We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawklee Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hawklee Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Hawklee Country House
 Click to rate
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic place to stay. Lovely hosts. We went to a wedding nearby and stayed here for the weekend. Beautiful views out the bedroom window of the relaxing rushing river which you can hear when you step outside. Environment conscious. Wish we could have stayed longer! (Be careful of the spa bath if you go off peak season. The spray nozzles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CountryLoverZA
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying your stay at Hawklee country house and appreciating the beauty of the surroundings. Hopefully next time you can spend longer here and go for the lovely walks. Till we see you again in the not too distant future we hope Regards Dean and Belinda

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Hawklee for our anniversary weekend and WOW, from the moment we stepped onto the property, we were welcomed by the owners (Dean and Belinda) and made to feel like family and completely at home. The food was fantastic, well presented, tasty and a very nice balanced selection of choices. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Hi Mike F Dean and I thank you for enjoying your anniversary weekend and sharing it with us at Hawklee. You were delightful guests and we had a really lovely weekend with you. Thank you for enjoying the food and my cooking. You became like family to us as you are such gracious guests, thank you for making it so...

Durban
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best Midlands trip thus far, excellent welcome by the Hosts, made us feel at home from the very first minute. The very best in Midlands. The meals were superb and the sound of the river is the most calming ever.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D7752DCjasong
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Jason Thank you for the kind reviews. We do always try and give our guests a unique experience and thank you for enjoying the food and Hawklee so much. Dean and I hope to see you return soon Regards Belinda

Durban, SA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed a weekend at Hawklee. The place is definitely in need of some TLC. Chairs in the room felt like the springs were going to come thru and do some rear end damage, plastic basin with loose taps, basically very ordinary. We didnt eat, there was some kid running loose in the dining room so decided to breakfast elsewhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sacit
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Sacit Thank you for sharing your input with us. I see from all your previous comments of places you have frequented that you demand a very high standard. We apologies if you had some discomfort while sitting and encourage all guests to share immediately with us so we can change chairs for you. You came in on a...

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We very much enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of the Guest House, with the stream running by and an agreeable garden through which to walk. The room was fine, the food good and Dean and Belinda were especially helpful when assisting us try and resolve a problem on our forward journey which cropped up unexpectedly. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Hi Peter You were such a delightful couple and we loved hosting you. We are very happy your your plans worked out and it was our pleasure to help you. Till next time Regards Belinda and Dean

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The country house is beautifully positioned on the Lions River and you go to sleep to the fabulous sound of the river. We stayed in a lovely room with a deck and spa bath. The breakfast was great and the hosts lovely. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickrA4854WN
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Patrick Thank you for spending your breakaway at Hawklee country House. The river is really pumping now after the rain so the sound is like a roar and just lulls one into a peaceful atmosphere. Dean and I hope we will see you at Hawklee in the future Regards Deana and Belinda

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Somewhat disappointing as fishing advertised on website. However no fly fishing at facility. Accommodation comfortable. Meals, dinner somewhat pricey. A entities outstanding. Lovely quiet accommodation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Jenny Thank you for your valued contribution on your stay at Hawklee. Yes we do offer fishing and do not charge for the use of the river. We do advertise to bring your own rods ect as we do not keep a supply and are sorry if you were disappointed. We apololgies if you felt a 3 course...

Darling, South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Hawklee. Stayed in a lovely room with a beautiful view. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Explored the Midlands and was given some great tips by Dean and Belinda. The stay was just too short.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ulandi2017
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Unlandi It was our pleasure to help you navigate your way around the Midlands and when you have such lovely guests it makes it so easy and we love it. Dean and I are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you soon back in the Midlands at Hawklee country House Regards Dean and Belinda

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Hawklee Country House is situated along the beautiful Lions River. The views are breathtaking, the hosts were super friendly and helpful. The setting was one of tranquility, harmonious and super peaceful. The birdlife was out of this world, with lush green surroundings that was home to beautiful old trees. The cascades were stunning. Lots to love here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delaine c
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Delaine Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Hawklee. It takes a very special person to sense the love and care of a place and you were that couple. You are so right with the Birdlife we are a birders paradise with a huge variety of birds. Dean and I loved hosting you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Hawklee Country House sits on the banks of the Lions River in the Midlands of Kwazulunatal.Our chalet was overlooking the river and the view was soothing to the soul.An excellent stress free getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the city.The hosts are friendly and welcoming.Rooms very clean and tidy.Tea, coffee and milk at your disposal. You can take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doraty
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review

Good day Doraty Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with your time spent at Hawklee Country House. It is definitely the best place to be to get rid of the stress of life. We felt it when we walked through the doors onto the deck and saw the river. The peace enters your soul and uplifts...

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (131)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham Road hotels
17.5 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
66 reviews
15.1 km away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
191 reviews
16.7 km away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
St Ives Lodge & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Nottingham Road
100 reviews
10.6 km away
Kwa Jabu Accommodation
Kwa Jabu Accommodation
#2 of 13 in Nottingham Road
128 reviews
10.8 km away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Price Range: €67 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawklee Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont procrastinate - Choose Hawklee, You will not be dissappointed”
  • Otter Suite
  • Awesome bar to watch the game on TV
 of 5 bubbles mikeN9330XW, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms seem to share the amazing views. Ive been told that the Rose Cottage is something else.”
 of 5 bubbles delainec, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enchanting views”
 of 5 bubbles Doraty, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Discuss with host”
 of 5 bubbles ukangel2016, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Guinea fowl room”
 of 5 bubbles JillF312, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5