We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Cider House

25 Castle Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LN, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Coleridge Cottage
    0.1 km
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviewed 20 March 2014
Valentine's weekend in the Quantocks
We visited the Old Cider House for a special Valentine's Day... more
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Cider House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We visited the Old Cider House for a special Valentine's Day weekend break to an area we had never visited before. We weren’t disappointed: Lynne and Ian were so welcoming and helpful, the room and food just splendid and walking in the Quantocks was a sheer delight. I would encourage anyone to stay at the Old Cider House and to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happywalker2014
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

What a fantastic review. Thank you. We glad you had such a lovely time.

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were very well-welcomed on arrival by Lynne and Ozy and a pot of tea and cake! Our room was comfortable and clean. Decor was maybe a little tired. Breakfast was amazing! Especially the vegetarian one, which included a cheesy, sunflower seed muffin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to accommodate those with special diets and the veggie breakfasts often look better than the meat ones! As usual we are constantly updating and decorating the house and in the process of giving the house a lick of paint.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Three of us checked in for a beer-making weekend at The Old Cider House. The beer making was great fun, ably guided by host Ian, whose fund of knowledge on the whole subject of beer making and beer drinking added considerably to our enjoyment. After brewing our batch of beer, we spent an afternoon yomping across the Quantocks, finally fetching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigjock86
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Some of the most energetic guests we've had in a long while. Beer coming along nicely - looking forward to drinking it in the pubs!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you're looking for a B&B in or around Nether Stowey, then look no further. Lynne and Ian were very welcoming and the place itself was clean and well kept. The complimentary sherry in the room was a lovely surprise after a long drive down from London. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day quite nicely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver J
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

The sherry always goes down well and makes a lovely start to the evening. We love cooking for our guests and, with vegetables still in the garden, we are able to provide guests with fresh produce at every meal. The purple sprouting broccoli is lovely at the moment.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our hosts made us feel at home from the first phone call.We booked an evening meal which was very tasty and they were interesting to talk with but never `pushy' so it was a really pleasant evening. Large, comfortable room (and bed) and good breakfast.What more do you want?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip Daniel W
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We very much enjoy eating with our guests and have met some wonderfully interesting people in our time here.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have used the Cider house a few times now because it is so dog friendly, and people friendly too. And it does not smell of wet dog! There is a dog friendly ground floor room which gives easy access with the mutts and a really comfy lounge where you can have a warming cuppa. For the paranoid in our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 13thEarl
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

The Quantocks are incredibly dog friendly and it is difficult to find a pub that does not allow dogs. The Rose and Crown is a fantastic pub - we drink there (having said that we also drink in the Ancient Mariner and George - which are also lovely).

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Myself and my wife took our Bullmastiff , Ruby, To have a weekend away, and spend time on the beech, We were made very welcome, and the dog was looked after VERY WELL, I have stayed at lots of B&Bs And Hotels with my work in the past, and the Old Cider House would Easily make it into the TOP...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david h
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you and Ruby enjoyed your stay. We try to make both humans and pets equally welcome. Not only do we welcome dogs but the Quantocks in general are a very dog friendly area or the country, with lots of great walks and cosy pubs. We look forward to seeing you and...

Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, 7th & 8th November. We do not have a dog but are dog friendly. Quantock room was well decorated, and everything worked fine. The bed was very comfortable. Ian and Lynne were helpful after settling us in. If you need something just ask. Lyn printed out a car tour for us as the weather was miserable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tibbsy4
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Our 'North Coast Car Tour' has been very popular and we are working on some more. In fact we've just spent the day in Cheddar (just down the road) and will write this up soon.

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were given a Smartbox voucher & decided on this B&B. It was lovely and Ian and Lynn (& Ozy the dog) were very welcoming. Our room (the Castle Room) was beautifully decorated. It was a lovely touch that the mugs were personalised with images of the room. However (and this is largely out of the owners' hands) because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJF68
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful comments. Our loos in the two front rooms do have macerators (due to the age of the house) and can be a tad noisy, especially as the Village is so quiet and peaceful at night (or, in fact, at any time of the day). We too love the Castle Room and stay in their over...

Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for three nights - arriving on a Thursday evening, and staying until the Sunday night. We did read many of the reviews before we arrived, and must say that we had a thoroughly pleasant stay. And yes, the bed was squeaky and the shower head did fall off a few times - but hey, if that bothers you,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy C
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review

Thanks for such a sensible review. Squeaks (hopefully) resolved and shower head has been warned!

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
2.0 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
3.3 km away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
105 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
62 reviews
4.0 km away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
600 reviews
4.7 km away
The Babbling Brook
The Babbling Brook
#12 of 31 in Bridgwater
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We run the sort of guesthouse that we would want to stay at. That's why we cook good simple food, buy locally and have our own microbrewery. We are relaxed, un-stuffy and welcome dogs. A great place for walking, mountain biking, sightseeing and, above all, relaxing. So, turn off the Blackberry and have a good time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Cider House

Address: 25 Castle Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Price Range: €73 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Cider House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Cider House Hotel Nether Stowey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Cider House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Really quiet”
 of 5 bubbles joannesX5715SQ, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room facing main road had an amazing Wisteria growing around the windows for a quintessential English feel!”
 of 5 bubbles jjules2015, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Poets room which is dog friendly!”
 of 5 bubbles 51ruthf, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Book early if you would like to stay here. Dog Friendly”
  • Mirror Mirror on the wall
 of 5 bubbles 121Scottwilson, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We love the Quantock Room”
 of 5 bubbles NSDTRontheroad, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5