Guinevere Guest Farm
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Guinevere Guest Farm

Main Road Portion 1 of Farm 402, Witzenberg Municipality 6820 South Africa
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining Room
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 4 hostels in Witzenberg Municipality
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Guinevere Guest Farm luxury self-catering farm house in Tulbagh, is located in the historic Land van Waveren Valley and is the ideal self-catering accommodation for a private group seeking luxury and comfort all under one roof. The farm house boasts spectacular 360-degree views of the surrounding Tulbagh Valley and mountains. Hidden away amongst the Renosterveld and Fynbos the farm house is exceptionally safe, secluded and private. This combination of natural splendour and exclusivity inevitably lends itself to create the perfect environment in which to relax and unwind with a large group of family or friends. The Guinevere Guest Farm luxury self-catering farm house in Tulbagh is only a 1.5 Hours' drive from Cape Town and is the ultimate self-catering farm accommodation and venue for a large private group in the charming Cape Winelands region!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Self-serve laundry
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
60Reviews0Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 12
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rene Brown wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the photos on the internet cannot describe this place. Neither can words. You have to go there to experience it. We were 10 people, easily accommodated. Huge kitchen, loads of space in the lounge and dining room as well as outside. Being summer we congregated around the swimming pool and entertainment area. The views are incredible from all corners of the house. Carly was amazing when it came to making the booking and Marko the housekeeping manager floated in and out quietly tidying up the kitchen when we weren't around. Very well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. If you have a family event to celebrate this is the place to do it. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Upstairs where the entertainment area and pool is
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brondwyn wrote a review Oct 2023
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Guinevere Guest Farm to get together as a team and to develop our new business strategy. The facilities were excellent and afforded the space we needed to work. The staff were always on hand to assist us when needed and they kept the rooms and communal areas spotless. the fire place in the kitchen area was a great feature and we sat up late feeding the flames and sharing our stories. The only aspect that would improve the overall experience is an information file of the farm (how to get to the dam and trail) and the surrounding area.
I highly recommend this venue for work sessions and it would be the most fantastic venue for a party with friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
uDanie E wrote a review Jul 2016
Cape Town, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The majestic Guinevere guesthouse with its 10 foot high doors and massive picture windows is set in the idyllic Tulbagh valley. During my recent stayover, as the early sun rose over the Witzenberg mountains on a crisp winter morning, I couldn't help thinking that there is no better place in the world to retreat to, and to rejuvenate a jaded body and soul. Tranquil dams with twittering birds, cows grazing in green and succulent pastures and the most beautiful flowers springing from hidden bulbs, all set in a canvas of mountains that could have inspired a Pierneef masterpiece. Highly recommended for comfort and peace.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: All the rooms have their own unique quirks and views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leon L wrote a review Jul 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently ran a Yoga and Healthy Eating Retreat at this venue. My event organiser had previously been to the venue on another retreat more than a year ago and also during the winter months. Unfortunately nothing had changed in terms of how freezing cold the rooms are and yet little has been done to make the guests stay pleasant in terms of heating. There are small panel heaters in the room but we advised all our guests to bring their own heaters which they did. Unfortunately we then had major electricity issues with the plugs short circuiting regularly and this happened with only two plugs being used so the heaters were also pointless. Our national electricity provider (as bad as they are) were blamed by the Managing Director (MD) in her response to us when it was only the plugs not the entire electrical board that wasn't working. In fact the first night we had no hot water and the MD once again blamed the guests ("of your own doing. Someone in your party had left the hot water running in the sink at the upstairs bar for most of the night, which drained the one hot water geyser."). Our guests hadn't even used this room as we had only just arrived so we weren't talking about the next day, we were talking about the night we arrived. This is indeed a lie as one of the staff that work there told us there was an issue with one of the two geysers. Apart from the cold water, no electricity and general bad maintenance at the venue we had a more disturbing experience which was so badly managed that I feel it necessary to advise the public at large.

During our last evening there was a break-in and someone had come through the one back door that had unfortunately had been left open by a staff member who openly admitted it and possibly an innocent mistake. We were grateful that we had a little Yorkie dog with us and if it wasn’t for her waking us up by barking and me having to shout out "who is there" and possibly scare them, as this intruder/s passed by our door, things could really have turned out badly. It was only when the intruder(s) opened the glass door that leads to the our bedroom suite and yoga studio that we woke up, thank goodness they hadn't gone upstairs first where all the guests were. This was indeed a rather frightening experience as we were the only two sleeping downstairs and these could have been armed intruders and now after shouting out we were concerned about our guests upstairs (one whose door didn't lock anyway as we found out afterwards).

We called the staff member who stays on the premises to see if it was him walking around at 1am in the morning only to be told no it wasn't and he immediately came through with his colleague and found that someone had indeed entered the premises through the back door. This venue is in a very remote area of South Africa and with a very high crime rate griping South Africa currently and specifically on remote farms one would think that security would be a major concern. Obviously one cannot take every possible precaution especially if you haven't had any problems before however once something like this happens and you are informed you would expect the manager to be a little more empathetic to the guests ordeal and open to suggestions however it was once again blamed on us ("there is a certain responsibility that lies with the groups that enjoy the freedom that comes with Guinevere. We live in South Africa - and it is mind boggling that any responsible event manager would retire for the night without locking all the outside doors."). Even though the staff member told us he forgot to lock the door which we accepted we get told by the MD that it is our responsibility to lock the outside doors. There are lots of very old doors and so easy to break in whether locked or not but to blame the guests is another cop out.

The police arrived about 15 minutes later and with guns out we searched the premises and thank goodness found nobody in the house. They then left and the staff member slept in the kitchen/lounge area where the open door was and I checked on him regularly as I felt for him. This all happened around 1am and as a result we had a very sleepless night jumping up with every noise and arming ourselves with a kitchen knife. All the guests were also woken by the police presence so it truly was a terrible evening on our last night of a what was supposed to be a relaxing Yoga Retreat.

Obviously no-one was expecting this however one would expect a professional emphatic response from management however all we were told was that it was the guests fault and ours and we were responsible for the cold water, the electricity cutting out and what is 'mind blowing' is that we were responsible for someone breaking into the premises too, obviously we were shocked enough by the experience and then to be told that it was our responsibility was unbelievable. Then to top it all, we informed other parties that also hold retreats there of our experience and that they must get the venue to increase their security and that they are aware of this, only to be told "You have caused us further damage by not addressing your issues with us first, and admitting your own shortcomings, before contacting our loyal clients." We are not quiet sure of our 'shortcomings' and also not sure why the MD wouldn't want us to tell others clearly trying to hide things.

If this was handled professionally the whole experience would have been different and this would never have transpired, however the response from management has been shocking and has left a very bad taste in our mouths and those of our guests so I will leave it up to you to make up your own mind but please do check with the venue as to what NEW security measures they now have in place for their guests before you visit this venue. Travel safe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris F wrote a review Dec 2016
Batheaston, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a huge house with lots of bedrooms, a great entertainment room with pool table and a small swimming pool. Just down the hill is a superb dam which the kids lived in! There is a local dog who is very friendly but will try to save you in you splash around.
The rooms are huge and have all you need ( beds are kings size in most) and they seem to be able to convert rooms into more dormitory like arrangements. We did our own cooking and there was plenty of cooking area and a brai(wood was provided). Fridge and freezer provided.

It is in the middle of nowhere but only a 20 min drive to Tulbagh which has has some nice cafes and restaurants. The valley seemed to have plenty to do. We went horse riding which was good fun.

Only slight warning is that the kids found the house eerie on the first night. Lots of pictures of people.... but by the second night all was well

Internet worked well
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
653gordonm wrote a review Jul 2016
Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had 19 people for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. We were all blown away with the quality of the bedrooms and the location of the estate. Sprawling views of the Tulbagh area, we were surrounded by snow capped mountains while the Winter sun illuminated clear blue skies. We prepped and dined in both nights, our chefs were in heaven with the size and range of utensils. Special mention to Marco the care-taker and cleaner, he was very helpful and always friendly, we woke up each morning to a spotless kitchen. Amazing!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alistair wrote a review May 2016
Flic En Flac
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a sensational 3 night stay at the Guinevere Guest Farm. Its not that easy to get to with a 10min drive on a gravel road to the lodge. The amenities were superb and all rooms are beyond spacious with spectacular views of the surrounding farmland and valley.

The suite on the bottom floor is fantastic. It has 2 single beds and a double bed along with its own lounge, huge fireplace and Victorian bath tub. Very comfy although not much sun.

The rooms on the top floor are AMAZING! Every suite has a large bedroom with views and/or a balcony. The games area was used as a meeting area for our executive team and the winter sun kept us cozy but productive.

There aren't many activities to do on the farm itself but we took walks into the bush and tried to get ourselves as lost as possible. The pool is cold but thats what you need if it was the height of summer in Tulbagh.

The stars come out at night in a way you will never see them in the city. The staff provide more than enough firewood - cut down from the alien and invasive black wattle species.

The free internet is the best we have ever experienced. Fast and reliable. One logon sets you up to access the free wifi throughout the town and close to farm houses.

For an intimate stay, Guinevere is the place! Take 10 of your best friends and go have a weekend to remember.

Don't forget to peek upstairs on the 2nd floor for the bedroom with a difference...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Best views on the 1st floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
justindp wrote a review Sept 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went here for a bachelors, what a place. Everything is massive. It reminds me of some drug lords Spanish villa its so big (courtyard included).

Highlights were the upstairs lounge, a mini bar, pool table and dstv - with a pool on the deck - just awesome. Then the rooms and bathroom are modern and massive.
We had about 20 people over and it catered perfectly for it.
Service initially was good but no-one really stays there so you have the place to yourself.

Only thing is you need to do a bit of a dirt road before it - so don't take a rubbish car. Best spot for a big group... don't go without a few people else it might be a bit spooky.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All are great
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Howard S wrote a review Oct 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
At the outset let me say that we drew the short straw, the worst room in the place which maybe clouded my judgement. The other rooms we looked at were spectacular compared to ours, which was aptly named "The Dormitory" A double bed in 1 corner with three single bunk beds in a row down one wall. No cupboards but a door leading on to a glass fronted enclosed balcony with a comfortable couch. It was wonderful to sit and contemplate the view. The high ceilings would most probably be a godsend on a stifling hot summers day but all looked rather spartan and bare when we were there in spring.
The bathroom whilst adequate did not compare to the marble luxury finish of the other rooms and it was obvious that this room was designed for kids rather than us as grandparents.It is difficult to assess the place when you first walk in...... is it an old stately country home that has fallen on hard times or a new building which ran out of cash? The finishes are poor generally although there are some lovely pieces which look quite valuable. It seems that the owners have seen the light in more than one respect and in the new year will only be taking block bookings for the entire place at one time. This is sensible as when we were there with our children, grandchildren and friends there were another party of 8 adults who I'm sure did not appreciate screaming kids, the same as we didn't like it when they commandeered the braai area for supper. The host William was a delightful person and gave a most informative wine making and tasting talk which together with the meat-free breakfasts by Carly was a saving grace.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't take a dormitory
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antony H wrote a review Jul 2014
Fish Hoek, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes it is secluded and we missed the turn off but it was worth it. This place is why you hide jewels. Built with simplicity and bag of style. Comfortable and clean. The home cooked food was top class. The hospitality of the hosts is second to none.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Rene Brown wrote a tip Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs where the entertainment area and pool is"
Read full review
Clare Jacobs wrote a tip May 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"check how many beds in the room, plenty available for couples and kids sharing"
Read full review
uDanie E wrote a tip Jul 2016
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms have their own unique quirks and views"
Read full review
Alistair wrote a tip May 2016
Flic En Flac122 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best views on the 1st floor"
Read full review
justindp wrote a tip Sept 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa48 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All are great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Witzenberg Municipality area.
PRICE RANGE
€488 - €655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWitzenberg Municipality
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GUINEVERE GUEST FARM - UPDATED 2023 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Witzenberg Municipality, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Guinevere Guest Farm
Which popular attractions are close to Guinevere Guest Farm?
Nearby attractions include Horse About Trails (3.5 km), Old Town Tulbagh (7.3 km), and De Oude Kerk (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Guinevere Guest Farm?
Conveniently located restaurants include Readers Restaurant, The Olive Terrace, and Daphne's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Guinevere Guest Farm?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Witzenberg Municipality HotelsWitzenberg Municipality Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Witzenberg MunicipalityHotels near Guinevere Guest Farm
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire