We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cross Hands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cross Hands Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of The Cross Hands Hotel
 Click to rate
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's convenient for the M4 and towns around Tetbury, Bristol and BAth. Huge car park and pleasant grounds. The rooms seemed to be newly spruced up with great bathrooms and comfortable, vintage furniture. Tea, coffee and chocolate brownies were welcome and bottles of water were a quality feature. The service was erratic though and staff had to be asked every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judith h
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lunchtime, we opted for the soup and the pulled pork sandwich. Well we were so glad that we went for it, as it was outstanding. We would of paid our complements to the chef, but there was no one behind the bar at the time we left. Hopefully, they will read this review :) 10 out of 10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elainey39
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us and do hope you'll come back and sample some of our other dishes soon! George, Colette and the team.

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a three night stay in The Cross Hands Hotel, arrived to a very friendly receptionist who was more than happy to answer my questions. The room was very clean and warm (very comfy beds) and the bathroom was spotless. I chose the Wagyu Burger for my first night and it was so good i had it again on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charliedflores
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting. It's very nice to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. We shall pass your thanks on to the staff, especially Tommy! We do hope you'll come and stay again in the future! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful olde building with wooden sash windows, the staff are very polite and extremely helpful I stayed in a single room en suite was comfortable and contemporary. The sash windows didn't keep all the road noise out of the room but wasn't too much of a distraction during the night. Food was fabulous and served promptly/politely .. the bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark L
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and do hope that if you're ever on business in the area again you'll come and stay again! George, Colette and the team.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having experienced a couple of very disappointing evenings out recently, and with friends staying over, we were a little apprehensive about our choice of The Cross Hands Hotel as we hadn't been there for a number of years. What a wonderful surprise we had, starting from the moment we walked in, when we were warmly welcomed by staff, then able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marymO4978PQ
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We're very glad to hear of your pleasant experience, and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Chalford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were travelling back from Somerset, feeling hungry, and right on the side of the road was this old coaching pub. We had not booked but a table was found for us, food ordered at the bar and we did not have to wait to long for it to arrive. The quality was good and plenty of it. Would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We're very happy we were able to provide you with a hearty meal while you were on your travels. We hope you may travel back this way again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here a couple of time, doing the romantic evening thing, and was not disappointed. Lots of seating space, friendly staff, and a nice menu with plenty of choice. When it's busy then the volume is that of a more bustling place, but this does not detract from the feeling of the place, unless you want a pin-drop quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Out_Grow
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We're glad you enjoyed your most recent visit to us, and hope to see you again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a place on the crossroads of a main A road you'd think it would be the noise of the road that would be the problem, but that's not it. I stayed here for one night this week whilst in between work days. The staff are hit and miss, with most being lovely and helpful and some being a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maverick598
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting,, We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit to us. Please feel free to contact us directly and we can investigate further for you. George, Colette and the team.

N Wales
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Handy short drive from Bath and Bristol and close to Chipping Sodbury. Comfortable old coaching house. New en suite bathroom and fresh cooked breakfast. Well priced restaurant and bar food of an evening. Not outstanding but good all round. Large car park to rear with hand car wash.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ankhman
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you'll be back to visit again soon. George, Colette and the team.

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We love the Crosshands , its our local away from home. The food is excellent and staff very friendly. We go often and the fish and chips is a must for my daughter and husband I love their lasagne! The atmosphere is warm and friendly. My daughter often has auditions in London and it is a great stop off as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert J
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we've very pleased to hear you enjoyed your many visits to us, and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon! George, Colette and the team.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
13.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
10.1 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
2.6 km away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
192 reviews
4.3 km away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Price Range: €79 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cross Hands Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Richmond, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Cross Hands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 was above the bar.17 was where the Queen stayed I think!”
judithh977, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try the wagyu burger!”
charliedflores, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the bar area as possible.”
Maverick598, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not room 8 or 9.”
360nicholass, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“10 mins from J18 M4 not sure of room features- didn't stay there”
christineZ5398MN, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5