We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnarvon National Park
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for four nights. The lodge is conveniently located a 5 min drive from the Carnarvon Gorge visitor centre. Our cabin was en suite and very comfortable. You can watch the kangaroos and wallabies while sitting on your own private porch at breakfast or having drinks in the evening. The lodge restaurant serves fabulous food although you do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NornIronTravel
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to see Carnarvon Gorge (not long enough, but will go back). The lodge is lovely and quiet, with the cabins being spacious. We had three kids in our cabin and it was quite roomy. Dinner at the restaurant was AMAZING! A little expensive, but when the food is good, you don't mind paying extra....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your meals. We take a lot of pride in not only our spacious comfortable cabins but also our food, so Thank you. - Management

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Gorgeous oasis amongst the cycads! Cabin/tents are roomy, clean and the bed is of good quality. The fridge was noisy, no wonder it was all iced up. The bathroom is very basic, with "plastic fantastic" fittings/mounting from the early 80ties. Amenities are on the stingy side. The towels are of good quality and size. The deck is in desperate need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAGICMTN
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, meals and vegetarian wishes. I am shocked to hear the pool was not inviting as our groundsmen clean the pool each day but I will be sure to monitor it more closely. Yes a hot spa would be nice :) Thank you for staying...

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Glamping all the way: sleeping in large tents on a queen size bed with private bathroom. Waking up with kangooroos surrounding your tent and birds whistling away. Just a minute drive from the start of the main walks at the visitor centre. Fine dining at the restaurant. The pool is a bit cold and not very clean though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess88-28
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review. There is nothing more peaceful then waking to the wildlife. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please continue to travel safely. Thank you for choosing Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge - Management

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We traveled from Roma (243k) and arrived at the gorge about 11am for our two night stay. It is a little oasis at the end of the dirt road and well set out. While we were early for check-in, our cabins were ready, and we were able have lunch at our cabin. We then headed for Boolimba Bluff. This involved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, meals and service. Whilst there is no phone reception or TV there is WiFi available. Yes we have great monthly wine specials. We appreciate the feedback so thank you very much. Please continue to travel safely. - Management

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in an ecolodge or "cabin". It is basically a cabin with partial tent walls. All under an enclosed roof. It has an ensuite, air conditioning, heating, all the mod cons. Seating area. Very comfortable bed. Had a verandah with squatter chairs to relax after day's end. All up it is just the same as a cabin! The cabins are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margot E
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your review and such kind words. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in our peaceful surroundings. We are very pleased and take great pride in our restaurant, meals and above all the service provided to our guests. We really do hope to welcome you again. - Management

Greenslopes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay to experience the beauty that is Carnarvan Gorge. Very comfortable, clean peaceful stay with Michelle conducting great walks taking us to the best spots within the Gorge. Onsite dinner at the Lodge's restaurant, a tasty reward at the end of a strenuous day bush walking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie-anne & Da... W
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please continue to travel safely :) - Management

Sydney
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My wife & I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Lodge, which is in a very handy location a short drive from the National Park. The area around the accommodation has plenty of local wildlife, & even the early morning amazingly loud Kookaburra chorus was something to admire & enjoy. The 'cabins' are set on timber platforms with canvas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider34
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I am so glad to hear you and your wife had a great time whilst visiting us. Yes, not too many people know what expect when told it is Safari Style cabins, but they are very comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for your feedback on the meals. We are extremely proud of our head chef Matt, he has been...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

The drive to the gorge is nearly as spectacular as the walks. Not really, but it is great as long drives go! The lodge "glamping" accom was good. Comfortable and had everything you really need. No mobile, tv or computers required-this is a place to get away to natural beauty. The restaurant is low key, but the food was first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt-mcleish
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thank you so much for such a lovely kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and your meals. Yes we are extremely proud of our Chefs. They do a fantastic job given such a remote location and logistics involved. Michelle is fantastic and the Night Safari is absolutely worth it. We hope you continue to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My Son and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Lodge. It was disappointing in so much for the lack of interest by staff. There was no feeling of welcome, or flexibility of there systems such as breakfast at 10.00am, not till 10.00am, then when ordering meals, no sooner than the orders made it appeared the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 311Jane
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review. I hope you can understand being in such a remote location and relying just on our guests our restaurant hours aren't as flexible as being in a city. Our cafe opens at 10am however we offer a continental balcony breakfast you can organise the night prior to have in the morning at a...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Near Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Address: 4043 O'Briens Road, Carnarvon National Park, Queensland 4702, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Carnarvon National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Hotel Springsure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Macquarie, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin "Dooloogarah" was close to main area overlooking landscape”
  • View from entrance
  • View from within the cabin
judyt642, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No, it's all tent style cabins”
311Jane, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a cabin closer to the reception area - it's quite a walk otherwise and you do enough walking on the treks!”
Rushie02, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are well located”
707bruceu, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 19 has a good outlook over the creek.”
N0elaR, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5