We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boar's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boar\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 699: English reviews
Start your review of The Boar's Head
 Click to rate
Cardiff, Wales.
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel excellent in all respects. Rooms, attitude of all staff, cuisine, and "nearness" to Harrogate -Number 36 bus stops outside the Boar's Head in both directions.Generous car parking, and wonderful views of the surrounding countryside if you decide to explore. Village has a Post office, shop selling - we were told - wonderful icecream, and a beautiful country church, where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Motorvanman
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Boar's Head and the Castle and lovely village.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were delighted today when we discovered the charming village of Ripley and decided to stop for a spot of lunch before we headed to the castle. Initially we were really taken with The Boar's Head, the staff were friendly and helpful...mum is in a wheelchair. However, when the food arrived half of our order was cold. We sent the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenB18
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and not what we expect from our usual standard of service from both our Front of House Team and the Kitchen brigade. I have passed this review onto our General Manager who will investigate the matter in more detail. We can't apologise enough and trust you enjoyed the rest of your day and visit to...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited here for my grandpas birthday meal with the family and some of my grandpas friends and the food was lovely, I had the shallot tart to start which was pleasant, after I had the pork with apple mash and kale and it was good and for dessert I had the chocolate delice and that was lovely the crunchy base...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum M
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

We are pleased you all enjoyed your time with us and very many happy returns to your Grandfather. We hope you do return and look forward to looking after you again sometime soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights recently to attend a wedding at Ripley Castle. The location was perfect with the castle being right next door. We stayed in the accommodation across from the main building and the room was perfect for our needs and what we expected from a country B&B, with a cot and blankets provided for our 13...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your post and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and also your time at the Castle.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived just before two with my husband. Greeted by a very pleasant lady who booked us in and showed us to our room ( Coachman 2). Room nice size, very clean, tea, coffee making facilites as well as toiletries. The setting of the hotel was very nice and quiet. Little post office facing, selling pies and cakes. Also a small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angela m
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Boar's Head very soon.

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went out for a bottle of wine thought I would have a bottle of house White wine. The wine we were presented with was not on the wine list and was like cooking wine. Charged £18. The cheapest wine on the list was same price. In my opinion the wine was own labeled no more than £3 was very disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank antony9090
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All our wines are carefully selected to appeal to a wide range of tastes and pockets. Our House wine is very popular and I am sorry on this occasion it was not to your taste.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a night with a voucher we recieved for christmas and wasnt disappointed. Nice easy check in, got free room upgrade and room was clean and spacious. Booked a table in restaurant and thats where the magic happened. Food and service was brilliant...cannot fault anything. Went into the bar after the meal for a couple of drinks before bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisjabba13
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and meal. I will pass on your comments to Chef. We look forward to looking after you again.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked last minute on a Friday lunch for overnight B&B. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room which overlooked the rear courtyard. The room was comfortably furnished with a bed big enough to get lost in! Crisp white sheets and soft squiggly pillows (thought I was in heaven) The en-suite was a good size with shower over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mumsy67
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are honored to be in your top 2 places you have visited this year. We hope you are able to return again to enjoy the rest of the castle grounds and a Castle Tour is highly recommended if you have time.

Durham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. Stayed for one night but will definitely visit again. The staff where brilliant, food excellent, great parking, room was clean and spacious, plenty of hot water etc etc. Bed uncomfortable but hey ho. If you have dogs then this is the place to be. They definitely accommodate for both people and their four legged friends. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue63D
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic breakfast Friendly courteous staff Evening meal very reasonable and in tasteful dining room Great value for money Excellent for walking Close to but around 3 miles to Harrogate ; great shopping . For us we loved it ; relaxed, exceptionally reasonable price; we struck very lucky end of March deal on Booking.com. We'd just come from the Cotswolds so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blomk
Ripley_Castle_Estate, Front Office Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Boar's Head. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
8.8 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,447 reviews
11.1 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
443 reviews
5.4 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
5.3 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
6.0 km away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Price Range: €64 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boar's Head staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
3 months ago
La Romieu, France
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Boar's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were well satisfied with our room, (Named "Busby") Do NOT ask why the name -do not know!”
Motorvanman, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My parents stayed in a room which had recently been renovated, so it may be a bonus to try and ask for one of these rooms.”
TomR548, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Court yard rooms have their own entrance and set in the courtyard.”
625angelam, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check if the room as been refurbished & preferably not in the annex”
paulac448, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you need a quiet room make sure you are not over the Bar especially if there is a function. WiFi ok in Annex but O2 reception is patchy”
ruthh257, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5