We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 608: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
 Click to rate
Merseyside
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at the Crown Hotel on several occasions ,it's a lovely hotel in a good location. Perfect for visiting Harrogate, York and surrounding areas. The rooms are clean and comfortable . The hotel staff are friendly and have always made us feel welcome, The restaurant has a wide varied menu excellent food, and attentive staff, there are lounges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlieandme
Newcastle
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

First impressions do count and was a little disappointed with the rubbish accumulated at door to the hotel from the car park -but it was a windy day. The bucket at the door part filled with fag ends did not add to the ambiance! Check in was fast, efficient and cheerfully done. We were allocated a superior room - instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northumberlandscout
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I regularly visited The Crown in the 80's when on business in the Ripon area, so when I recognised it on a Group-on deal for a 2 night break, it was a must and my wife and I were not disappointed. Warmly welcomed by Tracey at reception and given details of the hotel before we unpacked in our comfortable room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stewart B Thank you for placing your review after staying, it was lovely to meet you both. All the staff read our reviews and I assure you your comments will be very well received. We are certainly very proud of the Hotel and the service which we offer. We aim to ensure you have a great stay and reading...

Thirsk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with my best friend last week for afternoon tea and swim, sauna, etc. I had forgotten to call beforehand to let them know that I was vegan, but when I told the receptionist she said it was no problem and that the chef would sort something out for me. We were given lovely fresh thick towels and robes, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crazyhairclaire
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazyhairclaire Thank you for your review after enjoying your spa day with us, your comments are great and a five score - we could not ask for better I am pleased that you were well looked after and had a great afternoon. It is good that you would definitely come back, because we would definitely welcome you back. Feel...

Darlington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my sister for afternoon tea and use of facilities (voucher from Groupon). First impressions were good, the receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the leisure facilities were lovely and clean & the robes were very comfy! The pool was a good temperature and size, the only negative was that there were only 4 chairs around the pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mazzy93
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mazzy93 Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Hotel whilst enjoying a spa day with us. The seating is an area we will look into further, the pool is good to have a swim or relax round. Our cakes and scones are made here in the Hotel, Diane has made cherry and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the Crown for a week whilst on business nearby. Staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Booked a double room. Although dated it was comfortable although a tad noisy with the old sash windows and single pane glass. Shower over the bath was adequate and fresh towels provided each day. Restaurant was ok, breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve H Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel after your stay. It is good to read that you found the staff friendly and welcoming, we do our best to ensure you enjoy your stay. Our menu is seasonal I am not sure if you saw our specials board, the good news is we are in...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Recently visited for a drink nice friendly environment staff very welcoming and is worth a visit if passing. There is a nice welcoming feeling and the hotel their also looks very nice but have not been.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H_B10_10
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear H_B10_10 It is good to read that you visited our bar recently and found it welcoming and worth the visit. When you visit the area next why not stay with us. Your stay in the Hotel would also include use of the leisure club. Give us a call when you have the opportunity to stay 01423 322328 Regards Tracey

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel courtesy of a secret escapes deal for my boyfriends birthday and it was amazing! The staff bend over backwards and the evening meal/ breakfasts we received were cooked to a very high standard. We had full access to the leisure facilities, however did not have time to use them. Only 30 mins from Harrogate centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelsey201295
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kelsey201295 Thank you for writing your review, to read amazing and excellent stay that is great. What a pity you did not get the chance to sample our leisure club - Maybe next time. Sorry your room was too hot, there was a fan in your room which may have helped. Thank you for recommending us, we really appreciate...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

An enjoyable break at the Crown Hotel. Comfortable and clean room perhaps in need of a little updating but very reasonable rates for our three night stay. Excellent Yorkshire breakfast and friendly staff. Evening meals were really enjoyable, just a shame there's no real fires to improve the ambience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bazyb47
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bazyb47 Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. It is good that you found your break with us enjoyable and at a reasonable rate. The Chefs will be pleased to read your comments on breakfast and dinner. The Hotel is constantly being invested in and we do try to be sympathetic to...

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stayed here for one night. Receptionist - lovely, we arrived a little too early, but our room was ready so booked us in. Room - Very clean and spacious, bed very comfy !! Meal in hotel - Delicious, staff in the resturant were very pleasant and attentive Breakfast - Again, no complaints here ! Full cooked breakfast with a buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel G
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Isabel G Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your stay, it is very much appreciated. To read such great feedback, what more could we ask for. We try to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us, for the right reasons. Everyone takes a pride in the Hotel and we do our best...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boroughbridge
9.7 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
723 reviews
14.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
9.2 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,395 reviews
8.3 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
9.2 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Price Range: €89 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ones at the front a little noisy from the pub across the road, but didn't prevent us having a good sleep !”
 of 5 bubbles O1007RPisabelg, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“None spring to mind”
 of 5 bubbles lyndon23uk, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is no lift so if you need a ground floor room book early”
 of 5 bubbles roseb679, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with street view can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Bonefeld, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room back from the main road and away from the front of the hotel. Rooms away from the main road are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 1FairDeal2, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5