We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Takarakka Bush Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Takarakka Bush Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 281: English reviews
Start your review of Takarakka Bush Resort
 Click to rate
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a booking for a powered site with our Caravan and had to phone on the day to cancel because of car problems. I thought our issue would be resolved in a few days so luckily it was low season and staff were happy for us to keep in contact and postpone our booking. As it turned out, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy Campers A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the Takarakka Bush Resort there are a series of options for accommodation - caravans on powered sites, tents on unpowered sites and safari tents with or without ensuite. Because a storm was predicted we opted for a safari tent with ensuite as the storm, when it developed, would have collapsed the tent! The lovely grassy lawns are popular with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary P
Toowoomba Queensland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled with a group of friends of varying ages. Some chose to take their caravan, some chose to take their tents, some chose to stay in the tent-style accommodation that is available, and we chose a small air-conditioned cabin. It takes just a few minutes to drive down to where the walks start extending through the gorge. It s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elegance535
Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Camped for 4 nights so we could explore the gorge. staff were great, friendly and helpfull, facilities clean. Nice shady spot, all we needed, was out of season so very quiet, would like to go back when everything was running eg, night tours, helicopter.lots of wildlife, the road in is being upgraded so better access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Half the adventure is just getting to Takarakka. The drive is long no matter where you come from. But it's all worth it. We were on off peak with 3 kids under 5 (who all hiked to the Art Gallery - legends). Takaraka facilities and grounds are wonderful. We camped unpowered and were impressed by the bush kitchen facilities and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blakbul
Takabus, Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review

Your kids are true legends who can now join the club of energetic children who have walked to the Art Gallery and back. It's great to see families getting out and about and enjoying the stunning Carnarvon Gorge. You must have unfortunately missed the bin stations which are located at the camp kitchens. We encourage all guests to utilize the...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Worth a visit. This place was very quite for the Christmas holidays. I was disappointed that the tractor bar was not operating over the hoilday ( only operates in peck time- winter i think). This park is set up well for bush camping. On the second day we had a group of people camping near us that disrupted the park....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank borissmith1986
Montreal
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a Takka Tent online from their website for 2 adults and 2 children for one night. Though we travel with a tent and gear, we wanted to get an early start in the am and avoid taking down our own tent. We planned to hike to Big Bend and overnight there the next day. We tried calling several...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank moremanoi
Takabus, Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review

It is always a pity when guests are not prepared to take the advice of locals and have pre made plans that we do not see as safe or appropriate for the season. We always endevour to explain the best way to see the gorge in the time that our guests have to spare. It appears you have grossly misunderstood...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

very friendly and informative staff. facilities where clean and we thoroughly enjoyed a hot shower at the end of our hiking through the gorge. generous camp sites . there is a platypus pool if you are lucky you may just seem them. the beach/ creek was refreshingly cool although it wasn't very deep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had an enjoyable five night stay in the mostly renovated self contained cottage. It was fairly private and surrounded by trees and lawns where several pretty faced wallabies grazed and snoozed. Lovely! It had a small kitchen with basic equipment and good quality crockery and a full sized fridge. It was air conditioned and had several windows to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Batwoman2013
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

OMG!!! What a place. You have to go visit if you have not. It was out first time traveling across Australia and this place blew out minds. It was exactly what we were after and the staff at Takarakka are amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katmoser

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within the stunning Carnarvon Gorge National Park,Takarakka Bush Resort offers camping and accommodation open all year round. Spacious accommodation, powered and unpowered sites. Accessible, Exceptional and Unforgettable. Perfect for a private getaway or bring friends and family. Guided tours, meals, general store and excellent facilities available. Guests enjoy peace and tranquility and vibrancy of life as nature intended it. You’ll need an average of 4- 6 days to explore and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Takarakka Bush Resort

Address: O'Briens Road | Carnarvon Gorge, Carnarvon National Park, Queensland 4702, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Carnarvon National Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Takarakka Bush Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Takarakka Bush Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Palm Beach, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It isn't a hotel but gives about 4 different choices for accommodation ranging from about $30-40 up to $140 for cabin & ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles rosemaryp370, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are many forms of accommodation available. Just ask the camp managers for advice”
 of 5 bubbles elegance535, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Taken the studio!”
 of 5 bubbles AlexW535, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible, book a site away from the creek . The Zamia grove camping area looked good.”
 of 5 bubbles 263traceye, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not know I slept un my own bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 637kubab, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5