Room, Main House (27)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room, East Wing (22)
Viewed
Superior Room, East Wing (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2.0 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
787 reviews
8.9 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
810 reviews
1.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,095 reviews
5.3 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
349 reviews
20.9 km away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: €86 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from wedding/events marquees”
LoneRanger57, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Check the beds first”
carololiver1, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newly refurbished rooms”
Dwupton, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the annexe and right at the top which means lots of stairs .”
893MandyW, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best avoided!”
DawnM1963, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$86
Hotels.comUS$90
TripAdvisorUS$86
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates