We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I would definitely recommend this lodge. The rooms itself are lovely. We received excellent service from Pat who handled our reservation. Lovemore who was the game ranger was entertaining on the game drive and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the ride. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but overall a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Lenore95
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I recently spent a night at the lodge which is just outside Johannesburg. We stayed in one of the units overlooking the swimming pool. It had a kitchenette and separate lounge which was fantastic as we had our 7 month old daughter with us who then had her own room where a camp cot had been set... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We wanted somewhere close to joburg to go for 1 night away with friends. From the moment we arrived the service was terrible! They are very optimistic in calling themselves a 4 star hotel. We arrived early and had lunch at the restaurant while waiting until the room was ready, the order came back wrong and was very average. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantel B
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank for your review and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Askari lodge. The team and I are rather sad that not once during your stay did you report any of your poor experience's to any member of management considering that they spoke to you during dinner (which you were not charged for) as... More 

johanneburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked Askari for a breakaway for 4 colleagues and asked for 4 separate units. On arrival we go shoved into 2 garden units having to share. When we arrived and realised the situation the manager was unwilling to assist and told us the sleeper couches are very expensive. also that she cannot do anything to assist as the lodge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindi B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely find in the heart of Magalies. Also very kid friendly. The kids loved it. Great Safaris with a variety of animals in their reserve and great up close elephant experience. Reserve has the big 5, Best experience we've had in Magalies with kids.

Helpful?
Thank Londiwe L
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! the Team and I are glad that you enjoyed your Safari with us. We do hope it wont be too long before you join us again kind regards Graham Shipway More 

Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, beautiful spacious room, well appointed bathroom and a wonderful weekend away. Pity about the lack of aircon in the rooms as the weather was sweltering and we didn't get much sleep. Massages in the spa are sublime and the game drive was excellent, very knowledgable ranger. All in all a brilliant weekend out of Jhb. If there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank AfricanQueen67
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

The team and I are thrilled at your excellent feedback. We do look forward to your next visit. kind regards Graham Shipway More 

Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a weekend away for my dad's 60th birthday. Dealing with Pat to make the bookings was such a easy process and everything was sorted in record time. From the moment we arrived the staff was very helpful and the accommodation was amazing.The first night of dinner was very nice and the food was something different. After dinner they... More 

Helpful?
Thank malmelmarais6
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We are so glad that we were able to make your dad's birthday so memorable! This sort of wonderful feedback really motivates the Team to excel even more. we have posted it on our team noticeboard and they are all thrilled ! We do hope it is not too long before you come to visit us again kind regards Graham... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had communicated well enough with manager and spa for my requirements . But what I felt that they could have done better there for I say there is a lot of areas that they can improve . Hour drive from Johannesburg . Nice location . By the top end of mountain . We had deluxe room . You have... More 

Helpful?
Thank RParbhoo
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The team and I welcome all forms of feedback both positive and negative as it can only help us improve. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as your husband did in his e-mail to me. We do hope that you will return in the near future kind regards Graham... More 

Randburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent an evening at Askari, our room and patio faced the watering hole, was very relaxing and therapeutic. The game drive was fantastic, we saw rhino, buffalo, elephant, hippo, and lion. The sunset was awesome, spent with the giraffe crossing the plains. Restaurant serves proper boere kos, lots of fun. Will be back...

Helpful?
Thank McAWarren
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! The Team and I are so glad you were able to relax and unwind. We hope it wont be too long before you return Kind regards Graham Shipway More 

Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed in one of the cottages - love the little patio with seating that overlooked the swimming pool. Love the little monkeys and game that came to visit us. The food at this lodge is great! The game drive was also wonderful - I've seen the most Giraffes I've ever seen in my live. This lodge is wonderful for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte the Team and I are so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit. Kind regards Graham Shipway More 

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hekpoort
7.3 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
9.3 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
274 reviews
5.0 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#7 of 7 in Magaliesburg
47 reviews
12.2 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
154 reviews
27.6 km away
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
#2 of 10 in Muldersdrift
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Askari Game Lodge & Spa is situated on the Plumari Africa Game Reserve in the Magaliesberg, just over an hour from Johannesburg or Pretoria and offers guests a memorable Big 5 wildlife experience within a malaria free environment. Plumari Africa Game Reserve is set within a pristine wilderness area of over 5000 hectares with natural African bushveld and an abundance of flora, fauna, birdlife and wildlife. Two game drives, each approximately 2 - 2,5 hours in duration, are scheduled daily. Elephant Experiences entails interaction with our elephants, which include a 'touch and feed' experience. The main lodge, which is in fact the old Bodenstein family farmhouse, overlooks the Elephant Dam and invites guests to take a step back in time while admiring South African decor pieces dating back to the 1800's. Slipper baths, a coal stove, wash stands, luggage chests, antique Oregon cupboards and tables are subtly placed within the luxury four-star surrounding, to emphasize the captivating history of the Magaliesberg area. Askari Lodge has one of the largest private collections of ox wagons, carts and other animal drawn vehicles from the period 1800 to 1900. A variety of stone and iron-age arte facts, items from the Boer War and San Bushmen rock carvings tell the history of the area, which is also known for the nearby Battle of Nooitgedacht. Examples are available in the museum and guided bush walks take guests through areas where many stone carvings can be found. In contrast with the rich Boere and Afrikaner history depicted by the main farmhouse decor, the Day Visitors Center is abundant with African symbology, rich earthy colours and unique African decor focal points. The two contrasting decor themes pay homage to the history while highlighting the significant influence of the indigenous African tribes of the area. Askari Game Lodge caters for romantic getaways, conferences, teambuilding initiatives, training courses and weddings in both the main lodge and Day Visitors Centre. Nature lovers and birding enthusiasts will find the experience most rewarding, while stressed city dwellers will leave feeling rejuvenated and well-rested. Askari Lodge - the legend lingers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 1 Doornspruit Road | Magaliesberg, Hekpoort 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Hekpoort
Price Range: €148 - €582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Askari Game Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Askari Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Wexford, Ireland
Wexford, Ireland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure you are not sharing unless you want to”
 of 5 bubbles 985lindib, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the pool or the Dam where you will see wildlife”
 of 5 bubbles malmelmarais6, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Newly appointed rooms are very comfortable and great for family interaction”
 of 5 bubbles bronweng2016, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The chalets next to the spa and restaurant are quaint and cosy, but clean and modern and very well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“most rooms are overlooking the forest with animals and the mountain.Spectacular view”
 of 5 bubbles patriciadX6898ST, 2 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay