We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vila Alba Resort

Estrada de Albandeira Praia de Albandeira, Lagoa 8400-403 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (726)
Room & Suite (263)
Pool & Beach (217)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Vila Alba Resort
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 7 hotels in Lagoa
Nestled at the top of the cliff of the Albandeira beach, surrounded by unspoiled typical Mediterranean and Algarvean vegetation, Vila Alba offers a unique spot in Algarve's worldwide awarded beach. Direct public beach access through a path from the hotel (beach about 150 meters from the resort). A very quite and calm environment; the resort comprises 62 rooms, being 35 family suites, with 85 sqm and with kitchen, 2 bedrooms, living room, bathroom and balcony or terrace. Includes also restaurant, 1 bar and the Spa. The facilities and the romantic setting make the resort the ideal retreat for couples and with its all-suite accommodation and location just a short stroll from a great beach, Vila Alba provide all the ingredients for an excellent family holiday.
Read more


Full view
Estrada de Albandeira Praia de Albandeira, Lagoa 8400-403 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Faro Airport39 kmSee all flights
Portimão Airport17 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
612Reviews38Q+A81Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 362
  • 186
  • 41
  • 19
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
danthexcman wrote a review Jun 2021
Bruchmuehlbach-Miesau, Germany16 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for 7 nights in May 2021. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a small kitchenette. The location is awesome as they have a small beach just a 5 minute walk from the resort but you can also walk along the coast, which I highly recommend, to reach the Marinha Beach - it's a 20 minute walk if you cut straight across (look on google maps and follow the roads, they're accurate) from the back of the hotel to Marinha or it took me about 1 hour to walk along the coast taking pictures and not rushing to get to Marinha. There are numerous completely empty beaches along this walk. The water and sand are amazing. Beautiful rock formations. This is an awesome location. Our only complaint was how limited the kitchenette was stocked. No salt or pepper, only two pans for boiling water, no frying pan, limited silverware, so you may want to bring a few small things if you plan on cooking in the room more. There are not many restaurants < 15 minutes from the resort. The restaurant at the resort was very good though.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Room Tip: The best location with the most beautiful beaches!
See more room tips
Response from Suites Alba Resort, Agência/Consultor at Vila Alba Resort
Responded 20 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, On behalf of the Vila Alba Team I would like to thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are truly happy when we can confirm that we managed to exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to continue earning your trust and having your preference when choosing your holidays in the Algarve. Best wishes Maria Morais
Read more
Sonnenschein74 wrote a review Oct 2020
Erfurt19 contributions10 helpful votes
This was my second stay at Suites Alba. The location is priceless, one of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen. The suites are spacious with two bedrooms and offer a cozy, charming and individual atmosphere, a pretty unique, a bit traditional style and set-up which fits perfectly within the surrounding. For instance there is a fireplace in the living room and the bathroom has local tiles. Unfortunately the resort has been sold to a new owner last year and this is the beginning of an upcoming misery. Instead of keeping the unique assets of the suites, they started to rebuild them by dividing one suite into 2 smaller units. There will be a tiny double bedroom which is looking and feeling like a standard small hotel bedroom all over the world - super faceless. Second unit is a studio with one double bedroom and a living room, so a bit more spacious. The new design is cold, clean, without any charme and even stupid ideas like placing the bathroom sinks next to the bed. Who wants that? This loss of individualism, space and character will be accompanied by considerably increased prices. Good example how the greed for money of the new owner destroys something very special. What a shame! Really wish the new owner would come to his senses and keeps the place or at least big parts of it at the curent layout. Nothing against a gentle refurbishment/ modernization or some smaller units for single occupancy with ensuite bathroom. But this rebuilding will end up in losing all loyal customers who loved this place for it‘s generosity in space and charme. No surprise that the loyal stuff is concerned and some will probably leave - even more assets to get lost. So, if you loved Suites Alba as is is, don‘t come back - the new design and style makes it loose everything special and will just make you cry.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Suites Alba Resort, Agência/Consultor at Vila Alba Resort
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to let a comment regarding your experience in Vila Alba. For what we can read, the low classification is not about our services but about your concerns about the future of the Resort. We would like to inform you that two blocks have been already refurbished and that the feedback that we are receiving from the most loyal guests is extremely positive. Our goal is to make of this special place, something even more special and unique in the Algarve. We hope to receive you visit again in the future. Best wishes Maria Morais
Read more
Paulina C wrote a review Sep 2020
90 contributions18 helpful votes
This place is simply amazing. As it’s a boutique hotel not a chain, the attention you get from all the staff is much more personal. After a couple of days they knew our favourite drinks, dishes and were able to make accurate recommendations based on our preferences. People who work here always had time for a pleasant conversation and if you were interested in their stories and opinions, and tipped them for their hard work, you could get some extras such as top shelf spirit tastings. We were given to try a bottle of beautiful top shelf port and dessert wine, which were truly excellent! As we’ve visited in these unprecedented times, we’ve noticed everything felt very safe, sanities and clean. The pool area was cleaned every morning, the sun beds and side tables were sanitised each time a guest left and there were fresh towels always available to use around the pool and then to drop them off for cleaning when you’re done. All staff were wearing masks, guests had to wear masks inside of the restaurant and reception area, there were appropriate distances between tables, sun beds and one way system in the buildings. The check in was single person, the cleaning was upon request and a supply of fresh towels was provided in the rooms to last throughout your stay without the need for housekeeping visit other than if you needed more toilet paper, it would be dropped off at your door. The breakfast was served in the room and easy to book with special forms you hang out on the door knob each evening. Dinner was served in the restaurant at very low capacity so it ja to be prebooked via reception desk. Hand sanitisers were available everywhere. Any requests were dealt with on the phone to the reception desk, and there was someone always available to answer and quickly deal with your request. For example, when I phoned in to request more toilet paper, by the time I put down the phone and walked to the front door, toilet paper has been already dropped off. Special mention goes to Vitor and Thiago who provided us with exceptional customer care, some amazing spirit tastings and a great chat. The rooms are more like apartments - with separate bedrooms, kitchen with dining room, and a living area with tv and fireplace. The restaurant offers some of the best dishes I’ve had and a real good variety of fish, meat and vegetarian. During the day you can choose from an extensive snack and grill menu, while dinner is a fine dining experience with some of the best local flavours, accompanied by a long wine list, cocktails and other spirits. Our favourite drink was white sangria served traditionally with citrus fruit and ice. My husband had the beef loin every night and my top dish was a slow cooked monkfish served with saffron risotto. There are three salt water pools in total; infinity pool, baby paddling pool and a lower level smaller pool. The beach is just 5min walk away with beautiful hidden coves you can access through the caves when the tide is low. We’ve snorkelled there and it was just spectacular- the water was crystal clear with so many various fish to observe! The path to the beach runs along some of the most spectacular cliffs and rock arches, perfect for watching sunsets! There are many other coves and hidden beaches along the cliffs if you’re up for a hike. Finally, if you’re after a place away from crowds where you can relax amongst stunning views and attentive staff, this is your place! And we will definitely be back as soon as the travel conditions allow.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Suites Alba Resort, Agência/consultor at Vila Alba Resort
Responded 3 Sep 2020
Dear Mrs. Paulina, On behalf of the Suites Alba Team I would like to thank you your amazing comments regarding your stay. We are delighted to know that we meet your expectation and to read how much you enjoy our Resort, hits facilities and this amazing location. Is with truly satisfaction that i will share your feedback with the staff, because is coments like this that motivate us to give the best of ourselves. We hope to continue earning your trust and having your preference when choosing your holidays in the Algarve. Best wishes The administration
Read more
AcerFrance wrote a review Feb 2020
France64 contributions77 helpful votes
Pros: A smallish development on the cliffs with access down to a beach. Cons: Construction work - hammer drilling etc going on, even all day Sunday, when I complained it wasn't taken seriously and nothing was done. On arrival it was mentioned that the restaurant, one of our reasons for booking - only served two set dinner menu choices. On the night when one of the two main choices was octopus, from our POV, that was no choice at all. Large snacky lunch menu, but with only about 10 covers, it took an hour for our burger order to arrive. Burgers were cold, on tasteless dry white buns, and even after reheating still tepid. Breakfast very 3 star, cheap orange juice. If the hotel had informed us of the works and severly restricted eating choice before hand we would have booked elsewhere. Its a minimum 15 minute drive to fins another restaurant, so this is important.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Check for construction work and what menus the restaurant actually offers
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Response from SuitesAlbaResort, Diretor de Vendas at Vila Alba Resort
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be passed to the responsible of the department and will assist us on our constant improvement process. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. We truly hope that you return the Hotel for a pleasant stay this time. Best regards,
Read more
Don D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Lagoa Region, Portugal, 2019 A vehicle travels down a dusty narrow track to an idyllic oasis situated on a cliff edge. The resort compound is beautiful with manicured gardens. An infinity pool overlooks the sea complete with adjoining restaurant and pool bar over a subterranean gym, spa and indoor pool. Friendly staff and delicacies such as pina coladas await the successful voyager should they gain entry... Swashbuckling worldly wise archaeologist types complete with dusty fedora, satchel, revolver and bullwhip may gain access if they pass the tests... Access to the reception area is unhindered. Should you have sent word of your arrival in advance via online booking it is even expected and your name will be listed in the great ledger... Unfortunately you are duped into a false sense of ease as the first of your trials is about to begin. Uttering your name and the fact that an important gathering is taking place at a very specific time is met with a friendly smile but an apology-no your room you have paid a Queens ransom for is not ready despite it being very high noon-more early evening if truth be told. You may proceed to the pool and bar area and will be notified when your room is prepared. Having eaten what it has to be said is a quite tasty lunch you return to gain access to your lodgings for the night but nay!! none shall pass. Seamus Kingston Manana, genetically predisposed to a sense of urgency long past bordering on the horizontal, in fact more invading or annexing the state of mind with osmotic gusto, repeats that you will be called when your abode is available. As the hour is now fast advancing it could quite soon morph into a less salubrious establishment that charges by the hour based on how little time you will actually spend inside. Unfortunately this will potentially be without a happy ending. At this point all sense of decorum and restraint sublimates from your body, you will know this as your body temperature will reach previously unexperienced limits, and you will refuse to leave until the sacred key has been pressed into your palm. Miraculously the instrument of ingress will materialize, you will frantically rush to your suite, machete your visage, briefly hose your epidermis before whipping on clothing that instantly adheres due to the free stress that is complimentary as a part of the arrival process. Much like the quest for the holy grail, the promise and expectation of a gold, silver or platinum chalice encrusted with precious stones was misplaced as, while the vessel is well presented, unfortunately when you scratch the surface it more closely resembles clay. Five star facilities with an amazing two star customer service at check in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from SuitesAlbaResort, Diretor de Vendas at Vila Alba Resort
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Owen, Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are sorry to know that we did not meet the entire of your expectations. Our check-in starts at 16.00, however, when it is possible, the guest can do the check-in earlier - unfortunately was not your case, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Best regards,
Read more
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictLagoa
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vila Alba Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Vila Alba Resort?
Nearby attractions include Percurso dos Sete Vales Suspensos (1.0 km), Cocktail Garden (6.3 km), and Carvoeiro Boardwalk (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vila Alba Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Vila Alba Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Vila Alba Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Vila Alba Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vila Alba Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fabio's RoadStop, Gurkha Kitchen, and Le Cro Portugal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vila Alba Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vila Alba Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Vila Alba Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Município de Silves (11.1 km), Feira Medieval de Silves (11.1 km), and Edifício Paços do Concelho (11.1 km).
Does Vila Alba Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Vila Alba Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.