We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Showing 623: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

This is the first time for our kids to visit Phuket. Water Park seems so exciting for kids. Another good point is close to airport. If you needed real phuket beach, this may be not first choice. Overall facilities are considered as fair level. Breakfast, all 3 days, at restaurant near beach may need bigger place since there were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pratya S
Denis T, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear Pratya S, Warm greetings from Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. The resort is certainly ideal for families with Splash Jungle being a real highlight for children and adults alike, an ideal way to cool off from the tropical heat. Please...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

This is very large resort with shuttle service within 30 mins or so. They really need to improve frequency of shuttle service like 10 mins due to size of the resort. Service at check in and check out is terrible. Main pool feels like beach with sand covering at the bottom of the pool. Breakfast is terrible as well with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiger0423
Denis T, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear Tiger0423, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to learn about some of the issues experienced and are not sure if you had reached out to anyone on the team to address and assist with immediately while here. We would have loved to try to clarify or fix some of the points raised to...

Rovinj, Croatia
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Visited with my family,8night stay ..Arhitectute of hotel resembles block buildings in urban areas which somehow does not fit the enviroment....rooms badly kept,not clean bathrooms ...service in restaurants bad,staff slow,not trained...lots of very pushy and loud clientel...vicinity of airport-noice from jets...brach without sun decks and umbrellas,impossible to sit at...only plus-entertainment team,nice and polite,attending to children and adults...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DUNIA65
Denis T, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear DUNIA65, We regret to learn that you did not have a relaxing stay while with us. The architecture, as an eco-design resort, takes the family-friendly concept, though we are sorry to hear that this was not to your liking. Given that your Centara experience was not up to expectation this past trip, we would really love the opportunity to...

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before going to Khao Lak. We couldnt wait to go. You hear a large plane take off every 3 minutes as it is situated right next door to the international airport. Water park is great for families and is the reason i gave it 3 stars, without the water park I wouldn't give it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottParsons
Denis T, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear ScottParsons, Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are sad to hear that you were not too impressed with the property nor the people. We regret to learn that there were issues in our Thai restaurant regarding food quality and service which we sincerely apologize for. As mentioned, our team has been in touch to address your...

Sylvania, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed 8 nights at this resort with our 3 children, 15/9 & 7 which meant we had 2 rooms. The rooms were fantastic in size and had a separate bunk bed room for the kids. It is a plain space but it had everything you needed and the size was really impressive. We asked for rooms near the splash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
Herve D, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear Kerrie B, Warm greetings from Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I very much appreciate your specific feedback relating to some dishes at breakfast, I have shared this with our culinary team to make changes to improve our quality. Joel is...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I booked a family suite for 3 days 2 night. What I like : spacious connected rooms with kitchen and a small living hall. Total 3 TVs , one in living hall , another 2 at individual rooms. Perfect for my family consists of me and my husband, 2 parents and my 6 years old Daugther. We like the slides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHY
Herve D, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear EmilyHY, Warm greetings from Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, the luxury suite 2 bedroom is a very spacious well appointed accommodation ideal for families. Centara Hotels & Resorts has a big commitment towards the environment and regularly participates in community...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

For those that don't like the overcrowded Patong, do yourselves a favour and stay at this resort. There is a Waterpark attached, which is complimentary for all guests. With one child we spent 5 out of 8 days there (3 hours each day!!) and not only had great family time, saved a fortune on entertainment, we all had a ball....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happytravellers6771
Herve D, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear happytravellers6771, Warm greetings from Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure for Maria and I getting to know you, enjoying some great conversation at our management cocktail party. I am very pleased that you found some time to...

Ao Nang, Thailand
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We stayed for two nights to enjoy some family time. Had a Suite which was large enough for a family to stay. Possible to cook, but we enjoyed their restaurants instead. Breakfast was hectic and a little disapointing. Scrambled eggs were almost raw and bacon was more like a meat ball than thin stripes of bacon. The cleanliness of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeneralSnus
Herve D, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear GeneralSnus, Thank you for sharing feedback on what you loved about your stay experience at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Vilas Phuket and some pointers which we take away for improvement. Your insights only help us to set the bar higher and we will certainly look in to the details raised. We regret to learn that there were...

Bangkokstaymonth=10
Reviewed 27 April 2016

If you are looking for a very luxurious and comfortable resort this is the one which could answer your key, especially the stay with your family who have a young kids as they have a very huge splash water park to serve you unlimited. And the best thing that we love here is avoid the jam in town which cause...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283saranyat
Herve D, General Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear 283saranyat, We're glad you like the location of our resort which is correctly located in the most relaxing and peaceful place in Phuket. While here for a luxury holiday, we’re happy to learn that everything went well and that you enjoyed your stay all around. The Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket aims to be a destination...

Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights at the end of a 12 day holiday. The open air check in counter in the middle of the day was as hot as hell but the staff were extremely helpful. The water park is awesome if you have kids & the place is well run. The slides & lazy river are great for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomo2377
Herve D, Manager at Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review

Dear Thomo2377, Thank you very much for your candid feedback. We're very thrilled that you enjoyed our amazing water park and the whole family had fun in the slides. However, it is a pity to know that some of our services did not meet your expectations. That said, there are evidently several areas for improvement as mentioned and we take...

1,679 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (158)
Viewed
Room/Suite (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (150)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (459)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (466)
Viewed
Amenities (67)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Residence (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (39)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Bedroom Family Suite (82)
Viewed
Luxury Two Bedroom Pool Villa (103)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
4.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
28.8 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
The Slate
The Slate
#1 of 9 in Nai Yang
3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket is located on the west coast of Phuket and set in 47 acres of land with 500 metres of pristine beach frontage on Mai Khao Beach, the longest and quietest stretch of beach on this side of the island. The resort has been designed to blend in with its ecologically sensitive environment, and has its own green systems that ensure the natural resources of the area are conserved.The design focus of the resort is an extensive water park with swimming pools, a lazy river and waterslides, including a huge Super Bowl slide. All rooms, suites and villas are of modern design and are carefully sited to take advantage of the stunning views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket's dramatic hinterland.Although this part of Phuket is renowned for its extensive areas of natural and undisturbed beauty, the resort is only 15 minutes away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Address: 65 Moo 4, Mai Khao Soi 4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Price Range: €89 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 573
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sands Hotel Phuket
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket Mai Khao
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket staff and other travellers.
81 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (81)

Questions? Get answers from Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room in and around blocks 3 and 4 as they are central to all areas. Also rooms close to the beach looked amazing”
 of 5 bubbles 510zacb, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lovely to have a villa near the beach to see the glorious sunsets”
 of 5 bubbles CruiseEnthusiast, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Huge with balcony and large windows giving you best views of gardens and pools. ”
 of 5 bubbles ShammiSta, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“from what I heard the bungalows were worn and the huge buildings with heaps of rooms were our option. Did like the space in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles nerradithf, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“deluxe family room facing the water park and higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles pratikh, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay