We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cross Hands Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Cross Hands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friends and I along with all of the children had a lovely sunny lunch sat out in the garden. This is a really great place to meet with really easy access off of the m4 junction 18 and also great access from Glos / Cheltenham/ Stroud with loads of free parking (huge car park and also has a hand... More 

Helpful?
Thank lexihavana1985
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped off for lunch on our way home North. Plenty of parking. Cozy homely feel inside. Small bar which also served the restaurant. Found a table quickly and given menu. Did have to wait quite a while even though it was not full, plenty of free tables. Only seemed like two people serving the whole restaurant. Unfortunately each time we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pez62
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped by for a light lunch after visiting Westonbirt Arboretum. Restaurant was very busy, so had to wait a short time for a table. Food was very good, but service a bit slow. Drinks service also slow.

Helpful?
Thank royaloak2015
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you'll come by and visit us again soon. George, Colette and the team. More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here to be close to Westonbirt Arboretum and somewhere that had a car park. We received a warm welcome. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. It was a standard room and was 'compact'! But there was enough space space to put your things and all the amenities you would expect. Our bathroom was in need of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie200
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bathroom renovations have begun; and are set to all be completed by January. We hope you'll come back and visit again soon! George, Colette and the team. More 

Europe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for Sunday lunch. When I enquired about whether we could bring the dog inside I found the bar man to be unwelcoming and frosty, he said we could but whatever table we could find free would be what we had to have. We found a small table and when we looked at the menu we realised you... More 

Helpful?
Thank r482ty
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. All of our Sunday roasts are served with seasonal vegetables, large Yorkshire puddings, crisp roast potatoes, mash and gravy. You may add extras on top of this for £1.00 each. We apologise for the mis-understanding of our menu. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this further. George, Colette and the team. More 

Travellers are raving about these Old Sodbury hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for supper received a cold frosty welcome from the bar staff - was told to find our own table - looked and could not find a table in bar area but saw some tables at the far end of the restaurant the only ones that looked clean enough to dine on - was told that we couldn't t... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. We're sorry to hear about your visit. If you would like to contact us directly; we can look into this further for you. George, Colette and the team. More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We arrived at apron 4pm on the off chance, following a lovely day at the nearby Arboretum. My father is disabled - however he he decided to come into the hotel restaurant before we checked if there was any room for us - we were told to find any available table and then order with our table number, Unfortunately there... More 

Helpful?
Thank John H
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. If you would like to contact us directly; then we can discuss your complaint further. George, Colette and the team. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016

The food took a long time to come, over an hour between starters and main course. In fact the waiter bought us the dessert menu thinking we had eaten our main course. When the fish and chips finally arrived the fish was very chewy and the batter over cooked. Despite being told the pudding portions were large the portions were... More 

Helpful?
Thank kayann17
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. We always endeavour to meet the expectations of our guests but we apologise that on this occasion, your expectations were not met. Please contact us if you would like us to discuss this further. George, Colette and the team. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Having dined here before and enjoyed it we thought it would be a good place to meet up. Liverpool, Cricklade and Lindfield were our original starting points. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very warm and welcoming. The staff very friendly and the food was very good. Lived up to expectations. The only negative point was having to wait for... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you had a great visit to us, and hope if you find us again on your travels, you'll come in! Gorge, Colette and the team. More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

this review would have been so different if my disappointment had not been seen by a member of staff. ordered 2 soup and sandwiches, a bit of a mix up at the ordering resulting i a wait fo the food. home made tomato and pepper soup hot and tasty would have that again. pulled pork sandwich again that was fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We're glad that your situation was rectified and resolved, and happy to hear that you'll be planning a return visit. George, Colette and the team. More 

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
15.7 km away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
358 reviews
10.4 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
14.5 km away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
333 reviews
2.6 km away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Price Range: €70 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cross Hands Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Richmond, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cross Hands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only ate in restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles royaloak2015, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Maggie200, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only ate here did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles johnjO341BC, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quietest rooms are at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles johnbP6244UG, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't use rm18”
 of 5 bubbles nickd400, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay