We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ascot Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ascot Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ascot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We chose this hotel because of it's location. It was surrounded by nice places to eat, but it was far from everything else. We had to cab to get anywhere. It was incredibly noisy at night as well. Also, we waited 40 minutes for a breakfast, one that should have been ready in 10.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Ascot Boutique Hotel is actually very well situated and close to major areas such as Rosebank, Sandton, Melrose and the like. Unfortunately one does need to "cab" to most places in Johannesburg - due to the distances between places, and Norwood, where our hotel is situated, offers...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The hotel is situated in the most disturbing location where my wife and I felt unsafe. Upon arriving at the Hotel and driving up next to it, we took one glimpse of the building and the surrounding areas and decided not to stay. I would strongly advise you not to visit this place as the safety levels are questionable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerome P
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Their is absolutely nothing disturbing at all about Norwood - nor the location of the hotel. It is an Urban hotel in a bustling restaurant area. We have been given 4 stars by the tourism grading council - I highly doubt that would have occurred should our building and surrounds been too disturbing. However each to their own...

Reviewed 23 December 2015

A very good hotel inside the city, at the middle of an area with a lot of shops and restaurants. The crew is very polite, kind and helpful. The hotel's restaurant is good and not expensive. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank עמי ש
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for a most wonderful review. It really is always so nice to read when our guests are so satisfied. We hope that on your next travels - you choose our hotel again. Have a fantastic 2016 The Ascot Team

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

A couple of friends looking to spend two days around Johannesburg. We booked at the Ascot to find the hotel very nice. The rooms were big and specious. The staff very friendly and helpful. Two small problems: 1. Parking at the basement is quite difficult with a big car 2. The serrounding at night a little doggy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victorhermelin
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your staff with us. Unfortunately our basement parking is very narrow and anyone with a rather large car will have a problem manoeuvring but the street parking outside the hotel is very safe as we have security and cameras on site. The area is actually not dodgy at all...

Paris, France
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Hotel is not only well situated but in an are full of good and diverse restaurants and cafes open late. Easy to obtain transport through efficient hotel staff. Grant Avenue also has an interesting second hand bookshop for those of an intellectual bent and a well appointed supermarket. Just around the corner some excellent handmade craft.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 573re
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hotel Guest Now what a relief to read a review where one enjoys and opens their mind to the Norwood experience. The location is filled with bustling restaurants, shops and food places - it is an urban location where you sit and have coffee on the street. And we are central - what more could one want! We are...

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 23 November 2015

This hotel is situated in Norwood area. We booked the cheapest room and when we checked in we were very unsatified with the cleanliness of this room. So the manager upgraded us to the better room at no cost. This room was quite comfortable and spacious. The streets are noisy until about 9 p.m. Its a very safe area according...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjibbolet v
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can only apologise that on arrival you were dissatisfied with your room and we have looked into the matter as soon as we moved you into a room more to your liking. Yes, you are correct we do not serve pork on our property and offer an a'la carte breakfast with breakfast specials weekly...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Everything was almost perfect except one little thing I would suggest to ameliorate on the third floor; this is about the noise that I was hearing at night, there was a frequent sound (as that of a machine) that was a little bit noisy at night. Otherwise I really enjoyed my stay in that hotel, which is very well located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 430lioneln
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We can only try and understand that perhaps the noise was coming from a motor at a surrounding business. Being an urban area, means that often you will hear street noises or restaurants etc. It's urban chic - no excuses there. None-the-less we are so happy that you enjoyed your...

Luanda
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Very good service more specially with kitchen staff the reception very helpful at all times we had problems with the parking at first but it looked the area to be safe to park outside was not the recommended practice but it's what the hotel could offer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 919simao
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Parking right outside the hotel on the street is perfectly safe - we have guards and doormen so your car is safe. We also offer parking in a downstairs bay that is part of our building. As it is an old building...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable and very neat. One of the downsides to it is that the window in the room I stayed in couldn't close properly and I happened to have a room facing the main road so I was woken up by blaring sounds of music from a Bistro adjacent to the hotel- if you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the rooms spacious and apologise for any noise that you were disturbed by from the streets. It is an urban hotel, so a little bit like Paris or New York only in Norwood - so there is a bit of noise but nothing too hectic. As for...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Stayed at the Ascot Hotel on several occasions for business and have always been very happy. The service is always excellent, especially in the restaurant and bar, rooms are large, spacious and very well appointed. Food is excellent if you don't want to venture out for dinner. Some of the showers could do with more pressure but it is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QuintonHaddon
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Haddon Thank you for your wonderful review. And for always choosing us as your preferred place to stay. The windows that you talk of, are currently being sorted out by our maintenance department. We hope to welcome you again soon ... The Ascot Team

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greater Johannesburg
3.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
3.8 km away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 70 in Johannesburg
37 reviews
2.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#30 of 70 in Johannesburg
49 reviews
6.8 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.6 km away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#29 of 70 in Johannesburg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 59 Grant Avenue, 2192, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Price Range: €59 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Greater Johannesburg
#34 Spa Hotel in Greater Johannesburg
#84 Luxury Hotel in Greater Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ascot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the room was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles njabulog17, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“as far from the bar as possible”
 of 5 bubbles E5092VRmarieb, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Keep your curtain closed at the window, sunrise was very early in Johannesburg in November, at around 5:30am”
 of 5 bubbles 430lioneln, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Try get the rooms at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise from the various restaurants loud noise on weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles sandys350, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Some thumping from the nearby tire repair centre in the morning. The side closer to the hotel entrance may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles WP664, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay